Book Notification

Alicia Friend Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alicia Friend Investigation Books

His First His Second (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Black in White (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
With Courage with Fear (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Friend In Spirit (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Hide To Seek (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Flood of Bones (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Begin the End (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author A. D. Davies writes the “Alicia Friend” series of thriller novels. The series began publication in the year 2014, when “His First His Second” was released.

Alicia Friend is nice, much too nice to be a police officer, if she is honest. Some find her to be annoyingly perky, but if given a chance, her colleagues all end up loving her. This is not something that she is at all able to explain. She is a cop, and an analyst. She has a relationship in the first book and it leads to her becoming pregnant. Alicia is partnered with a Detective Constable Inspector named Donald Murphy.

“His First His Second” is the first novel in the “Alicia Friend” series, which was released in the year 2014. Currently, Alicia finds that she is in the clutches of a northern British winter, and investigating two young women’s kidnap-murders.

A third female is taken, and Alicia has just under a week to uncover the secrets of a high-society family, and reveal the killer’s objective.

The father of the latest victim, named Richard, thinks the police are not working fast enough and launches a parallel investigation. He utilizes skills he honed in a dark past that is close to catching up with him.

Richard’s secret actions are hindering the cops, and the clock is ticking until one more innocent person dies. It will force Alicia to make some choices that are going to impact the rest of her life.

This book will keep you on edge and continue to leave you guessing. It is filled with turns and twists, and well written. The more you read, the closer to the edge of your seat you will be and the faster you will turn the pages. For some, this was their introduction to A. D. Davies, and they will gladly look for more of his books after finishing it.

“In Black In White” is the second novel in the “Alicia Friend” series, which was released in the year 2015. A British diplomat is killed on US soil, and the UK Ambassador gives her orders to observe the FBI’s investigation.

Quickly, the killings start to expand to encompass a wider profile of the victim, as each confess their politically-motivated lies on camera. Alicia shows exactly why her superiors overlook each of her quirks, and think of her as one of the best minds in her field.

Pulling in her former partner, Alicia puts her personality into the investigation, and moves the focus to the madness of a psycho that is unable to stop what he is doing.

This is a thought provoking and fun read about British cops in America. A. D. Davies wrote a nice little crime thriller here. It is made complete with some highly believable characters. Davies wrote a complicated story that makes some eager to return to the world he has created here.

“With Courage With Fear” is the third novel in the “Alicia Friend” series, which was released in the year 2016. Since coming back from an assignment in America, DS Alicia Friend has been riding a desk, and her new boss is not willing to risk her out in the field. The SCA is unable to refuse when Alicia’s old partner wants her input. All it involves is interviewing a young terror suspect. What could possibly go wrong?

Alicia backs the suspicions her partner has and links the crimes to an apparently unrelated incident. A third attack happens, and there is really no denying it: somebody is coordinating this series of vicious incidents, and the endgame has already begun building.

Back at, the detective uses all of her brain’s power to push the investigation to an apparently harmless cult. She is hindered at every step by the detective that wants to replace her, the cult’s lawyer, and a hierarchy that is as interested in politics as catching the murderer.

Alicia Friend is an interesting character, as she is a different type of detective. For some readers, she is an entirely original character, that no one else could ever come close to duplicate. A. D. Davies has a great writing style that readers cannot get enough of, and he has penned yet another great addition to an already fantastic series.

“A Friend in Spirit” is the fourth novel in the “Alicia Friend” series, which was released in the year 2016. In a northern British city, on a wet evening in winter, Karen and Jerzy Krasowski go to a psychic reading held in a pub. Just for fun. The psychic tells Karen about something awful that has happened, and the couple go back to their home and make a grisly discovery. They find that Karen’s dad has been brutally killed.

Detective Sergeant Alicia Friend goes back to work, her interest piqued by the idea of a psychic witness. Which would be impossible, right? The psychic goes missing, and Alicia works to get into the network of lies that has been buried under the surface of a successful middle class family.

DS Friend and DCI Murphy work to solve a murder, while an MP (who is caught up in a scandal of her own) keeps a very close eye on the case. What is she hiding? There was no connection between the victim and her. Could she possibly derail the case?

In the first case that Alicia has worked in quite awhile, she is initially relieved to get what seems to be a simple murder case. Quickly, however, she is caught up in a political cover up, an increasing body count, and a tangled web of secrets that could tear an innocent family to shreds.

What an excellent book A. D. Davies has written here. Alicia is interesting due to the fact that she is a free thinker and is able to see things a lot differently than the rest of the police. She also gets away with certain actions that probably are not appropriate for a detective. Some cannot wait to simply get their hands on more to see what Alicia is going to get up to next in this fantastic series of books.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alicia Friend

Leave a Reply