Book Notification

Amy Spalding Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Kissing Ted Callahan Books

Kissing Ted Callahan (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Love and Music (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Out In Hollywood Books

For Her Consideration (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Her Service (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Reece Malcolm List (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ink Is Thicker Than Water (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The New Guy (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Summer of Jordi Perez (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
We Used to Be Friends (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Her Consideration (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Boy Summer (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Amy Spalding
Amy Spalding is an American young adult writer with a passion for performing arts. She has a background in marketing and currently works for a film advertising agent. Away from her day job, the St. Louis born author can be found performing around L.A. Her passion for the arts is evident even in her writing. The writer has a soft spot for cats, and she is happy to pat as many of these furry creatures as she can lay her hands on.

The Summer of Jordi Pérez
The Summer of Jordi Pérez tells the story of two teenagers who find love in the most unusual places. Abby Ives is a 17-year-old gay who’s fashion-obsessed. All her life, Abby has been okay being in the sidelines. When her sister and friends start dating, she is not swayed. The young woman dedicates her efforts to managing her blog and preparing to take the fashion industry by storm. An internship in her local boutique seems like the step in the right direction, and Abby is more than thrilled to start this new journey. What Abby does not anticipate is finding love when all she wants is to concentrate on fashion.
Jordi Pérez, Abby’s fellow intern, is the object of her obsession. Abby knows all too well that workplace romance is a no-no. It doesn’t help that Jordi is all about photography and getting her work out there while Abby prefers to keep her business private. As the two continue to work together, their feelings get the better of them, and a relationship is born. The duo, just like most teenagers, will have mad fun in between work and pursuing their personal goals. There will also be conflict, but overall, this is one delightful story. The cute dates, the banter between these two, and everything in between will warm your heart.

It is good that the story doesn’t just focus on the romance. Abby and Jordi start out as friends, and their relationship grows steadily over time. Abby’s confidence is admirable. It is incredible that she is comfortable in her own skin and understands that the world can be cruel. For example, while her fatphobic mother often makes comments about her weight, Abby raises above this to maintain her bubbly and cheerful personality. The two also know the importance of staying focused, and when they have to compete to get a paid job, they concentrate on the bigger picture.

Abby and Jordi are lovable characters. Both of them are on a journey to self-discovery, and they are quick to embrace the changes they encounter. When she befriends Jax, Abby starts to feel like the star in her own story and not just the spectator. Furthermore, the characters around Abby and Pérez are well fleshed out. This story presents an opportunity to join two teenagers in the most eventful summer of their lives.

If you are looking for a quick summer romance read, The Summer of Jordi Pérez is a perfect choice. The pace is steady throughout the story, and the storyline is quite unique. Join these two girls who have big dreams on their journey. Follow them as they work to establish their careers in a highly competitive market and find the elusive love they have been yearning for. How does the story end for these two? Find this and much more in this intriguing story.

The Reece Malcolm List
The Reece Malcolm List features Devan Mitchell, a young girl forced by circumstances to start a new life. Devan’s father has just died. While she wasn’t particularly close to her father, he was the only family she knew. The teenager never got along with her stepmother, and when her biological mother turns up, Devan is a bit confused. Now, she has to move to a small town in Los Angeles to live with a mother she knows very little about. The only thing Devan knows is that her mother is a best-selling novelist who did not want to cultivate a relationship with her daughter.
Devan’s life transforms immediately. She lands in L.A. Her mother enrolls her in a performing arts school where she fits for the first time of her school life. The upcoming singer and musical theater fan now find herself among people who understand her love for music. Unlike her former school, where she gets a chance to indulge in something she likes and sharpen her skills in the process. Away from school, Devan doesn’t know what to expect from her mother. The teenager had never interacted with her mother, so, understandably, she is a little bit apprehensive. Who is Reece Malcolm, and why did she choose to stay away from her daughter?

Devan documents the information she learns about her mother in this book. Reece tries to do everything a reasonable parent would do for a child. Still, her aloofness and poor communication skills often cause some friction between mother and daughter. Fortunately, there is Brad, who has a way of always making things right. There are many family issues to navigate, but Devan’s new and vibrant world helps her deal with them. There will be some romance, and, incredibly, Devan knows what she wants when it comes to boys

Some issues that stand out here include the complicated family dynamic. You are going to meet Brad, Devan’s mum’s boyfriend. Brad is unlike most of the step-parents you read about. He is charming, friendly, and best of all loves to cook. The more Devan stays with her mother, the more she sees the similarities in their personalities. There is also an element of real friendship where people get jealous and mad at each other and still work things out.
The Reece Malcolm List is a witty story that will tug your heartstrings and make you smile. Join Devan as she gets to gets to know her unusual mother better. Told in Devan’s voice, this story is funny, fresh and comes with a tinge of heartache. Losing a parent cannot be easy, but it is refreshing how Devan embraces her new life and find enough fun things to occupy her time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Amy Spalding

Leave a Reply