Book Notification

Andrea Bartz Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Stuff Hipsters Hate (With: Brenna Ehrlich) (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Never Tell Collection Books

The Other Side of the Road (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Everywhere You Look (By: Liv Constantine) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ghost Writer (By: Loreth Anne White) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorpions (By: Rachel Howzell Hall) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jackrabbit Skin (By: Ivy Pochoda) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Friend (By: Caroline Kepnes) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrea Bartz is a Brooklyn-based American author of mystery, thriller and suspense books, known for her debut novel, The Lost Night. Her work has been featured in Cosmopolitan, The Wall Street Journal, Women’s Health, Marie Claire, Elle, Martha Stewart Living, Vogue, and Redbook.

The Lost Night is the story of a woman trying to discover the dark truths that surround her best friend’s apparent suicide. Ms. Bartz has credited her greatest inspiration in writing The Lost Night to Tana French, a masterful crafter of suspense stories.

The book has been described as whip-smart and captivating by Library Journal. It has been included in The Best Books of 2019 by Real Simple, Glamour and Marie Claire.

The Lost Night

The year is 2009 when the body of Edie, a recent college graduate living in New York City, is discovered near a suicide note, leaving behind a group of confused and mourning friends. Her death is ruled a suicide.

In grief and shock, her group of friends scatters and their era of partying comes to an abrupt end. Edie’s good friends are left with the big unanswered question – what happened to Edie that night? That is just the beginning of this fast-paced, thrilling story.

Fast-forward ten years later, near the 10th anniversary of Edie’s death. A chance reunion brings Edie’s former friend, Lindsay; and her roommate, Sarah, together after not seeing each other for close to ten years.

Lindsay and Sarah were with Edie’s ex-lover, drinking, smoking, and partying that fateful night. As Lindsay and Sarah recalled the night of Edie’s apparent suicide, their memories are quite different.

Lindsay is concerned that Sarah didn’t commit suicide. She contemplates the idea of Edie being murdered. She even wonders if she is the person who murdered Edie, since she had already planned a nasty best-friend breakup with her, and that night she experienced a blackout.

As she begins to dig deeper and gather information into Edie’s death, Lindsay enlists her current best friends, Damien and Tessa, to help her uncover the truth.

Edie was a redhead with fair skin and a magnetic personality, always the main focus of attention. It is also revealed that she also dropped people like rocks, which led to plenty of enemies who could have wanted her dead. Edie and her friends lived in a rambling apartment with little privacy, even less security, and people in and out at all hours of the night due to their partying lifestyle.

Edie had just been informed that her parents were on the verge of losing her childhood home and they would not be able to help her with her school tuition. Additionally, she had a worrying medical condition that required a visit to the emergency room. She had also broken up with her lover, Alex.

Two of her roommates, Keven and Sarah (the only people who knew about her medical condition) could not believe that she had committed suicide, but life carried on as everyone put Edie’s cause of death in the past, including her unstable mother. Then Lindsay and Sarah have their lunch nearly a decade later and Lindsay embarks on an investigative mission to discover whether Edie’s death was suicide or murder staged like a suicide.

The story progresses well as narrative memories are compared, the past is dissected, and videos and pictures are picked apart. Lindsay vows to her friends that she will never give up on her investigations, despite her blackouts and memory lapses, but her sleuthing does not please some people. The deeper she digs, the more she could be putting herself – and those she care about – in danger.

Andrea Bartz’s The Lost Night is a fascinating and thrilling suspense story featuring interesting main and supporting characters. Edie is the type of person who could be different things for different people, so everyone thinks that they alone knew her true character.

On the other hand, Lindsay is the narrator. She is self-aware, curious, always eager to investigate, and takes pride in her intellect. Additionally, due to her past, she is self-sabotaging, insecure, and mired in deep shame.

Andrea Bartz’s second novel, The Herd, is also a mystery thriller and gives the readers a glimpse into female friendships, society’s high standards for women, and what can happen when some successful women’s perfectly molded veneers start to crack. The story is narrated from the alternating points of view of two intelligent sisters with divergent worldviews. Like the author’s debut novel, The Lost Night, the story is thrilling, suspenseful, dark and twisty, a story worth your time.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrea Bartz

Leave a Reply