Book Notification

Andrea Carter Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Inishowen Mysteries Books

Death at Whitewater Church (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Treacherous Strand (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Well of Ice (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Greysbridge (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body Falls (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death Writes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrea Carter
Andrea Carter is a mystery author best known for her Inishowen mystery series. The UK-born author is a law graduate and a qualified solicitor. She moved to work in the Inishowen Peninsula for a few years, which explains her choice of setting in her debut series. Carter transferred to the Bar in 2005, and she moved to Dublin to work as a barrister. Later, Carter decided to focus her efforts on writing crime stories. The talented author holds a University College Dublin MFA in creative writing.

Death at Whitewater Church
Death at Whitewater Church comes first in the Inishowen Mystery series. The book introduces Benedicta ‘Ben’ O’Keeffe, a solicitor with a small practice in Donegal, Ireland. Ben was running away from her troubles when she decided to set shop in this little sleepy little town. She had successfully managed to build a comfortable home in Donegal. When Ben is visiting a deconsecrated church on behalf of her client, she discovers a pile of bones, carefully wrapped in a blanket and hidden in a crypt. Word about her discovery spreads fast, and everyone assumes that the bones belong to Conor Devitt, a man who disappeared on the day of his wedding six years earlier. However, a post mortem tells a different story.

Ben is hesitant to get involved in this case. Her interactions with Sergeant Tom Molly, the man in charge of this case, had not been that good, and she didn’t want to get in trouble with him. While Ben was just curious about the happenings in her little town, Tom found her annoying. He always thought of her as the busy body who wants to know about everyone’s business. However, when Conor’s brother dies mysteriously shortly after visiting Ben, she is forced to get involved. What is the connection between the skeleton and Conor? Could he still be alive? What happened on that day that Conor went missing?

Follow Ben as she works to unravel a mystery that will prove to go deeper than she anticipated. With obstructive locals at every corner, it is not going to be easy for this solicitor to uncover the truth. The villagers coming to her office with all kinds of information do not make things any easier. Fortunately, Tom is proving to be a better partner than she expected. Their heartfelt conversations add a lot to the story, and it is not long before Ben and Tom become good friends. Can these two turn their mutual attraction into something deeper? Will they unravel the mystery before another life is lost? Who are the influential individuals behind these mysterious killings and disappearances?

Death at Whitewater Church is a charming Irish mystery story that grabs your attention and doesn’t ease up to the end. The action is non-stop, and once Conor’s brother gets killed, the pace rises to exhilarating levels. You will also love the warm village setting and the eccentric characters. It is shocking how many secrets such a small community can hold for years. Ben is a lovable character, and it is enjoyable watching her and Tom in action. The budding romance between them is just sweet, and you can only hope that they will finally communicate their feelings to each other.

Treacherous Strand
Treacherous Strand comes second in the Inishowen Mysteries. In this installment, Ben and Tom will be dealing with yet another case of a mysterious killing. When a semi-clothed body is found on the beach, the people of Inishowen are shaken to the core. The woman had a strange tattoo. A few tests later, the woman is identified as Marguerite Etienne, a woman who had recently moved to this small town. Ben feels guilty when she discovers that the dead French woman is her client. Yet again, she had failed to save someone who desperately needed her help. When Tom dismisses Marguerite’s death as suicide, Tom is forced to act. There is no way her client could have killed herself.

Armed with nothing but a determination to uncover the truth, Ben launches her investigation into her client’s death. She is shocked to discover that Marguerite was involved in a doomsday cult in the past. While she was fortunate to escape, she left her daughter behind. By retracing Maguerite’s last steps, Ben uncovers a few truths about her and the people of Inishowen. She will be forced to cross personal and professional boundaries in her search for the truth, but you already know that Ben doesn’t stop when she wants something. It does not matter how many features she is going to ruffle in her quest.

Ben and Tom’s romance continues to grow despite their different personalities. Tom, at times, gets frustrated because Ben refuses to let things go. She is also an overthinker who analyses everything, including their relationship. While the story doesn’t focus much on the romance, Ben spends a lot of time thinking about Tom. You will enjoy following Ben as she goes through a list of suspicious characters to find the one responsible for Marguerite’s death. She does get herself into dangerous situations a few times, and you can only wish that she would alert the right people before putting herself in harm’s way. Imagine how easy her life would be if she got Tom more involved.

Treacherous Strand is an intriguing mystery story with an idyllic setting, interesting characters, and a solid plot. Ben will be sticking her nose in places she is not supposed to once again, and this will put her life in grave danger. However, it is sweet that she refuses to let her client down and chooses to investigate her death even when the police had classified it as a suicide. If you enjoy cozy mystery stories with atmospheric settings, this is a great choice. This captivating story unfolds at a steady pace, and you barely get enough time to catch your breath. Some of the characters’ stories progress from the first book, so you will enjoy this installment more if you start with the first in the series.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrea Carter

3 Responses to “Andrea Carter”

  1. Eimear McAuliffe: 2 years ago

    Just finished “A body falls” Really loved the series. Are there more? I hope so. 🤞🏻🤞🏻

  2. Tom Anderson: 2 years ago

    I am really enjoying the Inishowen books and have just finished The Body Falls; when do you anticipate the next one appearing?

    I am somewhat curious about the use/failure to use the objective case, specifically “myself” instead of “me “in several sentences. e.g.
    “… so it looks as if it’s just McFadden and myself for the foreseeable future.”
    (Pg. 157 paperback version). There are several instances of this.

    Other than that, very well written.

    Dr Tom Anderson
    Westmont, NJ, United States

  3. Val Davidson: 3 years ago

    just finished “The Body Falls”..great read from start to finish. Wish I’d know there were 4 books in the series before I picked this one up at library. I’ll make sure to order them all. Glad to have picked this one. Thanks for a great read


Leave a Reply