Allen Eskens Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Detective Max Rupert Books

The Life We Bury (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Guise of Another (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Heavens May Fall (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Deep Dark Descending (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Shadows We Hide (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Lila Nash Books

The Stolen Hours (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Nothing More Dangerous (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Allen Esken’ was born and raised around the arboreal mountains in Missouri. Once he graduated from high school he packed up and moved to Minnesota in order to attend a college of his choosing. He studied for his Bachelor of Arts degree with a major in journalism with the University of Minnesota where he honed in on his writing skills early one in his life. Once he completed his education there, he moved on to the Minnesota State University to achieve a Master’s level degree. Meanwhile, he attended classes at the Iowa Summer Writing Festival and also with the Loft Literary Center in Minneapolis district. Next, he went to the Hamline University to further his graduate degree into a Doctorate of Law as far as it is concerned.

Written Books
The Heaven’s May Fall

The Heaven’s May Fall was the third book written by Allen Eskens. The book focuses on the same characters that were initially included in the world-renowned story of The Life We Bury. The book looks into the spellbinding murder scenario that is experienced from two disparate perspectives. Detective Max Rupert is on the case as he works alongside Attorney Boady Sanden as they explore the case. It is when Rupert is persuaded that Jennavieve Pruitt was slain by Ben, her husband, that things start to heat up. Sanden shares the same belief with his brand new client, that he has no fault in the situation. And as the story is told, it becomes crystal clear that each character has more to appreciate about their own individual struggles that they had originally thought.

Rupert finds himself care or following the untimely passing of his wife. It happened four years prior but Mrs. Pruitt’s case brings up uncomfortable things. Sanden had chosen not to offer his defense for any case since he went through the death of a previous innocent client. Deep down he ultimately believed that he should have been able to save her, but he was not able to do so. Now, he finds himself returning to court in an attempt to make up for his past transgressions. Mrs. Pruitt’s death disturbs people’s lives even though it is unclear what is happening at the moment.

The Life We Bury

The Life We Bury was Allen Eskin’s first book that he wrote. It was inevitably put up for the Best Debut Novel of 2014 within the Left Coast Crime Conference. The book won the Rosebud Award for its greatness. It was also called up for the Edgar Award first, then to the Thriller Award, and also the Anthony Award. The award nominations related directly to the Best First Novel by an author. After that, the story was called up for the Barry Award for Best Paperback Original novel. And lastly, the Minnesota Book Award was furthermore included in the Best Genre Fiction for a new book.

The story entails a university student that is named Joe Talbert who lives by the singular goal of effecting a writing task that is for an English class. He will consult with the likes of a complete stranger in order to document an acute biography of their life. He diligently meets the person where they are at an extended living facility for the meeting. Carl Iverson, the interviewee, is more interesting than he could have ever imagined as the story unfolds before the reader’s eyes. Iverson was a Vietnam soldier that has wavering health at that point. Some believe that he was a murderer and with a limited time on his life he received respite into a nursing home in order to care for his medical needs. Prior to that time, he had been incarcerated for upwards of thirty years after being charged and convicted of the felonious crimes of rape and murder.

With confused discontentment, Joe struggles to learn the truth of the matter as he writes the story. He and his cynical female friend, Lila, start to dig for more details about it. But he is also having trouble dealing with his mother’s tactics after deciding to take his leave from his autistic brother with such a terrifying childhood background.

The Guise of Another

The Guise of Another was the inevitable next step part of the story as it went on into print. It inherently describes the tale of Max Rupert and his relationship with his brother Alexander. The two men work as crime detectives that are employed by the Minneapolis Police Department. Interest is called to a man named James Putnam. Rupert’s life is heading downhill fast following being bestowed with a medal of honor. Rupert finds himself dealing with a subpoena that was issued by a grand jury for the misgiving of dishonesty. Rupert was reallocated into the Frauds Unit of the department. But when he arrives, he realizes that nobody likes him even though they do not know them. Deep down he thinks there is a possibility that his power driven bride is seeing someone else.

Rupert begins work on a unique case of assumed identity theft when he sees the beginnings of a chance to acclimatize his ragged reputation. Rupert finds himself in the dead center of things when he finally does look up. He would never have dreamed it would happen that way when it all first began. He would be placed in the path of destruction in a very dangerous way as Drago Basta comes into the picture. He was a soldier for the Balkan wars, but the surprise was that he had been probing for the elusive James Putnam for a long time to no avail.

Alexander begins to feel the walls caving in around him as time goes on and he does not know where to turn. Despite things looming so bleak he begins to see that he has run out of options it seems. Then he thinks about his loving older brother and thinks that he may be able to help him. His brother, Max, is also a peace officer and he enlists his help with all of the collateral damage caused by turning over rocks.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Allen Eskens

One Response to “Allen Eskens”

  1. patricia Charron: 2 weeks ago

    I have read four of these books and am heading to the bookstore to find the rest. Can’t put them down!


Leave a Reply