Book Notification

Allison Saft Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Down Comes the Night (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Far Wilder Magic (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fragile Enchantment (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Dark and Drowning Tide (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

The Gathering Dark(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Allison Saft is a bestselling American young adult fantasy author who is best known as the author of “Down Comes the Night,” her debut novel.
She went to Tulane University from where she got her masters degree in English literature. Soon after graduation, she moved to the West Coast from the Gulf Coast from where she writes her novels.

Saft has been known to delver into historical, literary fiction and horror works even though her favorite genre to read and write is romantic fantasy. She has also been known to write genre blending fantasy novels, which she complicates by adding in some elements of magic.
Saft’s biggest influences that made her get into young adult fiction are Melissa Barshardoust and Margaret Rogerson, and the many books she read while she was in school.

When she is not writing her novels, she loves to play video games, bake and practice aerial circus arts such as the trapeze.

Growing up, Allison Saft was so into roleplay forums that she had multiple memberships on proboards and Neopets. She lived a very lonely life and found that in this world, she could escape and live in a world happier than her own.

As a hopeless romantic, she started writing stories about people in love which is the same thing that her friends on the forums also wrote about. While she has always been writing in some form or another, it was when she was fifteen that Saft had an epiphany of sorts.

Allison is a person who is motivated by deadlines and so she decided that she would rewrite one of her manuscripts during the 2017 NaNoWriMo. By the end of November, she was done but after reading what she had written she dumped it. She found it soulless as it was something she needed to write and not what she cared about.
Since Allison was devoid of any other ideas, she was depressed for several days and then thought wouldn’t it be better to write something fun rather than mope. She set out to write something magical, similar to what she used to write when she was not thinking of publishing but just to entertain her friends.
She finished the manuscript for her debut in one and a half months and was happy with it. It was full of the romantic tropes, drama and the romance she always looked for in a romantic fantasy.

Allison Saft has said that she always found Gothic romance fantasy so alluring which is why she includes elements of it in all of her novels. She has said that she first started reading Gothic as she found the genre kind of silly but fun.

One of the first novels she ever read was a story of a giant helmet that fell from the sky and killed the fiance of the main character on their wedding day in the novel “The Castle of Otranto.”

She loves the slow boiling dread and gorgeously creepy atmosphere of gothic and how it never shies away from the absurd. Rather gothic romance fantasy always walks the knife edge of hope and darkness even though it will never allow the protagonists to fall into despair.

Allison is also drawn to writing about redemption and trauma and hence she finds the metaphors of unearthing dark secrets, haunted places and metaphors of ghosts useful for working on such themes.

In “Down Comes the Night,” she writes her characters as relics of an ancient, very violent era. They are haunted by their actions in their past and spend much of their time trying to make a better world and fashion their roles in that new world.

“Down Comes the Night: by Allison Saft is the story of Wren Southerland, who has lost everything following her reckless use of magic. She has now been separated from the girl she loves and fired from her job as Queen’s Guard. As such when she gets a mysterious letter from a mysterious lord inviting her to Colwick Hall which is his estate, she does not know what to think of it.

The lord wants her to cure the mysterious illness of his servant and she believes this is her chance at redemption. When she gets there, she finds a crumbling mansion with the caved-in halls haunted by icy winds. Her strange host tells her that she should never leave her room after nightfall.

What is even worse is when she realises that her patient is her kingdom’s worst enemy and infamous Reaper of Vesria Hal Cavendish and not a servant as she had been made to believe. He is looking for redemption at Colwick Hall but given how dark the place is, it may just be the end of them.

There are dark forces at work and they will have to work together if they are to have any chance of saving their worlds. But once Wren starts investigating Cavendish’s illness, she learns a nefarious truth and realizes that they are both trapped with the monsters in the mansion.

The only silver lining is that they have each other for support even though their strong attraction for each other just could be their undoing.

Allison Saft’s “A Far Wilder Magic” is a fantastic romantic fantasy story. It opens to Margarte Welty spotting the last living mythical creature in the legendary hala. Having seen the creature, it follows that just like night and day, there is going to be a hunt for the animal.

The man that can kill the hala will earn for themselves riches and fame and have the honor of uncovering an ancient magical secret. Margaret immediately goes on the hunt since she believes it is what will bring her mother back.

Even though she is the best sharpshooter in town, the rules are that hunts can only be done in pairs and hence she will need to work with an alchemist. The man she finds is Weston Winters. But he is no alchemist as even though he has had several internships he has been fired from each one of them.
The only chance he now has is if Margaret takes him in and allows him to go on the hunt with her. They make for an unlikely team but Wes is awed by how a woman has survived all alone on the fringes of a town that hates her in a creaking house of sorrow and ghosts.

As the day of the hunt looms ever closer, they uncover some dark magic that could just help them win the hunting contest but only if they can survive until the day of the hunt. While he has disrupted her life he cannot help but be drawn to him.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Allison Saft

Leave a Reply