Book Notification

Allan Martin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of DCI Jüri Hallmets Thrillers Books

Death in Tallinn (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Winter Blood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Inspector Angus Blue Books

The Peat Dead (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead of Jura (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead of Appin (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Dead of Oban (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Tales Murderous and Mysterious (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Allan Martin

The Scottish author Allan Martin is well known for his engaging crime thriller fiction, filled with suspense at every level. Keeping the reader constantly guessing every step of the way, he really is a true master of suspense, raising the tension at every turn. Letting his work speak for itself too, he’s a versatile storyteller with a lot to say, really allowing the story to come alive on the page. Drawing in readers from all around the world too, he’s gained a huge audience, with his work resonating on a universal level.

There’s a lot to enjoy when it comes to Martin’s stories, with their dark and foreboding atmosphere, and the mysterious almost ethereal nature of his writing. Keeping readers continually hooked throughout, it’s easy to see why his books have become so popular, with him becoming a household name for many. Many of his books are also series, so this has seen him build a rapport with his readers, as they return to his work time and time again. Becoming a household name for many, he really is a singular writer, with his own distinctive and idiosyncratic approach to the format.

His characters also ring true, speaking directly to the reader almost, as they feel fully three-dimensional upon the page. Relating to the audience, they really do leave a strong impression, making their mark, as each protagonist feels wholly authentic. Knowing his audience well at this point, he’s great at giving them what they want and entertaining them, while also saying exactly what it is that he wants to say. With so much more to come still he definitely will not be finishing any time soon, as his writing career continues growing upwards and onwards.

Early and Personal Life

Always interested in literature from an early age, Allan Martin would continue to return to his passion throughout his life. Born and raised in Glasgow, Scotland, he would nurture this interest throughout the years, but would finally fully embrace it full-time during his retirement. Taking his love of the crime-thriller genre, he would use it to essentially find his own voice, with his own unique approach to the page.

Working as a teacher-trainer, he would also work as a lecturer at university, which was something that he’d do throughout much of his life. Travelling to Germany and Estonia often, he’d visit these countries with his wife Vivien, something which would heavily inspire his writing. Currently living in Glasgow to this very day, he continues to write regularly full-time, as he still has a lot more to come yet.

Writing Career

The first book that Allan Martin would publish was titled ‘The Peat Dead,’ and it would come out back in 2019. It would also start the ‘Angus Blue’ series of historical mysteries, as they would all follow the character of Inspector Angus Blue. He’d later go on to write another series with the book ‘Death in Tallinn,’ which was set in Estonia during the 1930s, and published in 2020.

In the past he’s also translated an Estonian short-story from 1937, which was a ‘closed-room mystery’ from the time. He’s also had work published in the iScot outlet, with several short-stories released there, making a name for himself as a writer. Maintaining a strong presence both online and off, he continues to receive praise from the critics and the general public alike, as his popularity carries on growing.

The Dead of Appin

This would first come out through the Kindle publishing platform, with it being released in 2021 on the 30th of November. Marking the third title in the ongoing ‘Inspector Angus Blue’ series of books, this would carry on with another self-contained mystery novel. Following the character of Inspector Angus Blue, the novels are easy to pick up at any point, and don’t need to be read in any particular order. It’s a fun and engaging mystery novel set in contemporary Scotland, with well drawn characters and a highly compelling story.

The charred remains of human body is discovered in a burnt out car located within sight of the Connel Bridge, just outside of Oban. With a woman recently missing, many believe the body could be hers, but it appears that the port of Oban has many secrets of its own to hide. Entering the fray, Inspector Angus Blue is determined to get to the bottom of the case, as he untangles the web of lies and deceit. Does the body belong to the missing woman, can Inspector Angus Blue uncover the truth, and what will become of the dead of Appin?

Death in Tallinn

Initially coming out on the 22nd of September, this was first released in 2020, and would be the first in a new series of historical mystery novels from Allan Martin. Coming out on the Kindle platform originally, it would be a historical mystery thriller set during the 1930s in the country of Estonia. Paying close attention to detail, the mystery itself is self-contained, using real elements and events from history to help guide its story.

Taking place during the 1930s, this sees the country of Estonia struggling to survive between Russia and Germany. That’s when an officer is discovered impaled upon a kiosk’s roof, one which Chief Inspector Jüri Hallmets must now investigate. With political turmoil on the horizon, the former school-teacher turned inspector gets together a team, as his paymasters demand an easy solution fast. Will he be able to find out who really did it though, can Hallmets overcome the obstacles in his way, and just who is behind the death in Tallinn?

There’s so many historical details here, making this a really engaging book that’s a must for anyone looking to learn more on the time-period. It’s also a well told mystery that definitely makes the most of its location, as it essentially brings the era to life for the reader. With strong characters and an enduring story, it’s ideal for both fans of the author, as well as of the genre as a whole.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Allan Martin

Leave a Reply