Book Notification

Alma Alexander Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anghara Kir Hama Books

The Hidden Queen (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Changer of Days (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jin-Shei Books

The Secrets of Jin-shei (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Embers of Heaven (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Worldweavers Books

Publication Order of Alma Alexander Triads Books

Haunted (1911)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plaisir d'amour (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Out of This World (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Weight of Worlds (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sense of Love (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Val Hall Books

Publication Order of The Were Chronicles Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Twice Promised (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Letters from the Fire (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shoes & Ships & Sealing Wax (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Houses in Africa (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Untranslatable (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fractured Fairy Tales (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Absolute Visions(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
River(2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Athena's Daughters, Vol. 1(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Airships & Automatons(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Children of a Different Sky(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Oz is Burning(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Modern Deity's Guide to Surviving Humanity(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Spawn of War and Deathiness(2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Alma Alexander, known as the Duchess of Fantasy, is an internationally published novelist, short story writer, and anthologist specialising in SFF (both adult and YA); some of her popular series include the YA The popular novel series written by her include the Worldweavers (YA) and the Were Chronicles series, and her historical fantasy books like “Secrets of Jin-shei”, Embers of Heaven”, and “Empress” – to be extended with further novels based on that shared alt-history world. She has also written award-nominated standalone novels like”Midnight at Spanish Gardens” and “The Second Star”, and highly-rated short story collections like the Val Hall series and the “Fractured Fairy Tales”. Her books have been published in more than 14 languages worldwide, including Turkish, Hewbrew and Catalan.

Her other published works include memoir (“Houses in Africa”), one of the first email epistolary novels ever published (“Leters From the Fire”), as well as a number of other novels and story collections, and she has written widely (essays, reviews, critiques, travel writing, and her own blog) online. Her work has been up for a number of awards, including the Washington State Book Award and the Imadjinn Award, and one of her short stories was a winner of the BBC Short Story prize. Alexander’s papers are archived in the Department of Special Collections and Rare Books at the University of Northern Illinois

Born in the country that used to be known as Yugoslavia, Alexander grew up in various countries in Africa, educated in the UK, and holding postgraduate qualifications from the University of Cape Town (her MSc played a large part in the science of The Were Chronicles). She lived and worked in New Zealand for almost a decade before moving to the United States. She currently lives in the Pacific Northwest with the obligatory and much loved two writers’ cats and assorted visiting

Some details:
The Worldweavers series: 4 books (originally published between 2008 and 2015; to be re-released in new editions in 2022). – “The Gift of the Unmage”, “Spellspam”, “Cybermage”, and “Dawn of Magic” – the journey of young Thea Winthrop from underachieving “failure” to one of the very few Elemental mages of the human race, with the help of the man known as the Wizard of the West, Nikola Tesla. As American as Harry Potter was English, these books have been described as being full of “wild and original magic”, won starred reviews, and have been well-loved by readers.

The Were Chronicles: “Random”, Wolf” and Shifter” currently available in an omnibus edition containing all three novels – as the back blurb tells you, “Everything you know about the Were is wrong” – you have never read a shifter story like this one before. Creating an entirely original, science-based, fully-realised Were world, these books have been described as raw,honest, and life-changing by readers.

“Changer of Days” – Alexander’s high fantasy tale,originally split in half and published as a duology, is to be re-released in a single 20th anniversary edition volume at the end of 2021.

The Alternate History Arc – Alexander’s historical fantasy books (“Secrets of Jin Shei”, “Embers of Heaven”, “Empress”) all take place in the same “alternate history” world and links exist backwards and forwards forging a strong historical backbone to this world – if you love the work of Guy Gavriel Kay,give these books a try.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Alma Alexander

Leave a Reply