Book Notification

Alissa Johnson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Providence Books

As Luck Would Have It (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tempting Fate (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
McAlistair's Fortune (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Destined to Last (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Haverston Family Books

Nearly a Lady (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Unexpected Gentleman (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Practically Wicked (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Thief-Takers Books

A Talent for Trickery (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Gift for Guile (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dangerous Deceit (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories Books

A Christmas Dance (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

A Christmas Ball (With: Jennifer Ashley) (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alissa Johnson is one of the most popular authors in world. Living in the rolling hills of Ozarks, Alissa has written a number of books including “A talent of trickery”, “practically wicked”, “Nearly a lady, “Destined to last”, and “A Christmas Ball” among others. According to Alissa, most of her romantic novels talk about her real life experiences. Alissa is a creative writer who comes up with characters that will amaze you once you get an opportunity of reading any of her books. The plot and setting of her novels makes her to join the list of greatest authors in the history of literature. She uses simple words to express her thoughts in such a way that it does not require one to be clever to understand her stories. Because of her talent in writing as well as her commitment, Alissa Johnson has won several awards beating thousands of authors. In the discussion, we have looked at her first two books.

As luck would have it

“As luck would have it”, is the first book written by Alissa Johnson. The book shows the author’s effortless way to make readers smile and even laugh after every chapter because of the things foolish people do in the name of love. At the age of 24, Sophie Everton decides to take a trip to England to reconnect with her cousin Lord Loudor, who manages her father’s multimillion estates as well as to have fun. On her way back from London, a mysterious man tells her that Loudor had mismanaged her father’s property. Sophie and her dad are on the verge of losing Whitefield, one of their homes, in less than six months. However, the man promises that she can help her secure their property only if Sophie was ready to help him in return. Loudor seems to lose the battle because of his unwise decision to relate with friends who end up spying on him. Sophie was to benefit from her father’s resources only if she chose to hang around Loudor and break into one or more rooms during parties organized by him. Sophie decides to agree to this option because she does want to end up in poverty together with her dad.

Meanwhile, the war office asks Alexander Durmant, a Duke of Rockeforte to spy on Sophie’s cousin because of the same reason. As suggested by the superior, Alex has to show his interest in Loudor’s cousin so that he can get closer to him. However, Alex is not sure of what to expect from an unmarried woman educated in some of the unorthodox things in life but it only takes one look for him to attract her. Sophie starts out as that woman who can resist her attraction towards Alex. The whole story progresses very well until Sophie changes into an obtuse twit. On the hand, Alex insists that he does not love Sophie because she does not tell her three words. In summary, the story is thrilling and you will not feel like leaving it for another day once you start reading it

Tempting fate

“Tempting Fate” is the second book written by Alissa Johnson. The book has a great storyline that talks about childhood friends who ended up as lovers. Mirabelle Browning and Whittaker Cole, the earl of Thurston have known as well as hated each other for a number of years. Alissa depicts them as rational and logical friends who keep snipping each other any time they are in the same room. They have many differences between them to the point that each one of them has a nickname for the other. Whittaker refers to her friend as the “imp” as she calls him the “cretin”. At one point, Whit and Mir have an intense argument only for Whit to end up kissing her instead of wriggling her neck. The simple kiss opens up their eyes to the chemistry that they had kept between them or many years without their knowledge. How they react to the feeling and their tentative steps made afterwards will make you love the book even more.

Although Mira is under the care of her uncle, the man is such as nasty piece of art to the point that she decides to seek refuge with her “lover’s family. According to the will left by her friends, Mir has to live with her uncle for a certain period. During this time, her uncle calls her to attend a year hunting house party where she serves as a host. Mir finds it hard because the guests are lecherous lowlifes, drunken hence she opts to leave for the Coles so that she can have time with a real family. The circumstances in her life makes her to believe that no one can marry her and she is only waiting to collect her stipend so that she can set up her home and leave happily on her own. The new feelings makes the whole thing sticky proposition considering the idea that her uncle made her to believe that no one would ever take her a wife. In summary, Alissa has written Tempting fate in a very modern voice, which is not common in most historical novels. The book has several short scenes with scene conversations, machinations as well as some unnamed characters. The plot, characters and setting of the story makes it a fun and romantic ride that you are likely not to experience in any other novel unless one written by Alissa Johnson herself.

In conclusion, Alissa Johnson is among the few authors that will rarely disappoint. The choice of her words, characters, plot and setting of her stories will make you to read them repeatedly. If you love reading romantic novels, then it is high time you grabbed a copy of any of the books written by her. You can get her books in your local bookstore or from online stores such as Amazon among others. Do not wait until she launches another book, something we are sure she is going to do. After reading any of her books, you will have more reasons to list among your favorite authors.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alissa Johnson

Leave a Reply