Book Notification

Andrew Barrett Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of SOCO Roger Conniston/The Dead Trilogy Books

A Long Time Dead (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stealing Elgar (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
No More Tears (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of CSI Eddie Collins Books

The Third Rule (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Black by Rose (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lift (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sword of Damocles (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Ledston Luck (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Note (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lock (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Death of Jessica Ripley (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
This Side of Death (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Crew (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pain of Strangers (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Chronological Order of CSI Eddie Collins Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The End of Lies (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Splendid Salmagundi(2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Criminal Shorts(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Barrett is a British author from Leeds who has made a name for himself writing detective crime fiction. He was born to a transport manager and a seamstress in a suburb of Leeds, where he was the youngest of three siblings. He went to school at Royds School, and proceeded to undertake a mechanical engineering and electrical degree at Kitson College. After completing his college studies, he got a job with contractor that took him to the Middle East. He was posted to Kuwait where he was lead technician oil services, and later engine builder with Caterpillar. He came back home to become a CSI, a job that he has held for more than a decade while writing his detective crime thrillers part-time. Barrett considers himself very lucky as he is a crime thriller writer and a CSI, which makes it easy for him to write very realistic novels from his on the job experiences. As for his personal life he has three daughters; two teenagers from a previous marriage and a three and a half year old that he got with his current fiance Sarah. He lives a pretty fast paced and full life where he gets to live his dream. He used to own a Ford Capri that he raced and built engines for, but since he is getting older and is done with midlife crisis he is over the thunder and shiny bit hobbies. Nowadays he loves to content himself with a good whiskey or the odd movie flick. That being said he also loves to spend a lot of time at York, Skipton, or Whitby with his daughters and fiance.

While he has always been a reader of the likes of Stephen King and James Herbert, his passion for writing only came out in the 80s. It came about when he read a novel and wondered why it was so bad and if he could not do better. He soon penned a dystopian horror titled “Lord and Master” which he never published given that it was so bad. It was not until he joined the police force in 1996 as a CSI that he finally found his niche. During the 90s he became increasingly uncertain about his engineering job and applied for a CSI job that the West Yorkshire Police had put in the paper. It was a great match as it combined his love for digging around crime scenes with his love for writing. The career change was the greatest thing to ever happen to Barrett as he finally got the creative spark to reignite his writing after years of failure. Deciding to go the self publishing route, Andrew published his first detective crime thriller “A Long Time Dead” in 2013. His novels have gone on to sell hundreds of thousands of copies and become bestsellers on Amazon. He has a crime thriller series and a trilogy to his name and is not slowing down any time soon. His trilogy is about a scene of crime officer named Roger Conniston. The series features Eddie Collins an abrasive and sarcastic man who does not fear to voice his perspective and use violence if need be.

His first three novels “No More Tears”, “Stealing Elgar”, and “A Long Time Dead” sold more than 100, 000 copies and were so popular that the trilogy was nearly made into a TV series. Teaming up with Graeme Bottomley a CSI colleague of his, they wrote a script that they presented to the head of drama at YTV Keith Richardson. Keith loved the script but the higher ups at the company stepped in to kill the dream by scrapping the drama department. At the time of scrapping, the project has been at the pre-production stage and had Neil Morrisey and Ross Kemp among its list of prominent appearances. His “Eddie Collins” series is a dystopian series of narratives that debuted with the 2004 published “The Third Rule” that discusses the morality of bringing back the death penalty. Given Andrew Barrett’s experiences as a CSI, his crime thrillers come with a realistic forensic element coupled with characters that are unafraid to confront authority and are strong willed and determined to solve their puzzles. Unlike many of his contemporaries, Barrett does not write formulaic novels as each narrative comes with its own unique flavor given his variety of CSI experiences in his day job. Even as his novels frequently involve police procedure, they are for the most part about the Crime Scene investigations officers and how they solve crime. The Eddie Collins and SOCO Roger Conniston series offer insights on the life of a CSI as they do battle with cunning criminals who commit crime to make one shudder and lock their doors at night.

“A Long Time Dead” the first novel of the SOCO Roger Conniston trilogy is a thrilling novel that asks the age-old question that has plagued forensics; is forensic evidence incorruptible? How terrible is it that some people may be incriminated by forensic evidence even while they are innocent of the crime they are charged with. The lead in the novel is Roger Conniston, a veteran police CSI and one of the finest detectives in the West Yorkshire Police Division. However, Conniston is no saint and his chequered past comes back to bite him when he is implicated in the death of a young woman. The police are operating on the notion that forensic evidence is incontrovertible and hence it is up to Conniston to prove that the evidence against him was not only manipulated but also planted. But now that he has been arrested, proving his theories is even harder. It is even more complicated given that his lead suspect is a highly decorated and high ranking police officer, who would nobody would ever suspect or even believe could be involved in such a nefarious plot.

“Stealing Elgar” the second novel in the trilogy opens to Roger Conniston the protagonist enjoying his status as a newly minted Senior Scenes of Crime Officer. But he has a lot to protect and prove as he comes up against Hades, a former bare knuckle fighter conspiring to commit England’s heist of the century. Hades will do anything to make the heist a success and has planned out everything to the minutest of detail. From the weapons he and his band will use, to the explosives that will act as diversions during the robbery, nothing has been left to chance. Roger finds himself in a dilemma; cut ties with the police bureaucracy and do things his own way or put up with the incompetence of DCI Chamberlain his superior. It is an excellent novel that showcases the different perspectives on how conflicting interests may serve to destroy or achieve a goal.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Barrett

Leave a Reply