Book Notification

Andrew E. Stoner Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Legacy of a Governor (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Notorious 92 (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
70's TV Trivia (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wicked Indianapolis (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cobra Killer (With: Peter A. Conway) (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Betty White: The First 90 Years (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Campaign Crossroads (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Journalist of Castro Street (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Courthouse Chaos (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wanted in Indiana (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dear Abby, I'm Gay (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fear, Hate, and Victimhood (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew E. Stoner is an American author who writes about mass media, politics, history, true-crime, and popular culture. He is known for writing The Journalist of Castro Street: The Life of Randy Shilts, Fear, Hate, and Victimhood: How George Wallace Wrote the Donald Trump Playbook, Courthouse Chaos: Famous Trials and Lynchings, and Campaign Crossroads: Presidential Politics in Indiana from Lincoln to Obama. He also co-wrote Cobra Killer: Gay Porn, Murder, and the Manhunt to Bring the Killers to Justice with Peter A. Conway.

Stoner is a journalist by training. He earned his Bachelor’s degree in journalism from Franklin College of Indiana in 1986, his Master’s degree in Journalism from Ball State University in 1995, and finally his Ph.D. in Public Communication and Technology from Colorado State University in 2013. In addition to his work as a writer, Andrew served as an associate professor at California State University, Sacramento, Department of Communication Studies.

The Journalist of Castro Street: The Life of Randy Shilts is the story of Randy Shilts, the country’s most recognized voice on the HIV/AIDS epidemic. The journalist had a relentless work ethic and believed in the power of journalism could help people understand what was going on with HIV/AIDs and the gay culture at large. Stoner’s book follows the life of this pioneering journalist. The writing that Shilts did in San Francisco broke through barriers despite the fact that other gay writers believed him to be a traitor to the movement. Shilts stood up to those claims and answered them forcefully. The book also gets into Shilts struggles in life with alcohol, substance abuse, and his own HIV infection which he sought to keep secret.

Another book by Stoner is Courthouse Chaos: Famous Trials and Lynchings. The courthouse is meant to represent justice and the rule of law in the United States, but in some cities it has become something much darker on occasion. Those occasions have been marked by tragedy and mob violence. In this book, Stoner covers the more notable of these cases in more detail. He dives deep into these local stories with deep research and fills them in with cutting insight and unbiased conclusions.

Fear, Hate, and Victimhood: How George Wallace Wrote the Donald Trump Playbook is an analysis on the similarities between two politicians. Many people thought Donald Trump’s campaign was similar to that of George Wallace who launched four presidential campaigns between 1964 and 1976. This book is Stoner’s deep dive analysis of the two candidates, their campaigns, and activities. Stoner lays out his case that Wallace may have been a prelude to the more successful Trump campaign.

Cobra Killer: Gay Porn, Murder, and the Manhunt to Bring the Killers to Justice is written by Andrew Stoner and Peter A. Conway. The book lays out the twisted tale of a two young, aspiring gay adult film producers whose quest for fame at any cost leads to murder. A forty-four-year-old man ends up stabbed twenty eight times in his suburban home which shocks his hometown. His neighbors were equally shocked by the murder and the fact that the man ran a online porn operation from his home. The murder investigation spreads across the country on a manhunt of two former military men, turned male models, turned hustlers, turned porn producers.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew E. Stoner

Leave a Reply