Book Notification

Andrew Kaplan Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Scorpion Books

Scorpion (1985)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorpion Betrayal (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorpion Winter (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scorpion Deception (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Homeland Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Hour of the Assassins (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dragonfire (1987)Description / Buy at Amazon
War of the Raven (1989)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rogue Warfare (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
Chronology (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blue Madagascar (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Once Upon a Villa (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Kaplan is a noteworthy American author famous for writing spy thriller books. He is particularly popular for writing the Scorpion series. Prior to beginning of his writer, author Kaplan used to do freelance work as a journalist. He has even worked as a war correspondent in Paris for International Herald Tribune. Author Kaplan has involved in both the Israeli and American armies over the course of his journalism career. Author Kaplan began his writing career in the year 1980 with the release of the book called Hour of the Assassins. He was born on May 18, 1941, in Brooklyn, New York. Kaplan completed his schooling from the Stuyvesant High School and then enrolled at the Brooklyn College. Immediately after his graduation, author Kaplan joined the United States Army and served for a short period of time. After his completion of his service period, Kaplan moved to Africa and Europe. There, he worked as war correspondent and freelance journalist. At the time of the Six Day War in 1967, author Kaplan was working for the Israeli Army. He was also engaged in student activities in Israel after getting elected to the post of student leader. Kaplan assisted in starting the Ben Gurion Negev University, which was initially called as the University of Negev. He also helped in laying the foundation of the Israeli fencing team for the Olympics. Author Kaplan graduated from the University of Tel Aviv in 1970. Following this, he earned his MBA degree from the Oregon State University. For a long time, Kaplan has been in the technology business. He has published around 8 international bestselling novels as an author. His books have sold millions of copies throughout the world and have been translated into as many as 22 foreign languages in various countries across the globe.

Apart from Scorpion book, he has also written the Homeland series, which is comprised of only 2 books so far. Kaplan is currently working towards the development of a new book in this series. The first book of this novel series, called Carrie’s Run, was a bestselling original prequel novel to the award winning television series known as Homeland. The second book that author Kaplan wrote in the Homeland series went on to win the Scribe Award in the category of the Best Media Tie In Novel in 2015. Kaplan’s wartime experience helped him bring opportunities to get recruited by the CIA on multiple occasions in the past. However, he did not show any interest in working the American agency. Author Kaplan has performed consultation duties for a few groups, which advise the governments in important matters. Kaplan has also been the president of the technical department of a communications company in United States that used to consult with the leading government agencies and US corporations. In addition to the two bestselling book series, author Kaplan has written a few standalone novels. These consist of the New York Times bestselling books, Dragonfire, War of Raven, and Hour of Assassins. All these books have also been included in the Book of the Month Club’s Main Selection. The War of Raven, in particular, was chosen by the Library Association of America as among the 100 Best world war books. The Suspense Magazine has declared that Kaplan’s Scorpion series matches the level of excellence as that of author Robert Ludlum. In fact, the magazine has even claimed that the some part of series surpass even Ludlum’s works. Another important work of author Kaplan includes screenwriting for a James Bond television classic called ‘Goldeneye’.

The Scorpion series written by Andrew Kaplan is comprised of a total of 4 books, which were released between the years 1985 and 2013. An initial book of this series is entitled ‘Scorpion Betrayal’. It was released by the Harper publication in the year 2012. Author Kaplan has set the book’s plot in Cario, Egypt, and Middle East. At the start of the story, it is shown that a State Internal Security’s head from Egypt gets cruelly murdered in a cafe in Cairo. It is learned that the murderer is a faceless killer, known by the name ‘the Palestinian’. The murder of the head turns out to be a starting move in a more chilling terror game that catches the community of international intelligence off-guard completely. Now, the CIA looks to the only man they trust can get to the roots of this nightmarish mystery. This man is a former operative of the Company called Scorpion. The hunt for the deadly faceless killer leads Scorpion Middle Eastern countries to the highly dangerous underworld in the capital cities of Europe. Noe, as the free world’s fate lies on the shoulders of 2 well matched adversaries, there can’t be any margin of error. The determined Scoprion seems to be kept unaware about a shocking truth. Also, there is the beauty factor that appears to make him bling in the ultimate chase. But, Scorpion’s wit and intelligence are known to be of the superior qualities and cannot be matched by anyone. He knows very well how to come out of difficult situations and take control of the proceedings.

Another thrilling crime fiction book published in this novel series is called ‘Scorpion Deception’. The Harper publishers released this book too in 2013. At the beginning of the book, it is depicted that the former CIA operative Scorpion has now become a freelance agent. He is in the hunt of an unknown enemy, who is a mysterious man from Iran popular with the name ‘the Gardner’. Later, it is learned that some important files containing classified information about the assets of CIA get stolen from the embassy of United States in Switzerland. The team that carries out the theft is a well trained and well armed hit squad. The CIA faces intense pressure from all sides to find the people who carried out the attack. Subsequently, they turn towards the deadliest agent known to them, the Scorpion. However, Scorpion does not show any intention of getting involved in this case of the CIA. But, when he comes to know that his name is on the top of the list stolen by the hit squad, he does not have any other option, but to agree to hunt them down. For this, the intelligent, lethal, and strong action hero is required to visit Iran and try to find the man posing as the Gardner. And he has to find him soon or else an all out war could erupt, which will be unstoppable even by the best of the intelligence agencies.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Kaplan

Leave a Reply