Book Notification

Allison Leotta Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anna Curtis Books

Law of Attraction (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Discretion (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Speak of the Devil (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Killing (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Good Girl (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Ten Rules for a Call Girl (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Allison Leotta is one of the highly popular authors from America who has written some of the very successful novels based on the mystery, thriller, and romance genres. Before taking up writing as a full time career, she used to work as a federal prosecutor for 12 years in Washingon, D.C. With this job, author Leotta got the chance to specialize in prosecuting domestic violence, sex crimes, and the crimes against kids. Leotta says that the reason behind writing is that she witnessed a number of tragedies, shocking evil acts, and vulnerable victims almost every day. She was also inspired by the moments of true love, healing, and real heroism. Author Leotta believes that due to the stories that she came across in real life, the rich and inspiring set characters that she worked with, and her lifelong passion for fiction, it was certain that she was going to write a book someday. At the beginning of her writing career, she had the intention of creating a story that would not only entertain the readers but also help them to understand how the system of criminal justice works, and sometimes doesn’t work. The main focus of author Leotta lied in the nightmare that is shared by all the prosecutors of domestic violence, that is, losing an important case and allowing the abuser to set free, who eventually goes and kills the victim.

Leotta always wondered why a considerable number of women continue to live with their boyfriends who keep hurting them and wanted to explore the reasons behind it. She also wanted to create a strong female protagonist in the form of a smart prosecutor who would not only take the help of the witnesses but also empathize with them. Author Leotta herself shares some of the experiences of the witnesses and has suffered greatly in her romantic life due to those experiences, just like the witnesses. She says that she wrote her debut novel, Law of Attraction in the time that she spent between working as a prosecutor and playing the role of a mother. The novel was started at the time when she was pregnant with her first child. Leotta used to get up very early in the morning, write for around two hours and then leave for work. Then she used to write during the night time and mostly on the weekends. After the birth of her son, she used to write when he was asleep. This is how author Leotta went on to complete her first thriller novel. Leotta recollects that soft snoring sound of her son would give her the signal that it was a good time for her to start typing. The novel was published by Simon and Schuster in the year 2010 and it went on to become one of the top books of that year. It was also reviewed as a riveting and a fast paced legal thriller by many literary magazines. Apart from being a writer, author Leotta also works as a blogger and writes about whatever right and wrong is shown in the television crime shows. She likes to add her perspective as a sex crime prosecutor to the stories shown on the crime shows depicted on TV. In fact, her blog ‘Part Time Crime Review’ was labelled as one of the best blogs based on legal subjects in the whole of America. As far as the personal life of author Leotta is concerned, she was born in Detroit, Michigan, United States. She studied initially at the Michigan State University and then at the Law School of Harvard. As of today, she lives happily in her home located in Maryland along with her husband named Michael and two sons.

The Anna Curtis series written by author Allison Leotta consists of a total of 5 novels and 1 novella, which were published between the years 2010 and 2016. Each and every book in this series features the lead character in the form of Anna Curtis, who is described by the author as a legal prosecutor working at the Office of the U.S. Attorney in Washington, D.C. The life of Anna Curtis revolves the legal thrillers throughout the series. The first book of this series was released under the title ‘Law Of Attraction’. It was published by the Touchstone publishers in the year 2010. As the novel begins, it is shown that Anna Curtis joins as a new Assistant at the U.S. Attorney’s Office. Due to the brutal domestic violence cases that she encounters every day, she seems to have become extremely hard from the inside. A woman named Laprea Johnson comes to Anna for help after getting beaten by her boyfriend on Valentine’s Day. The case of Laprea Johnson reminds Anna Curtis about her own difficult past. During the trial, Laprea reverses her statement at the last minute and frees her boyfriend. Shortly after losing the case, Anna comes to know that Laprea’s dead body has been discovered from a trash bin. As Anna begins to prosecute the murder case with the help of homicide prosecutor named Jack Bailey, she becomes disheartened to learn that her boyfriend Nick Wagner is going to represent the accused. Being forced to choose between saving her relationship and making the killer pay for his crime, Anna makes difficult choices. As a result, she goes on to jeopardize not only her career and relationship, but also her life as she comes to know the shocking reality behind the murder of Laprea Johnson.

The second book of the Anna Curtis series written by author Allison Leotta was published under the title ‘Discretion’. It was also released by the Touchstone publishers in the year 2012. At the start of this book, Anna Curtis is shown getting summoned at the crime scene where a beautiful woman is found dead after falling from her balcony. The crime scene is the United States Capitol. The primary evidences show that it is the case of sexual assault as well as murder. It is later found out that the victim is one of the highly paid escorts from the city. The main accused is a Congress representative, who is believed to have high contacts. Claiming his innocence, the Congressman seems to be in the middle of a tough fight as he is about to lose the election due to the scandal. Anna Curtis sees this high profile case as an opportunity to score big in her career. But, she also realizes that as the political stakes are very high, a single mistake would end her prosecuting career forever. During the same time, Anna fears that her romantic relationship with Jack Bailey, the chief homicide prosecutor should not come out in public. However, it appears that their relationship is inevitably going to get exposed due to the mounting pressure in the all important political case. The investigation leads Anna Curtis to a high end escort service named Discretion that works to satisfy the elite personnels in D.C. As the days pass by, the mystery of the case grows deeper and Anna ends up becoming a target of the killer due to her continuous interference. In the end, the novel proves to be a gripping exploration of the power, sex, and secrets that people with power generally keep.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Allison Leotta

One Response to “Allison Leotta”

  1. Sue Lamont: 7 months ago

    Just finished the Anne Curtis series. Fantastic! Has Allison written any other books? I want to read everything she’s written.


Leave a Reply