Peter Ash - Fan of Jack Reacher?  Read this

Amos Walker Books In Order

Publication Order of Amos Walker Books

Motor City Blue (1980) Description  Book  eBook
Angel Eyes (1981) Description  Book  eBook
The Midnight Man (1982) Description  Book  eBook
The Glass Highway (1983) Description  Book  eBook
Sugartown (1984) Description  Book  eBook
Every Brilliant Eye (1985) Description  Book  eBook
Lady Yesterday (1987) Description  Book  eBook
Downriver (1988) Description  Book  eBook
Silent Thunder (1989) Description  Book  eBook
Sweet Women Lie (1990) Description  Book  eBook
Never Street (1996) Description  Book  eBook
The Witchfinder (1998) Description  Book  eBook
The Hours of the Virgin (1999) Description  Book  eBook
A Smile on the Face of the Tiger (2000) Description  Book  eBook
Sinister Heights (2002) Description  Book  eBook
Poison Blonde (2003) Description  Book  eBook
Retro (2004) Description  Book  eBook
Nicotine Kiss (2006) Description  Book  eBook
American Detective (2007) Description  Book  eBook
The Left-Handed Dollar (2010) Description  Book  eBook
Infernal Angels (2011) Description  Book  eBook
Burning Midnight (2012) Description  Book  eBook
Don't Look For Me (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
You Know Who Killed Me (2014) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sundown Speech (2015) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Lioness is the Hunter (2017) Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

Publication Order of Amos Walker Collections

General Murders (1988) Description  Book  eBook
Amos Walker: The Complete Story Collection (2010) Description  Book  eBook

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Amos Walker's Detroit (2007) Description  Book  eBook

Looking back thirty years ago, Loren D. Estleman formally introduced the world to Amos walker, a fictional character and presented as a Detroit detective in his highly interesting, exciting and fun book series. Fast forward to present day, Estleman has managed to collect all previously published walker story compiling them in a massive volume that also features a completely brand new story which has never before been published.

Serving as an authority on both the American west as well as on criminal history, Loren D. Estleman is presently considered to be the most critically acclaimed author (of his generation). In fact, his amazing writing work has earned him several nominations for top awards with the latest being his nomination for the national book award as well as the mystery of writers America Edgar Allan Poe Award.

About the author: Loren D. Estleman

Loren D. Estleman is a graduate from the eastern Michigan University and a proud holder of a Bachelor of Arts degree in English Literature and journalism. In the year 2002, he was presented with a honorary doctorate in letters by his alma mater. Estleman however choose to leave the job market and in 1980 decided to venture into writing full time. This however, was after a few years trying out his luck with journalism. During this time, he worked as a reporter during the day and focused on writing fiction come night time.

His first complete novel was published in 1976. This has since been followed by more than 70 other equally interesting book titles and a couple hundred short stories and extremely interesting articles. At the moment, apart from the novel about Detroit detective Amos walker, other equally interesting novels he has authored include: the professional killer peter Macklin, the Detroit crime series, Amateur sleuth Valentino and the infamous L.A. film detective. In addition to the above, on the western end his novels include: the U.S. deputy Marshal, page Murdock series etc. It is equally worth noting that Estleman has also written a couple dozens of standalone novels.

Estleman’s novels have been translated in at least 27 well known languages plus they have won several spur, stirrup, and western heritage and shamus awards. These same novels have also earned him nominations for the Edgar Allan Poe Award as well as the national book Award. In fact, in 2012, the western writers of America honored him with a lifetime Achievement award for his amazing work on the novels.

Presently Estleman leaves in Michigan and is married to Deborah Morgan who is also a writer.

About the book’s main character: Amos walker

Estleman (the author) brought out Amos walker as the main character in his series of detective fiction novel. Amos walker in the novel is a private investigator based in motor city, Detroit-Hamtramck border and works in Michigan. Here he is presented to readers as being in search of those who have managed to blend into the shadows of the city making the assembly line famous.

Walker made his debut on the novel motor city Blue back in 1980 when it was first published. Interesting thing is, after more than 20 novels and several short story collections; the series is still presently ongoing.

One interesting thing about Amos is the fact that he is a traditionalist especially in matters involving music and film. Taking into consideration the fact that he is a Vietnam veteran who besides boxing in college and served as a military policeman. He is therefore sharp and equally streetwise. In spite of all this however, like all good eyes he has an irreverent side. This is clearly evident from the fact that he was fired from the Detroit police academy for punching a college out of the shower.

With the novel set in New York, you just like any other interested reader should expect plenty of time on cars and police kind of chases. Also expect Amos to open up about the pain of being 30 as well as aging slowly as the novel continues on.

Hard boiled Amos walker made his debut more than 30 years ago in the novel Motor city blue. To date, the series has since earned him several awards as already mentioned. These include at least two entries in the New York Times notable book selection. It is equally worth noting that the 32 stories featured in the collection range from simple standard missing person cases all the way to Bizarre investigations which hinge mostly on tattoo as well as a few stories in which walker ventures outside his black and white hometown and on to the deadly Michigan countryside.

In the novel, walker mostly investigates possible major crimes for an insurance company that is looking forward to avoiding a large life payout. In fact, in the process, walkers’ cynicism is tested when everyone involved in the case he is working on seems complicit on the victims’ death. Looking at the brighter side, walker has a built in audience of fans most of whom are devoted. Taking into consideration all of the above, expect nothing short of excitement in case you are looking forward to reading the novel since there is 30 years of fine story writing waiting within. all of the above elements have made Estleman to be considered as one of the best hard boiled writers of his time with Hammett and Chandler following closely in the other 32 short stories. in addition to the above, long time fans are also welcomed into each title by a recap of the previous and most importantly a catchy introduction on to the next story line.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Amos Walker