Book Notification

Anarchy Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anarchy Books

English Knight (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knight of the Empress (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Baron of the North (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Earl (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
King Henry's Champion (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord of the North (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Enemy at the Gate (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord's War (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Crusader (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Irish War (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Northern Knight (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Poisonous Plots (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Princes' Revolt (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King is Dead (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Earl Marshal (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Fallen Crown (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kingmaker (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Henry II (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Welsh Marches (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Perfect Knight (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Anarchy series is an amazing novel series of historical fiction and British literature stories. It is written by a renowned British novelist named Griff Hosker. The series is comprised of 19 books in total, released between 2015 and 2018. Author Hosker has set all the books of this series in England between the years 1120 and 1180. He has mentioned the lead characters in the series in the roles of King Henry, Alfraed, Ridley, Empress Matilda, King Stephen, King Henry II, William, Richard de Clare, Thomas Becket, King Louis, Samuel, and several others. Griff Hosker has set a few of the plots of novels in Scotland, France, Germany, and other European locations.

Each book in this series features a unique story revolving around the games played in the royal English court to gain a hold over the throne. Author Hosker has done a fantastic job in developing the historical characters. It appears that he has carried out extensive research and gained enough knowledge about the history of England before sitting down to write the stories. His work paid off very well as every book of the Anarchy series as well the series as a whole achieved immense success all over the world and helped him to achieve prominence as an author of historical fiction stories.

The debut book of the Anarchy series is entitled ‘English Knight’. It was released by the Sword Books Ltd. in 2015. The book opens by mentioning that England’s throne is slipping from the grasp of King Henry. His only heir has died by drowning in the English Channel. Following this tragic incident, the predators are getting ready to devour both Normandy and England. King Harold arrives in England with his Housecarls and the last one brings a reluctant hero with him, who is destined to prevent the kingdom’s destruction. Alfraed, Ridley’s son, is a brave English Knight and the one belonging to a new breed.

This novel takes place in a period when warlords wage war among themselves for taking over small pieces of land and where treachery takes place at every step. Through this book, Griff Hosker has given an in-depth account of the events that took place in the turbulent times of the anarchy in England. He has filled it with battles and action and has shown a time in the history of Englan when the only trustworthy people were the household warriors and people hid a dagger under their bed while sleeping, for their safety.

Another excellent novel of this historical fiction series is known as ‘Poisonous Plots’. It was published in 2018 by the Sword Books Ltd. The main characters depicted in this novel include Thomas Becket, King Henry, William, King Louis, and a few others. Initially, it is mentioned that Thomas Becket is appointed as Canterbury’s Archbishop by King Henry. While he happily accepts this new position, he doesn’t realize the problems that he will be creating for himself. The first tense situation arises when the King’s brother is not allowed by the priest. Thereafter, it is learned that France’s King Louis has entered into a complicated alliance with the spies and enemies of King Henry with the intention of reclaiming the Vexin from him. This forces the Warlord to defer his home visit and join the army of the King in an attempt to put down a rebellion that has risen in Brittany.

Later, Scotland’s King dies and his crown is overtaken by his hot-tempered brother named William. Soon after, a battle takes place on the northern border of the kingdom. As the situation continues to become tenser, all eyes are laid on the one man who is capable of dealing with this unrest and bringing the war to an end. The Warlord makes another attempt at confronting the army of the Scots in Northumbria. This novel is also inspired by real events and describes a fast-paced story continuing the saga of the family of the Warlord.

Griff Hosker is a well known English writer, who specializes in writing historical fiction novels. He is particularly popular for writing the Anarchy series in which he has given real accounts of the happenings in England during the 12th century. Griff Hosker was born in St. Helens, Lancashire, the United Kingdom in 1950. He completed his schooling from an all-boys’ grammar school. Later, he went on to qualify as a Drama and English teacher in 1972 and worked in the teaching profession in England’s North East for around 35 years. During his teaching career, Hosker wrote plays, musicals, and pantos for school students. Hosker changed three schools over the course of more than three decades of his teaching career. When he quit teaching, he launched his consultancy firm. Griff Hosker also worked on the sides as an advisor for college and school in the North East.

When the new government of the Conservatives was formed, this line of work was ended. So, in 2010, Griff Hosker realized that he has an ample amount of time in his hand to try out things that he liked. He thought of continuing the line of work that he had first started when he was just 15 years old. The lack of work allowed him enough time to focus on researching the invasion of the Romans in Britain. This helped him to come up with his first novel. Griff Hosker continued the research work and later came up with multiple sequels, thereby, creating a long series of nineteen novels. Hosker is working toward the creation of the 20th novel and is expected to release in the coming months.

After achieving immense success with his novels, Hosker felt that deciding to start writing was among the decisions taken by him. Even today, Hosker enjoys visiting castles, reading historical books, and researching history. In addition to writing historical fiction, he has also tried his hand at writing thriller novels as well. In his free time, Hosker likes to undertake public speaking. He has attended many events and conferences and given lectures on various aspects of creative writing. Hosker has also done numerous award ceremonies. He is looking forward to writing many more exciting in the years to come and make them available to his eagerly waiting fans and followers to read and enjoy.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Anarchy

Leave a Reply