Book Notification

Amy King Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Dust of 100 Dogs (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Please Ignore Vera Dietz (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everybody sees the ants (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ask the Passengers (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Reality Boy (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Glory O'Brien's History of the Future (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
I Crawl Through It (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Still Life with Tornado (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Me and Marvin Gardens (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dig (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Year We Fell From Space (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Switch (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Pick the Lock (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Story Collections

Monica Never Shuts Up (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

One Death, Nine Stories(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dark Minds(2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Heartbreak(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Collectors(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Coming from Pennsylvania in the United States the author Amy Sarig King, or A.S. King for short as she is more commonly known, is an American author who’s well regarded as a writer of primarily young adult fiction, not only with her long-form novels, but her short-stories as well, which are appreciated by scores of readers worldwide, both nationally and internationally. Winning awards she is respected by both her many peers and contemporaries alike, largely due to her intimate writing style that resonates with readers of all ages on a universal level. Creating much beloved characters and series, she has been able to craft her own unique niche within the field, building a brand for herself that is quite unlike any other.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1970 on the 10th of March she was born and raised in the area of Reading in Pennsylvania in the United States, where she would come to enjoy reading and writing from an early age, before turning to sports and basketball during the seventh grade due to the negative impact of one of her teachers. Undeterred though, she came back to writing at a later age, something which she had never really given up despite the negative feedback of a few, as she persevered and succeeded in achieving her goals. This was later taken on into higher education, as she also continued with her sports as well, including hockey and basketball, something which also colored her writing style over the years.

Attending art school she got a degree in photography which, whilst it wasn’t her primary love and passion, was still helpful in building upon her skill-set as an author in the following years to come. With a clear visual style she then moved to Ireland where she spent two years living in Dublin, before moving on to Tipperary where she worked on renovating a farm with her husband, all the while continuing to work upon her writing, which included a number of novels and short-stories prior to getting published officially. Still writing to this day, she returned to Pennsylvania in the year of 2004, as she continues to put out work at an ever regular and consistent pace.

Writing Career

Before she even got herself published officially, Amy King would be reading a classic novel a day, along with writing around seven novels, along with a number of short-stories, all of which gave her the basis she needed to get herself grounded as a fully fledged author. Bringing out her first novel in 2009 she made her initial debut onto the literary marketplace with the novel ‘The Dust of 100 Dogs’ which was fairly surrealist in its approach to the the form, a practice she had picked during her extensive reading and writing over the years. Taking the name of A.S. King as her pen-name she found a suitably gender neutral title as well, in that it phonetically read out as ‘asking’, something which also reflected the gender neutrality prevalent throughout her novels.

Not really creating series as such she focuses largely on stand-alone novels that are set apart from others within her particular genre, mostly because of their distinctively surreal take on the format and style. She has also won a whole variety of awards and nominations throughout the course of her writing career as well, such as the ‘Walden Award’ for her novel ‘Glory O’Brien’s History of the Future’ and the ‘LA Times Book Prize’ in 2013 for the novel ‘Ask The Passengers’. All of this has allowed her to become one of the most prestigious authors currently working within her field, as she knows and understands the craft better than many others, something which will continue for some time to come.

Reality Boy

Initially released in 2013 on the 10th of September this was a stand-alone title from Amy Sarig King, or A.S. King, as it continued in a similar vein as that of her previous novels. Providing a lot of themes and ideas to which her many readers have now become accustomed to, it managed to tell its own unique story, as it tells of contemporary issues such as fame and celebrity and the psychological impact of such an imposition. Brought out through the ‘Little, Brown Books for Young Readers’ it is a title that managed to show a new development in her writing career, something which was a definite positive for both her fans and newcomers alike. It would also utilize her understanding and passion for psychology, something which she has also shown a previous interest in in the past, as it allows her to really get inside the minds of her characters and fully flesh them out as three-dimensional people.

Angry at precisely the age of five Gerald Faust found his childhood invaded by the arrival of a reality show crew at the bequest of his mother. Watching this young and angry child grow up people started to judge him instantly, including those at school. This leads to many not knowing the real him, as he’s ostracized by those around him. Can he ever hope to break free of these trappings? Who is really underneath that exterior? What will become of reality boy?

Me and Marvin Gardens

First brought out through ‘Arthur A. Levine Books’ this was originally released on the 31st of January in 2017, as it marked another stepping-stone in the development of Amy King as an author. Published under the pen-name of A.S. King once again, it has proven to be a success with both her fans and newcomers to her work alike, with it showing a clear progression in her work as an author. Working as a more personal story this contains a number of ideas and themes that are close to King’s heart as an author, and a story that has been a long time coming. With characters that are lovingly crafted it manages to build upon its premise and establish them as fully fledged personalities in the minds of the readers.

Faced with the development of the farmland he has grown up on Obe Devlin is looking at some major changes in his life, especially when his best friend Tommy goes off with kids from the development. Seemingly alone he hangs out in what appears to be the last wild patch there. That’s when what appears to be a small boar or large dog called Marvin Gardens turns up, and it appears to have an appetite for plastic. Can Obe keep his new friend safe? How long will it be till the others find him? What happens when he asks ‘what does the future hold in store for me and Marvin Gardens’?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Amy King

Leave a Reply