Nick Petrie Series

Andrew Child Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jack Reacher Books

with Lee Child
Killing Floor (By: Lee Child) (1997)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Die Trying (By: Lee Child) (1998)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Tripwire (By: Lee Child) (1999)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Running Blind / The Visitor (By: Lee Child) (2000)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Echo Burning (By: Lee Child) (2001)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Without Fail (By: Lee Child) (2002)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Persuader (By: Lee Child) (2003)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Enemy (By: Lee Child) (2004)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
One Shot (By: Lee Child) (2005)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Hard Way (By: Lee Child) (2006)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Bad Luck and Trouble (By: Lee Child) (2007)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Nothing to Lose (By: Lee Child) (2008)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Gone Tomorrow (By: Lee Child) (2009)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
61 Hours (By: Lee Child) (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Worth Dying For (By: Lee Child) (2010)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Affair (By: Lee Child) (2011)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
A Wanted Man (By: Lee Child) (2012)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Never Go Back (By: Lee Child) (2013)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Personal (By: Lee Child) (2014)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Make Me (By: Lee Child) (2015)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Night School (By: Lee Child) (2016)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Midnight Line (By: Lee Child) (2017)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Past Tense (By: Lee Child) (2018)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Blue Moon (By: Lee Child) (2019)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Sentinel (With: Lee Child) (2020)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Better Off Dead (With: Lee Child) (2021)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
No Plan B (With: Lee Child) (2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
The Secret (With: Lee Child) (2023)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle
Chronologically, The Enemy should be read first followed by Night School and then The Affair.You can then read the rest of the novels in publication order.

The short story Second Son features Jack Reacher at 13 years old and High Heat has Reacher as 16.

Publication Order of Anthologies

Hotel California(2022)Hardcover  Paperback  Kindle

You have likely heard of the author Andrew Child due to the fact that he is writing the Jack Reacher series alongside Lee Child. The Jack Reacher series is one of the most popular book series in the world.

However this is not Andrew Childs first foray into writing. He has written numerous novels prior to this and even wrote his own character and book seried modeled after Jack Reacher.

Andrew Child is the pen name of author Andrew Grant. He is the brother of Jim Grant, who of course uses the pseudonym of Lee Child.

Andrew is 14 years younger than his brother as he was born in 1968 while Lee was born in 1954. Andrew is married to the author Tasha Alexander, who writes historical fiction and in particular, the Lady Emily series of novels.

Prior to the Jack Reacher series, Andrew Grant wrote every book under his real name. The first book he wrote was Even, which is the Reacher-like character. It is the David Trevellyan series. Trevellyan is an intelligence operative for the Royal Navy and much like Reacher is a loner.

In Even, Trevellyan discovers a murdered homeless man in an alley in New York City. Just as he is examining the body, the police pull up and he realizes that he has been set up by someone.

Andrew would write two more books in the series before retiring the character.

Next Andrew wrote the standalone novel Run, which is a more corporate thriller. Marc Bowman walks into his job at a big tech corporation only to discover he has been fired and is shunned and kicked out.

Prior to co-writing the Jack Reacher series with Lee Child, Andrew would write two more book series. He jumped into the detective genre and niche with the Detective Cooper Devereaux series. The first book in that is False Positive.

Cooper Devereaux is a detective in Alabama and in the first novel, he has to investigate the disappearance of a young boy who is seven years old. He’s just been removed from being suspended so he can investigate that and team up with a new person on the force, Jam Loflin. As he investigates he realizes there is a lot more to it than just a missing child.

Finally before jumping on board the Reacher series, he tried one more book series which was the Paul McGrath series. The first book in that one is Invisible. Paul McGrath is a veteran from the army who goes undercover in a federal courthouse by working as a janitor. This gives him free reign to access the entire building.

In early 2020, it was announced that Lee Child would be retiring and handing the reigns of the Jack Reacher series over to his brother Andrew.

The initial plans for the Jack Reacher series will see both Andrew and Lee Child write the Jack Reacher series together for a few books, before Andrew starts writing the series by itself.

For Reacher fans who are concerned about the quality of the books – while Andrew had a bit of a rocky start to his writing with his Trevellyan character being described as “Reacher on Steroids” – and I must admit he made Trevellyan look like Superman compared to Reacher looking like Clark Kent – over the years he has fine tuned his writing skills and the Paul McGrath series was very well received compared to his previous books.

Hopefully that bodes well for the Jack Reacher series going forward.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Child

5 Responses to “Andrew Child”

  1. RJ McLaughlin: 9 months ago

    Are the Andrew Grant books actually done by Andrew Child, because his acknowledgements, etc, list his parents (NOT Lee)?

    • Graeme: 9 months ago

      Yep they are.

  2. VCynthia Russell: 1 year ago

    I too have every one of the Jack Reacher books. But I was also curious about the brother Andres’s style when he was writing by himself. So that is why I am trying to buy a few. It is a little scary to hear Lee retiring, but I truly understand. I just turned 71. I have written for over thirty years, writing for TV, but now have my first novel finished and looking for a publisher or agent. That will probably take another ten years…right. I am looking forward to the next Reacher book, always reading and writing Cindy

    • Graeme: 1 year ago

      I read two of his books. The first two books in the Trevellyan series. They made Reacher look like Clark Kent, with Trevellyan as Superman. I did enjoy the first book a lot regardless, but felt the 2nd book was too over the top and haven’t read any more by him (except of course in the Reacher series).

  3. Edward Penner: 2 years ago

    I have all the Reacher books, I have found a few issues over the years, as someone who was 6 ft 5 inches tall as well, size 15 feet are not out of line for Reacher, and the guy accused of murder in The Affair is not a freak for having size 15 boots. I wear a 15, not uncommon in guys my size, 250 pounds of solid muscle is likely a bit light depending on bone size etc, but in the ball park. Enjoy the books, a bit unrealistic as to what he gets away with but it is enjoyable fiction. ED


Leave a Reply