Book Notification

Andrew Fox Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Fat White Vampire Books

Fat White Vampire Blues (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bride of the Fat White Vampire (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fat White Vampire Otaku (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Bad Luck Spirits' Social Aid and Pleasure Club (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronologically, the two storiesBad Luck Spirits' Social Aid and Pleasure Club take place prior to Fat White Vampire Otaku.

Publication Order of Midnight's Inferno Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Abduction (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Good Humor Man (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of Daze (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Dubliners 100(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
All Over Ireland: New Irish Short Stories(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Again, Hazardous Imaginings: More Politically Incorrect Science Fiction(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Seen as one the leading figures currently working within his field, the American writer of genre fiction Andrew Fox has been writing for quite some time now. With a clear understanding of both him and his craft, his voice and style are refreshing, creating something different and interesting, with his trademark wit and articulate storytelling. Building realistic characters around high-concept and imaginative premises, he’s been able to hone his style over the years, thus developing something that is entirely idiosyncratic and unique. A self described ‘geek’ who has been obsessed with horror and science-fiction novels ever since he was a little toddler, he has a particularly distinctive set of interests. Over the years many others have warmed to his style too, allowing him to become a highly sought after name within the industry, reaching readers from all over the world. Seeking inspiration from these genres, he has managed to put his own spin upon them, creating something that’s entirely new in the process, whilst also making way for engaging and interesting stories. Creating a series about vampires alongside titles that follow in a similar vein to the satirical works of Ray Bradbury, he has tapped into something else, whilst achieving an audience that’s global. This is something that’s set to continue on into the foreseeable future for quite some time to come, as his writing career continues to gain more and more traction.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1952, Andrew Fox was an author to come from New Orleans, him being someone who would show a keen interest in both reading and writing from an early age. Most notably, though, would be his interest in horror and science-fiction, something which he would continue to pursue on into his adult career. Working as a public administrator as well as a writer, he has managed to accumulate a lot of experience over his career, as he is a father and husband who continues to write to this present day.

Writing Career

In 2003 the writer Andrew Fox would bring out his first novel titled ‘Fat White Vampire Blues’, which would be a part of the ‘Fat White Vampire’ series of novels. He would later follow this up with ‘Bride of the Fat White Vampire’ in 2004, followed by ‘Abduction’ in 2007, working as a stand-alone entirely on its own. Later on in 2013 he would also go on to start the ‘Midnight’s Inferno’ series with the novel ‘Fire on Iron’ which would come out to much acclaim. With a lot more potential on the horizon, he is definitely a writer to watch in the years to come.

Fat White Vampire Otaku

Originally brought out through the ‘MonstraCity Press’ publishing outlet, this would be released to much eagerness and anticipation, it being the third part in the ongoing ‘Fat White Vampire’ series of novels. Published on the 21st of May in 2014 it would continue in much the same vein as the original, whilst also bringing the series to a satisfying conclusion. It would also provide a whole range of fun new characters, each fully formed with their own personalities and narrative arcs as well.

In what is essentially a genre horror combined with a farce, this is a novel that really showcases the humor of Andrew Fox as an author. With a wide array of madcap characters, it takes the reader on a fun filled rider, never letting up, right until the very last page. Set in the aftermath of a hurricane, this also sees the city of New Orleans used to great effect as well, a place which Fox obviously has a great affinity for.

Having suffered the ravages of the ever fearsome Hurricane Antonia, Jules Duchon and his family of vampires are now struggling to survive within the city of New Orleans. Not knowing where they are going to get their blood from in order to survive following the depopulation of the city, they then meet a trio of Japanese super heroes. Introducing Anime Girl, Bonsai Master and Cutie-Scary Man for the first time, the Duchon family find their blood to have unexpected side-effects upon consumption. How will Jules deal with being transformed into a seven-foot tall white rabbit? Can they survive long enough to find out? What will become of the fat white vampire otaku?

The Good Humor Man

This time released through the ‘Tachyon Publications’ publishing outlet, this particular novel would come out on the 15th of April in 2009 to much acclaim. Not a part of any series, this works as a stand-alone, as it would be one of the earlier novels from Andrew Fox, and it is a definite must for any fans of the author. Showing where he has come from, it not only provides readers with an insight into his development as a writer, but it also provides a fun and entertaining view on contemporary issues of food within society.

This would take its inspiration and lead from such satirical writers as Ray Bradbury with his novel ‘Fahrenheit 451’, which was obviously the template for much of this novel. Taking it forwards, it really excels at shining a light on certain issues currently faced within society, whilst managing it all with good grace and humor. Set in a fantastical science-fictional world that’s not far removed from this one, it really works at what it’s trying to achieve, allowing the reader to gain a fresh and interesting new perspective on the issues presented within.

The book starts out in the year of 2041, as it sees government sanctioned vigilantes known as the ‘Good Humor Men’ roaming the streets looking to confiscate any fast food snacks deemed unhealthy. With a booming black market of unhealthy food, society is facing the possibility of starvation, as a major evil corporation called ‘MannaSantos’ controls the food supplies. Using genetically modified products, there is now the possibility of a mysterious plague that could waste everything and nobody there to stop it, all except one man. Will Dr. Louis Shmalzberg be able to do it? Can he retrieve what’s needed in time? Can he deal with the Good Humor Man?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Fox

Leave a Reply