Book Notification

Andrea G. Stewart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Drowning Empire Books

The Bone Shard Daughter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Shard Emperor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bone Shard War (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Andrea Stewart Short Stories/Novellas

Dragon Maiden (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Post-Apocalyptic Tourist's Guide to Sacramento (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Andrea Stewart Cookbooks

Recipe Shorts: Delicious Dishes in 140 Characters (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrea G. Stewart is a Canadian born author of fantasy and science fiction novels best known for the “Drowning Empire” series of novels. She also writes novels in the horror and urban fantasy genres. Born to immigrants she has lived in a variety of places across the US. She credits her love for fantasy fiction to her parents who emphasized education and science, which meant that she spent a lot of time with her nose in odd-smelling library books and watching “Star Trek.” Growing up, she dreamed of becoming a dragon slayer but when she realized that the chances of that happening were slim, she decided to become an author. The Canadian born author currently lives with her husband, cat, dog, and a variety of other pets in sunny California. When she is not writing her novels, she can be found bird watching, herding cats and exploring rabbit holes. She also watches TV and plays videogames. Her debut novel was “Loose Changeling” that she published in 2015.

Andrea got the writing bug in June 2011, though she had dabbled in it from time to time before then. She had written a complete manuscript years earlier, and even got some agents interested but she canned it. But this time she felt different as she was determined to get her work published no matter what. Within three months, she had written the rough draft for her debut work “Lestoor’s Chosen.” She then got really busy finishing up a draft of her debut novel “Loose Changeling,” writing a synopsis and query letter for Lestoor’s Chosen, and writing multiple short stories. She got several rejections from a variety of publications though her dream agency soon came calling and asked for the full manuscript of Lestoor’s Chosen. During this time, she was still working a demanding and complex job and also traveled with her husband and maintained the micro-farm in their backyard. “Loose Changeling” was finally published in 2015 and gave her the confidence to go for even more. In December 2019, Orbit announced that it had acquired Andrea Stewart’s epic fantasy “Trilogy Drowning Empire.” The first novel of the series was “The Bone Shard Daughter” that was published in 2020. She likes to write in the third person multiple points of view and most of her works being epic fantasies with interlacing and intricate plots and subplots.

Andrea Stewart’s “The Bone Shard” is the debut novel of “The Drowning Empires” series of novels. The story is set in an island archipelago, where the magic of a bone shard wielded by the emperor enforces law and order. The emperor has been ruling the islands for decades but his power has been weakening over the years as whispers of uprising travel across his domain. One of the lead protagonists is the emperor’s heir and daughter Lin, who spent her days in the palace that is full of secrets and locked doors. She ha been trying to earn the respect of her father by learning how to control the bone shard magic. She also needs to unearth the mystery behind her splintered memories. But even as her father does not believe she is a worthy heir, she is determined to master the bone shard magic. But master the magic comes with great power and great cost too. When the revolutionaries come through the gates, Lin needs to decide how much she will go to save her people and claim her birthright. Through her diverse characters, Andrea brilliantly tackles the themes of family, love, justice, and identity.

Andrea Stewart’s “Loose Changeling” opens to Nicole devastated when she discovers her husband canoodling with another woman. Enraged, she turns the mistress into a mouse and ejects the husband from the house. She never knew she had such powers until Fae for hire Kailen turns up on her door the following day and informs her that she is a Fae and Changeling brought up among humans. For over a thousand years, the doorways between the mortal and Fae worlds have been sealed shut but they are now opening randomly and humans in the thousands are turning up dead. Kailen’s employers think that she is the only person with the ability to close the portals. Nicole would love to help if only to get back to normal but finds that she has somehow developed the equivalent of writer’s block when it comes to magic. She is unable to reverse the magic she did on her husband’s mistress and the only time she can do magic is when she is angry enough. Another complication is that her anger only burns hot when her husband is in the room. She is jumping between the mortal and Fae worlds before she can say she does not believe in fairies. Alongside are a Fae bodyguard she is falling for and her husband mousy mistress. She needs to learn her powers fast if she is to survive in the vicious and cutthroat world of the Fae.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrea G. Stewart

Leave a Reply