Book Notification

Allie Therin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Magic in Manhattan Books

Publication Order of Roaring Twenties Magic Books

Proper Scoundrels (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once a Rogue (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Sugar & Vice Books

Allie Therin
Allie Therin is an avid reader and writer of fantasy, romance, and sci-fi. She also is, or has been, an attorney, a boom operator, a bookseller, a parks & rec assistant, and for an embarrassing day she was a barista.

Allie grew up in a small Pacific Northwest town that had more bears than people in it, but sadly the bears wouldn’t practice Spanish with her.

Her work has hit Kobo and Amazon bestseller lists, has received starred reviews, topped reader-favorite polls and been featured on such sites like The Nerd Daily, Lamda Literary, and Bookriot.

“Spellbound” is the first novel in the “Magic in Manhattan” series and was released in the year 2019. New York in 1925. Arthur Kenzie’s life’s work is keeping the world safe from the supernatural relics that could potentially destroy it. When an amulet with the power to control the tides gets shipped to New York, he has to intercept it before it could be used to devastating effects. This time, for him to succeed, he needs a powerful psychometric. And the only one available to him has sworn off his abilities altogether.

Rory Brodigan’s gift comes with a major risk. In order to protect himself, he has become a recluse, redirecting his magic to locate counterfeit antiques. However with the fate of the city hanging in the balance, he is unable to force himself to refuse.

Being around Arthur is dangerous, however his ever growing attraction to him starts making him brave. And while Arthur coaxes him out of seclusion, an emotional and magical bond starts forming. One which proves impossible to break, even once Arthur sacrifices himself to keep Rory safe and Rory has to risk it all to save Arthur.

Allie brings together a fantastic plotline, some lovely characters, and a wonderful sense of location in her debut novel.

“Starcrossed” is the second novel in the “Magic in Manhattan” series and was released in the year 2020. 1925, New York. Rory Brodigan’s life has not been the same ever since he met Arthur. Arthur’s own quest to contain supernatural relics which pose a threat to the world has captured Rory’s own imagination, as well as his heart. However Arthur’s upper-class upbringing leaves Rory worried that he’s never going to measure up, particularly when Arthur’s aristocratic ex shows up in New York.

There is just Rory, for Arthur. However keeping the man he has fallen for safe is a whole other matter entirely. A group of ruthless paranormals throw the city into chaos, the two guy’s strained relationship leaves Rory vulnerable to this monster from Arthur’s own past.

With some dark forces determined to rip them apart, Arthur and Rory are going to need to draw on every last bit of magic that is up their sleeves. In the end, it is the connection that they have formed beyond magic that’s going to get tested like never before.

Allie’s voice is fantastic, as she has a delightful way of weaving humor and wit into her prose which leaves readers unexpected of what’s coming next.

“Wonderstruck” is the third novel in the “Magic in Manhattan” series and was released in the year 2021. New York in the year 1925. Arthur Kenzie is on a mission: to destroy the powerful supernatural relic which threatens Manhattan, and all the nonmagical minds in the world. His search thus far has been fruitless. All it’s done is keep him away from the man he loves. However he will do anything in order to keep Rory safe and free, even if Arthur must leave him behind.

Rory Brodigan, a psychometric, knows that his uncontrolled magic is a liability, however he is determined to gain some power over it. He can take care of himself, and possibly even Arthur, as well, if Arthur would let him. An auction taking place at the Paris world’s fair offers up a perfect opportunity to destroy the relic, if one group of power-hungry supernaturals do not destroy Arthur and Rory first.

While the magical world converges on Paris, Rory and Arthur must decide who they can trust. Guessing wrong might spell destruction for their bond, as well as for the rest of the world as they know it.

“Proper Scoundrels” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2021. Set in the “Magic in Manhattan” universe. Their scandalous pasts have left them unworthy and wounded. Not to mention hopelessly perfect for each other. London in 1925.

Sebastian de Leon is still adjusting to life after spending three years enthralled by blood magic. The atrocities that he committed while under its control are still weighing heavily on his conscience, however when he’s called on to investigate this series of mysterious murders, it feels as though it’s a chance to make amends. Until he learns that the killer’s next likely target is a guy that witnessed Sebastian at his very worst: the Viscount Fine.

Lord Fine, who (to his friends) is known as Wesley, if he even had any, is haunted by some ghosts of his own after he served in the British army as a captain during World War One. Untrusting and jaded, he is tempted to just turn Sebastian in, however there is something that is undeniably captivating about this reformed paranormal, and after he risks his life to save Wesley’s, they find a bit of common ground.

This unlikely pair seeks sanctuary together at Wesley’s country estate in Yorkshire, and they start unraveling a mystery which is steeped in folklore and legend. The close quarters start emboldening both of them to look past the other’s previous trauma to the person worth loving underneath. However with growing targets on their backs, they will need to move fast if they want to catch this killer. And learn whether or not two wounded souls can help one another heal.

The novel is fast paced, well structured, with great building of tension and suspense between the main characters and the villains. Not to mention the building of tension and chemistry between Sebastian and Wesley.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Allie Therin

Leave a Reply