Book Notification

And On the Seventh Day Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of On The Seventh Day Books

By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Veronika Decides to Die (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Devil and Miss Prym (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon

The On the Seventh Day book series is an exciting series of romance, spirituality, love, fiction, contemporary, and inspirational stories. It is written by the world-famous writer and bestselling author of The Alchemist, Paulo Coelho. This amazing series is comprised of 3 books, released between 1994 and 2000. Each book in this series revolves around the life of the central character and depicts a week in their ordinary life, where something extraordinary takes place and changes their lives forever. Paulo Coelho has narrated richly poetic and poignant stories that reflect the depth of life and love. He has tried to address the fundamental questions that millions of people ask themselves why they got this life and why they should go on to live.

The stories make the readers question their existence and ask themselves whether they are worthy of this life. Paulo Coelho has written the books of this series in his mother tongue and they have been translated into English and other foreign languages by Alan R. Clarke, Margaret Jull Costa, Kamuran Sipal, and a few others. Some of the essential characters created by Coelho for this series include Elia, Pilar, Brida, Veronica, Boston Maribu, Zedka, Athena, Dr. Igor, Eduard, and several others. He has done the settings of the novels in Spain and Ljubljana, Slovenia. All the novels depict extraordinary stories from the expertise of Paulo Coelho that keep the readers hooked to the books from start to finish. They tend to make them intrigued and flow with the narration.

The novels help to make the audience understand that they should take their lives seriously and do something that can give them satisfaction. Readers from all corners of the world have read and appreciated Paulo Coelho’s work in this series. They have praised the mind-blowing characters created by him as well as the settings. Many critics have also spoken well about Coelho’s writing skills and storytelling abilities. Even his fellow writers have become his fans after going through his work. There has been definitely an increase in the fan-following of Paulo Coelho after the worldwide success of this trilogy series. Subsequently, it has given him a much-needed boost and motivation to keep doing the good work for many more years to come. He is currently at work on his next novel and expects readers to shower their love on it as well when it is published. Until then, Coelho hopes that readers will continue to read this series and help to make it more popular.

The debut book of the On the Seventh Day series written by author Paulo Coelho is entitled ‘By the River Piedra I Sat Down and Wept’. It was released by HarperOne publication in 2006 after its original publication in 1994. This novel features the primary characters in the roles of Brida, Elia, and Pilar. Initially, Pilar is introduced as a strong and independent woman. Her childhood friend, whom she met after 11 years, has turned into a charismatic and handsome spiritual leader. Over the years, Pilar has learned how to keep her feelings to herself, while her friend/lover has discovered how to keep his inner conflicts in check with the help of religion.

The two have received another chance at love after eleven long years. They are together again and waste no time in embarking on a love-filled journey with each other’s support. But, their path is filled with many difficulties. Some long-buried demons of resentment and blame come to light after over a decade and cause obstacles in their attempt to embrace lost love. Both Pilar and her lover are ready to face whatever comes in their path and are adamant in not giving up on love this time. The second installment of this amazing series is known as ‘Veronika Decides to Die’. It was published by Harper Perennial in 2006 following its first release in 1998. This book opens by introducing Veronika as a 24-year old woman, who has pretty much everything in life. She is beautiful and has numerous boys wanting to become her boyfriend.

Veronika also has a loving family and a good job. Yet, she feels that something is still missing. Veronika thinks there is a void inside her that cannot ever be filled. So, she takes the decision of committing suicide one day by consuming sleeping pills. She expects not to wake up and die in her sleep. To her utter shock, not only she wakes up, but also finds herself on a bed in a mental hospital. Veronika is informed that sleeping pills have only caused partial damage to her as she has only a few days left to live. So, during the next one week, she follows a path of self-discovery and finds herself surprisingly attracted to other mental patients at the hospital. And in the final days, Veronika is able to feel what she has never allowed her heart to feel, including fear, love, hatred, sexual awakening, and curiosity. It also comes to her realization that for every second of her life, there is an option of dying or living.

Paulo Coelho is a renowned Brazilian author and lyricist. He is famous for writing drama and romance and is particularly well known for writing The Alchemist. Paulo was born on August 24, 1947, in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. He studied in a Jesuit school. During his teenage years, Paulo developed an interest in becoming a writer. When he told this to his mother, she laughed it off by saying that he must do something logical and reasonable like his father. At the age of 17, his parents admitted him to a mental institution when he continued to show interest in writing. After attempting to escape three times, he was finally released after spending three years. As he belonged to a Catholic family, faith and religion were strictly followed by his parents. Upon realizing that his parents will never let him do what he wants, he gave up his dream of writing and joined a law school.

A year later, Paulo dropped out and began living like a hippie. He traveled extensively, visiting different places in South America, Mexico, Europe, and North Africa. Paulo even started consuming drugs during the 1960s. However, he found the right path later and lived the rest of his life enjoying his dream. In 1980, Paulo married Christina Oiticica. Today, the couple lives happily in Geneva, Switzerland. A recent chapter in Paulo’s writing career was collaborating with basketball legend Kobe Bryant to develop a project in the children’s book genre. But, after the tragic death of Bryant in a helicopter accident, Paulo dropped the project completely.

Book Series In Order » Characters » And On the Seventh Day

Leave a Reply