Book Notification

Alvirah and Willy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Alvirah and Willy Books

By: Mary Higgins Clark, Carol Higgins Clark
Weep No More, My Lady (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lottery Winner (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Through the Night (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
Deck the Halls (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Thief (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Santa Cruise (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dashing Through the Snow (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
I'll Walk Alone (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Years (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
As Time Goes by (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
All By Myself, Alone (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Alvirah and Willy series is a series of suspense and mystery novels written by the one of the highly popular American authors named Mary Higgins Clark. She has written some of the books in this series in collaboration with her daughter named Carol Higgins Clark. There is a total of 10 books in the series which were published between the years 1987 and 2015. Each and every book in this suspense series features the primary leads in the form of Willy and Alvirah Meehan. The main character is played by Alvirah Meehan while Willy plays as her secondary lead. They are actually a husband and wife pair. In the novels of the series, it is described as Alvirah Meehan has won a lottery worth 40 million dollars while her husband Will still works as a plumber. Throughout the series they are shown as getting involved in a number of unwanted activities which force them to carry out some extra work for getting themselves out of the dangerous situations. The characters of Alvirah Meehan and Willy made their debut in the first book of the series titled ‘Weep no More, My Lady’. This book was published in the year 1987. Author Mary Higgins Clark had first depicted the both the characters as secondary in the first book of the series. Then she decided to use them as the main leads from the second book of the series after realizing that they were portrayed as strong characters.

Even the response of the readers towards both these characters was quite overwhelming. This forced author Higgins Clark to develop a short story plot with Willy and Alvirah Meehan as the main characters. She received very good response after the publication of the short story which compelled her to include it as the second book in the series. From then on, author Higgins Clark wrote all the other books in the series using both of them as the central characters. Author Higgins Clark had finished writing the second book of the series very soon, but she had to wait until 1994 to get it published. The first of the Alvirah and Willy series was released under the title ‘Weep No More, My Lady’. It was published by the Simon and Schuster publication in the year 1987. The story of the book features the main characters as Elizabeth Lange, Alvirah Meehan, Leila Lange, Ted Winters, and Willy Meehan. At the opening scene of the story of the book, Elizabeth Lange is depicted as arriving at a spa named Cypress Point Spa located in Pebble Beach, California. She seemed to be weary of her soul and heart. Elizabeth was grieving the death of her beloved sister named Leila Lange, who was one of the famous actresses. The reason behind the death of Leila as found by the investigation team was that she had plunged to death from her penthouse located in Manhattan. However, Elizabeth did not seem to accept this reason and was determined to find out the real reason behind her sister’s death.

The investigating team of the death of Leila lay the accusation of that murder on a dashing millionaire named Ted Winters. But, Elizabeth Lange highly doubted that he had any hand in this case. She begins to open the doors of the past and seems stalked by the uneasiness of the situation. Elizabeth visits a number of places in search of important clues relating to the murder of her sister. Among a few places that she visited include the windswept cliffs near the coasts of Monterey, luxurious bungalows in the region, etc. Even the lavish gourmet meals and the beachfront walks could not prevent her from being restless to find the man behind the murder of her beloved sister. Soon, Elizabeth begins to glimpses about the dark secrets about the life of Leila Lange and also her death. She even comes across some dark truths about her own life. These glimpses begin to crash against the mind of Elizabeth and cause an ominous wave that arises from an unexpected source. This not only threatens to withdraw herself from the murder case, but also warns her that she might lose her life in the process. The book was very much appreciated by one and all. It was labeled as a masterpiece of author Higgins Clark by The New York Times. It regarded the book as a suitable read for all the beach bag and picnic hamper type of readers. The crackling tale of love and menace depicted in the suspenseful novel tends to hold the attention of the readers till the very end.

The second book of the Alvirah and Willy series was published under the title ‘The Lottery Winner’. It was released by the Buccaneer Books publication in the year 1994. At the beginning of this book, it is shown that Alvirah Meehan was formerly working as a cleaning lady in a laundry company called Flushing, in New York. But, she struck gold when she wins a lottery worth $40 millions. After surviving a staling killer in the previous book of the series, she is again featured in a series of amazing short stories. Alvirah is depicted along with her dependable and occasionally befuddled mate named Willy Meehan. Both of them live in a spacious condo located in the central South Park, which seems to be surrounded by a number of rich and famous personalities of the city. After winning the lottery, Alvirah seems to have become a celebrity in herself. She even goes on to feature in a television show for becoming rich instantly. Due to this, she comes into the eyes of a number of kidnappers, who ask for a hefty ransom from her her for letting go her hapless husband. On getting over with that situation somehow, Willy Meehan and Alvirah decide to keep themselves away from all sorts of crimes solving activities and extricate themselves from Manhattan’s dangers for escaping to Cape Good. But, they seem to come across similar activities even there. In spite of not wishing for such things to happen, Alvirah Meehan and Willy are forced to keep their minds occupied with several investigations. Alvirah also comes across a the problem of another lottery winner who seemed to be in distress. She even returns to the Cypress Point Spa for solving a brutal murder case that happens in a posh area. To add to their crime solving activities as an unexpected bonus, the husband and wife pair are required to solve a suspenseful tale of their own during the Christmas occasion.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Alvirah and Willy

Leave a Reply