Book Notification

Andrea Bobotis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrea Bobotis

Andrea Bobotis is an American historical fiction author best known for her debut novel, The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt. A South Carolina native, she’s an English Literature Ph.D. holder who also doubles up as a creative writing teacher. She received awards from James Jones First Novel Fellowship and the Raymond Carver Short Story Contest for her first novel. Her essays have also featured in the Irish University Review and Victorian Studies, among other journals. She’s a yoga enthusiast who enjoys the quiet of nature and thinks of herself as a national park geek.

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt

The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt introduces us to Judith Kratt, the 75-year-old heir to the Kratt family fortune. There is isn’t much to inherit. There is the copper clock, the pie safe, and a murder that happened ages ago. Judith knows that she has no choice but to make an inventory of the household valuables. Aside from just listing items, she also has to account for the Kratt family misfortunes. There are skeletons in the closets the family has kept for a while. However, with the reappearance of Judith’s estranged sister, keeping the secrets will be an impossible task.

This is a chilling story that interweaves the present and events that happened in 1929. As Judith works through the family inventory, she pieces together details of events that changed the course of the family fortunes. The Kratt family has lived in a small cotton town in Deep South for generations. Everyone knows each other and their secrets in this town. These secrets are never talked about until the right time. Just like the rest of her neighbors, Judith is aware of the family secrets, but she keeps them to herself until towards the end of the story.

The once well to do Kratt family has gone through some significant changes over the years. Get to read about the family patriarch, an oppressive and racist father who controlled most of the businesses in the small town but had a hard time controlling his family. There are also details about a heartbroken mother who takes her secrets to the grave. Other people mentioned in the story include Judith’s brother, who is murdered at fourteen and a sister who runs away from home only to return sixty years later. There is also Olva, a black woman with ties to the Kratt family.

If we go by reader reviews, it is clear that Andrea Bobotis has succeeded in telling the secrets of a southern family in a concise southern voice. The tone is lilting, but it packs a punch when you least expect it. Through an inventory comprising of things that the family is left with, Miss Judith allows the reader into her family.

The main character shows how the Kratts conducted their lives and business in the past. There is no doubt that the family started out doing honest business and made loads of profits in the beginning. However, a string of unfortunate events makes the family loose almost all their fortunes. Just like any family, the Kratts also come with their fair share of dirty secrets.

Miss Judith feels the need to itemize her family’s life as she nears her end. The story is captivating and spans for sixty years. There is a lot of drama and changes that occur in the family throughout this period. The family secrets are revealed as Judith is going through her inventory. As you turn every page, you are going to learn something new about this odd family and the challenges that they overcome. Bobotis has done a great job of developing the characters and introducing twists and turns that are sure to keep you captivated to the end.

If you are a fan of family drama, The Last List of Miss Judith Kratt is perfect. The same applies if you are looking for a relaxing read you can enjoy when you are lounging. The plot is not complicated, and the story flows well. Thanks to the author’s imaginative writing and ability to masterfully convey the most profound feelings, every item on Miss Judith’s comes to life. This is simply Southern Comfort at its best.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrea Bobotis

Leave a Reply