Book Notification

Alice in Deadland Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alice in Deadland Books

Alice in Deadland (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Through the Killing Glass (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Off with Their Heads (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hunting the Snark (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deadland (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantoms of the North (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crocodile's Jaws (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
I, Neil (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alice in Deadland series by Mainak Dhar

Author Mainak Dhar pens the “Alice in Deadland” series of horror novels. The series began publication in the year 2011, when “Alice in Deadland” was released.

Many years ago, civilization the humans know it ended. The barren wastelands, which are called the Deadland, and many undead Biters are the legacy of this event.

The first book in the series hit number one in science fiction and horror on Amazon. In less than three months it sold fifty thousand copies.

“Alice in Deadland” is the first novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2011. Alice, fifteen years old, has spent her entire life in the Deadland. Her education has been only made up of how she is best able to use guns and knives during the ongoing battle to survive against the Biters. A biter goes down a hole in the ground and she goes down the hole after it, hoping that she will be able to find the Biters’ fabled underground bases.

Alice finds something down there that throws her into an action packed adventure that is sure to change her entire life, along with the other humans living in Deadland forever. It is sure to teach her about the horrible conspiracy behind the ruin of humanity. The actual truth behind the origins of the Biters, and the prophecy this mysterious Biter Queen is convinced that Alice is destined to fulfill.

This prophecy is based off “Alice in Wonderland”, which is the final book that can be found in the Deadland.

Dhar does a superb job of weaving a story together and he uses imagery well. The action packed prose in this takes the reader right from focusing on all of the Biters to the actual evil: the guys in power. The trouble Alice finds herself in keeps you right on the edge of your seat, and the suspense is rather intense.

“Through the Killing Glass” is the second novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2012. Two years have passed since Alice followed the bunny-eared Biter down the hole. That set off events that forever changed her life and the rest of the people living in the Deadland. The Red Guards have been fought to a standstill. Alice has restored some kind of peace between the humans and the Biters. Under Alice’s leadership, humans have laid foundations for the first large, organized community since The Rising. It is called Wonderland.

The peace was wrecked during a series of brutal Biter attacks and Alice discovers she is shunned by the same people she helped liberate.

Dhar does an excellent job of describing the fight scenes, and they are all fantastic. The entire time, it is easy to understand just what the characters were doing. Alice is a likable character that readers hope to continue reading about for many books to come.

“Off With Their Heads” is the third novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2012. The Rising occurred just months before Alice was born and fifteen full years before the events depicted in “Alice in Deadland”.

The novel brings to life the final days of The Rising through four different shorts. All of them are shown through the perspectives of an important character from the “Alice in Deadland” books.

These stories display just how Dr. Protima wound up becoming Queen of the Biters. There is also Chen’s rise from being a conflicted young Chinese Army officer to being a General in the Red Guards. Feel a young guy’s pain through the major sacrifice he makes as he becomes the bunny-eared Biter that Alice later follows down the hole. Finally share the dramatic escape of Alice’s parents from a city that has become overrun with Biters.

Bunny Ears’ story is a touching one that makes this one worth the price of admission alone. For some, this part makes them hope he becomes a bigger player in the future books. The saddest part of his story is knowing that eventually he is going to become a Biter, just not knowing how it will happen or even when.

“Hunting the Shark” is the fourth novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2013. The Central Committee was overthrown in Shanghai, with the people of the Mainland being freed from its tyranny. Red Guards are no longer threatening Alice and the people that live in Wonderland. Biters and humans are starting to learn to live with one another.

The adventure takes her deep into a place called Homeland, a desolate land where her parents came from once upon a time. It is a land that is torn apart by Zeus mercenaries, wild biters, and bandits. It used to be a prosperous and mighty nation called the United States of America.

This is another fine tale following Alice around while she has adventures. It is a nice mix of humanity versus inhumanity, politics, and action. As always, it gets readers interested in reading the next book in the series and seeing what happens next.

“Deadland” is the fifth novel in the “Alice in Deadland” series, which was released in the year 2013. This is an untold story in the world of “Alice in Deadland”.

What is life like for Alice while she grows up in the Deadland? How did she ever first face off against the Biters? How did she become such a skilled fighter? In this world filled with death and violence, did she ever once know friendship? Or even love? This story collection answers each of these questions and reveals the untold story of Alice in Deadland.

Through these books, it becomes clear that Dhar is a fantastic author that is able to blend contemporary politics with science into an engaging series of stories. These books show Alice’s spunk and spirit off very nicely. Fans enjoy this book as it helps make the world more complete than before. All of the characters here are excellent, as is this overall set of stories, and it is nice to read about Alice growing up.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alice in Deadland

Leave a Reply