Book Notification

Andrew Martin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Jim Stringer Books

The Necropolis Railway (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blackpool Highflyer (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Lost Luggage Porter (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Murder at Deviation Junction (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on a Branch Line (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Train to Scarborough (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Somme Stations (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Baghdad Railway Club (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Train to Jamalpur (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

UndergroundOverground (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flight By Elephant (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Belles and Whistles (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night Trains (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Seats of London (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Steam Trains Today (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Granta 89: The Factory(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Andrew Martin

British author known throughout the press for his various contributions and columns, Andrew Martin is an intelligent and articulate writer. Known primarily as a journalist prior to turning to writing fiction, he is a prolific and insightful writer who is highly regarded for both his wit and his style. Able to turn a phrase upon its head, he really gets to the heart of what it is that he’s writing about, giving the reader the full scope of the subject matter in the process. This has also allowed him to become highly adept at writing for a large public audience, something he does on a regular and consistent basis. Witty as he is concise, he always has something to say, with a personality and real sense of purpose deep at the heart of all of his work.

Famous for writing crime fiction as well, he’s extremely well versed in creating a sense of drama and tension too. Producing a number of iconic characters over the course of his writing career too, he’s established some creations that will live on for generations to come. This is something that shall continue for many years to follow, as there’s plenty more planned for him as a writer in the future.

Early and Personal Life

Born in 1962 on the 6th of July, Andrew Martin would grow up in the vicinity of Yorkshire in the United Kingdom, where he was born and raised. Growing up with a strong passion for literature, he would continue to nurture this over time, learning the craft through much of his formative years. This would soon start to evolve into his pursuing of a career in journalism, which would allow him to find his voice as a writer.

Studying at Merton College in Oxford, he would soon qualify as a barrister, and this would soon lead to him becoming freelance journalist. Writing for a number of different publications, he would extend both his brand and his reputation, which would soon reach a worldwide audience. Now living in North London with his sons and wife, he continues to write regularly, with his writing career growing from strength-to-strength.

Writing Career

Andrew Martin would rise in prominence as a writer of fiction after releasing his first debut novel in 1999, which was titled Bilton. This would provide a comic humorous reflection on his time working as a journalist, as he took a somewhat fictional look into the world. Later he would come to write his second novel titled ‘The Bobby Dazzlers’ in 2002, which would win the ‘Spectator Young Writer of the Year’ that year. He would also soon go on to writer the ‘Jim Stringer, Steam Detective’ series of novels, which he would first release in 2002, running for over nine novels so far and counting. There would also be a number of non-fiction titles written under his name too, and he has also made various appearances on the radio and on the BBC, including various other outlets throughout the media.

Death on a Branch Line

First published in 2008 on the 5th of June, this would mark the fifth title in the ongoing ‘Jim Stringer’ series of books. Continuing the franchise in much the same vein as before, it would initially be brought out through the ‘Faber Faber’ publishing outlet. Seeking to develop the series and the character overall, it manages to provide many unique twists and turns of its own along the way too.

A clever and taut crime thriller from Andrew Martin, this is a well researched historical novel from the highly versatile author. Bringing the eponymous detective Jim Stringer to the forefront once again, he manages to develop his character even more than before. The world itself is also extremely well established, as Martin keeps the reader constantly guessing right until the very last page. Not only that, but all the other secondary characters feel extremely well realized too, allowing them each to have their own unique and distinctive personality and voice as well.

Set in the summer of 1911, this sees a rich young aristocrat delivered into the custody of one detective Jim Stringer late one Friday evening. Charged with the murder of his own father, the young man lives in the quiet village of Adenwold, and Jim is told there will soon be another murder by the man. Believing that his own brother, a prominent yet reclusive intellectual, the man believes the killer will strike again in the same village as before. Arriving at Adenwold with his wife, Jim fast finds himself submerged in a conspiracy, as he soon learns that the web of lies extend to an international scale. Will he be able to find the real killer and bring them to justice before it’s too late? Can he discover the truth behind the lies? What actually happened with the death on a branch line?

The Bobby Dazzlers

Originally released in 2002 on the 8th of July, this would come out as a stand-alone novel from Andrew Martin, not being a part of any series as such. Working essentially as a comedy thriller, it manages to combine both levity and tension in equal measure, playing the two off against one another. This then allowed it to become recognized by the wider literary community at large, as it would go on to become a widely regarded great early entry into the author’s writing career.

The crack four-man squad known of as ‘The Bobby Dazzlers’ are a ragtag group, and fickle when it comes to attempting to commit any type of burglary. Following the progress as they stumble ever forwards, this group of anti-heroes are the last people to call when hoping to strike it rich. Getting lost in a rich thriller, losing themselves into the underworld, they try their best to keep their heads above water at all times. Taking place in Yorkshire, these media-friendly group come up against all manner of eccentric obstacles, as they attempt to make sense of it all. Will they manage to find what it is that they’re searching for? Can they make that one big hit? What will become of The Bobby Dazzlers?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Martin

Leave a Reply