Book Notification

Amanda Forester Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Highlander Books

The Highlander's Sword (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highlander's Heart (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
True Highland Spirit (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Marriage Mart Books

A Wedding in Springtime (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Midsummer Bride (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Winter Wedding (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Highland Trouble Books

The Highlander's Bride (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Highlander's Noel (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Highland Rebel (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Daring Marriages Books

If the Earl Only Knew (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Miss Devine’s Christmas Wish (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Earl Interrupted (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Campbell Sisters Books

The Highland Bride's Choice (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Wrong Highland Bridegroom (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble with a Highland Bride (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Highland Christmas Bride (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Amanda Forester has a PhD in the field of clinical psychology as well as a Masters in the subject of theology. She worked as an instructor at a university (which is the title you are given when the university does not want to give you tenure), and she also worked as a clinical researcher.

None of this work had anything to do with writing romance novels. She tried for quite a few years to keep all the story lines she had running around in her head quiet. She caved and finally wrote one of them down. When she gets caught daydreaming and chatting with herself she says that she was putting together a scene for her next novel.

She resides in the Pacific Northwest with her two naturally smart and active kids and her husband (who is both an officer and a gentleman to her); as for pets, they have a lazy dog (who is described as being part tornado and part yellow lab) and two cats.

She enjoys writing historical romance novels and spending time in the lively drawing rooms found in Regency England and the rugged Highlands of Scotland during the medieval period. Amanda almost loves researching historical details as she does the writing parts, and tries to give readers insights about the reality of time back then, without such things as fleas. Amanda likes hearing from her readers and sharing her passion for history and romance.

Her work is historical romance, and she has written the “Marriage Mart” series, the “Daring Marriages” series, the “Highlander” series (which is a trilogy), and the “Highland Trouble” series (which is set in the same universe as the “Highlander” series, it features old favorites and some new characters). The “Campbell Brides Novellas” is also set in this universe and stars Laird Campbell, as he tries to find husbands for his sisters.

She loves historical romance, and was hooked on Regency romance by Georgette Heyer and Jane Austen, two classic romance authors. Forester feels that they were able to build an enjoyable romance over a bunch of pages, and they also had a strong sense of humor.

“The Highlander’s Sword” is the first novel in the “Highlander” series and was released in the year 2010. Set in the Scottish Highlands during the fourteenth century. Lady Alia Graham’s future seems to have the convent in it, but her brother dies and it makes her an heiress. Her father wastes no time to throw together a marriage with some Highland warrior, who she has never met.

There are some misunderstandings between the experienced knight and his lady, which are exploited by their many enemies. It threatens the whole entire clan. It is only when throw caution to wind and make a strong bond with each other can the expose a traitor and save both their love and their clan from being destroyed.

Some liked that the story was not just a bunch of smut every couple of pages throughout. It was able to tell an entire story without that stuff. Fans of the novel found this to be non stop action, something that they really enjoy. Alia was a likable character who was smart and strong female, she was able to admit that she had made a mistake. For some, Chaumont stole the show, even though he was a bit of a minor character and a sidekick. These are romances that are intended for those that do not like reading a lot of sex scenes when they read romances.

“The Highlander’s Heart” is the second novel in the “Highlander” series and was released in the year 2011. Lady Isabelle Tynsdale escapes into the woods so that she can get away from her abusive marriage; she would rather confront a wild boar than spend any more time with her awful husband. She is hit with a lot of inclement weather, she is trying to stay away from a group of attackers, as well as trying to protect herself from a wild boar (as luck would have it) she is saved by a handsome man called Laird David Campbell.

Campbell realizes that his best bet to get through the storm that could destroy his clan is to hold Isabelle for a big ransom. The ransom that he would get for an English countess would more than cover the debts he owes to England and it would save him from a marriage he does not want any part of. Isabelle did not just get away from her husband so that she could become a different man’s captive. This guy is way wrong if he thinks that she will just go that quietly.

Some did not remember what took them so long to get to reading this book, but were glad they did because this is one strong book. Readers enjoyed the banter that Isabelle and David threw back and forth to each other throughout the book, and felt that they could have read this stuff for days on end. Fans of the novel found all of the story lines that were going on here in this; it had some side stories to go along with the main thread.

“True Highland Spirit” is the third novel in the “Highlander” series and was released in the year 2012. Morrigan McNab is lady of the Highland who has had her birthright taken from her. She has no choice but to fight with her brothers so that she can protect her impoverished family. She comes across a man named Sir Jacques Dragonet and she finds her biggest opponent.

Dragonet will die to protect Scotland from England. He is unable to stop himself from seeing how beautiful Morrigan is, she is able to wield her weapons as well as he does. She even puts his heart in more danger than his own life.

The novel is a tasteful balance of sexy yet tasteful passion and full of adventure and romance. The lead female character was not a romantic ditz for a nice change of pace; rather she is a strong woman that even wields her own sword like any of the other men. Fans found many things to enjoy while reading this story, like the part that the family was not as honorable as it probably should have been which made for a nice change of pace.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Amanda Forester

Leave a Reply