Book Notification

American’s Lady Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Wynette, Texas Books

Glitter Baby (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fancy Pants (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lady Be Good (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
First Lady (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
What I Did for Love (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Call Me Irresistible (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Great Escape (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

“American’s Lady” otherwise known as “Wynette, Texas” series is a series of novels by Susan Elizabeth Phillips, the American bestselling contemporary romance author. The debut novel in the series was the 1987 published “Glitter Baby” that was first published in 1987. Since then, the author went on to write several more titles in the still ongoing series. As a writer, Phillips has been writing contemporary romance with her unique combination of emotion and humor since the early 1980s. Susan was born to John Aller Titus and Louesa Coate Titus of Cincinnati Ohio in 1948. She studied at the Ohio University of Theater Arts and went on to teach speech, drama, and English at one of the public schools in Ohio, where she developed her interest in writing. She would teach high school for several years until she got her first child and decided to become a full-time mother. Her first published novel was a collaboration between herself and a neighbor titled “Copeland Bride” that they published under the pseudonym Justine Cole. Since then she has gone on to write novels on her own that include the “Chicago Stars” and the “Wynette, Texas” series among several free standing novels. Elizabeth’s novels tend to focus on athletes such as golfers, football players, and their world. She was inducted into the Romance Writers of America Hall of Fame in 2001 and got a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Romance Writers of America in 2006. She currently lives with Bill her husband that she met while she was a sophomore in college.

Susan Elizabeth’s Phillips’s “American’s Lady” novels stand out for their crazy story lines and over the top heroines and heroes that guarantee a wild ride. Only Phillips can pair a closed off rigid man and an irresponsible flighty trust fund baby, an alcoholic golfer and a crazy British actress, a chauvinistic coach and a cosmopolitan bimbo and pull it off. The Wynette, Texas novels are incredibly humorous at times and yet have intensely emotional and even sad moments. The characters are typically polar opposites who cannot help but bring out the worst in each other which leads to their utter frustration. Nonetheless, they could not be more attracted to each other given that they are some of the most beautiful and attractive persons with intense chemistry between them. One of the major attributes of the heroines is that they have a strength of will unlike any you will see in typical contemporary romance heroines. Having gone through some of the most trying of times, they drag themselves from rock bottom to start new lives and grab the opportunities that life presents. They never give up and will do anything to make it on their own as they are the only person they can trust. As for the heroes they are your all-American gorgeous and handsome men that play professional sports. As for their love lives, they are the penultimate heart-breakers who leave behind a trail of disappointing women – until they meet their match. When the two meet, the sparks start flying as the heroine is too proud to admit the attraction while the hero thinks its all a front making for an explosive combination.

The American’s Lady series of novels is signature Elizabeth Phillips with its laugh out loud writing, sexy characterization, and sexual tension. Even as there is a lot of hate/love banter and sexy romance she portrays a message of the importance of finding inner peace. Through her female leads like Francesca, Fleur, and Lady Emma Wells-Finch the novels assert that no matter our social status, family wealth or looks, there will be a time when such things will not be so useful, forcing us to make our own way. These messages provide substance to the romance and make it possible for the hero and heroines to become likable and relatable characters even if they do not start out that way. Similar to the old generational sagas like” Dallas”, the novels tell of the blissful joys and problems that plague romantic relationships. The characters soar to the highest levels of achievement before experiencing heavy defeats in between romantic and heartbreaking moments full of drama. Many of the novels traverse different eras and hence combine the historical with the modern in an excellent portrayal of the times with the technology, TV shows, politics, clothes, and music making for a very integrated experience.

“Glitter Baby” the first novel of the American’s Lady series of novel is an excellent contemporary romance about two lovers that could not be anymore different. Fleur Savagar is one of the most beautiful women in the world but she does not think she is. She hates her funny green eyes, her streaks of blond hair, paddle boat feet, and over sized hands. She also has some dark secrets that happened way before she was born weighing her down. Her beautiful mother had left her husband James Dean while pregnant, and moved in with Errol Flynn who never knew the child was never his. Meanwhile, Jake Koranda prides himself as Hollywood’s most gorgeous actor and brilliant playwright. He is a tormented, talented, and difficult man who will not suffer any smart aleck women, no matter how beautiful they may be. But Glitter Baby has more than beauty as she proves tougher that he expected. Even though everything is stacked against her, she has proven herself fiercely determined to succeed against all odds. She has turned from an ugly duckling into a beautiful swan now in love with a movie star haunted past. Will they ever trust their hearts and love as they should?

“Lady Be Good” the second novel in the American’s Lady series is all about a gorgeous man looking to avoid scandal that faces up to a strong willed woman looking for one. Lady Emma Wells-Finch is a British Lady and headmistress of a private girls school on a mission to destroy her reputation. She has come to Texas with her beautiful mouth spitting obscenities, umbrella pointing, and skirts flying, looking for complete and utter disgrace which is the only thing that will ensure she does not lose everything she holds dear. Kenny Traveler is a world-famous playboy who has broken the rules one too many times and is now suspended from his beloved sport. The only thing he needs is utter and complete respectability. Unlucky for him he has been charged with chauffeuring the single-minded and bossy Lady Wells-Finch who only wants to chase down tattoo parlors, visit honky tonks and do all manner of disgraceful things. But despite all her theatrics, he feels an insatiable desire and lust, and even love developing for the woman he should be outraged with.

Book Series In Order » Characters » American’s Lady

Leave a Reply