Book Notification

Andrew Quiller Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Gladiator/The Eagles Books

The Hill of the Dead (1975)Description / Buy at Amazon
Land of Mist (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
City of Fire (1976)Description / Buy at Amazon
Blood on the Sand (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon
Sea of Swords (1977)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Quiller is a house name (which is a collective pseudonym) that many different ghost writers use, writers like Angus Wells, Kenneth Bulmer, and Laurence James.

The name has been used to write the “Gladiator” series, which beganin the year 1975 with the release of “The Hill of the Dead”. In the United Kingdom the series was published under the name of “The Eagle” series.

The series ended after five books in the year 1977 with the release of “Sea of Swords”. In both 1976 and 1977, two books were released in each of the years.

“The Hill of the Dead” is the first novel in the “Gladiator” series and was released in the year 1975. Vulpus the Fox (this is his gladiator name, also named Marcus Julius Brittanicus) is fighting someone to the death. He is just about to strike a killing blow, and finally recognizes his opponent.

Then, he starts remembering all about how he first met Samuel ben Ezra. Then, he comes back to the present tense, and whether or not he will actually kill his buddy or not.

Readers love all of the bloodshed and action found within this book’s pages; these stories really are not for any squeamish readers out there. Fans of the novel found that they could not wait to read more from this incredible series. Here are some fun novels that provide a nice way to spend some reading time. The way the majority of the story taking place in the main character’s mind, and whether or not he will kill his friend was something that some readers found quite an interesting and novel concept that was pretty well executed.

“The Land of Mist” is the second novel in the “Gladiator” series and was released in the year 1976. Marcus Julius Brittanicus is a darling of the Roman society after Marcus’ daring defiance about death in the Circus Maximus. It is here that his impeccable good looks and violence excite some who were long ago jaded by things like wealth and decadence.

His lust to get vengeance feature one target more than any other he had pursued before. Marcus commits to avenge Princess Iceni (his gorgeous and proud mom) after her violation by his own Roman officers.

Armed with knife, sword, and a killing rage, he goes off on a killing spree. By getting his revenge, he will find his manhood in all of its glory.

These novels are hard to put down works that are way too short, but full of action throughout. Here was a book that was simply a thrill ride that finds readers rooting for Marcus to get his much deserved revenge against the people that harmed his mother. Fans of the novel enjoyed this one the most out of the books in the series. Some cannot wait to read more of the books in the series, and did what the first one did well once again to great effect. These books show that they have really know how to write for Marcus’ character, and always give him strong material to show what a great character he is.

“City of Fire” is the third novel in the “Gladiator” series and was released in the year 1976. Marcus is hunting down the remaining three men on his vengeance quest.

He is commissioned by one of his superior officers to kill two of the men in Pompeii. To kill one of the men, he has to make it look like it was an accident, and gets pretty creative to do it, just by using what is handy. Vesuvius is just about ready to blow, will he be able to achieve everything he came to Pompeii to escape the fiery death that Pompeii will become?

Yet another great book in a stellar series that some readers simply cannot get enough of. Readers finish one book and are off to the races on the next one in the series. It is such a killer series that hooked them in, right from the beginning of the first book and has not let them go, three books later. Fans of the novel found that this one made them want to see if Marcus could get out before Vesuvius went off. They also liked how Marcus was able to kill one of the people he wanted revenge against, as it was quite a brutal fashion.

“Blood on the Sand” is the fourth novel in the “Gladiator” series and was released in the year 1977. Marcus is looking to finish up the work he started in the first three books, and asks the emperor for a boon. The emperor then asks one of Marcus. It would seem that their intentions coincide.

In this book, the reader also gets to see how Marcus started fighting as a gladiator in the first place.

This author does a great job penning this incredible and violent and sexual series. The books are always hard to put down, full of action, and a great character (Marcus) that is really likable the entire time. Fans of the novel enjoy reading about the way Marcus does things; they are both gorey and inventive. They cannot help but root for him as he is going off on the war path to get his revenge. Some liked seeing his journey becoming a gladiator. Some hope that Marcus will keep on coming back for more and more books.

“Sea of Swords” is the fifth novel in the “Gladiator” series and was released in the year 1977. Here is the final installment to the series, although this is not the end of the fighting. At least that is what Vulpus the Fox says in the conclusion of the book.

This is a great series that stars a stellar main character in Marcus (or Vulpus); whatever the name you call him, he kicks a lot of ass throughout these books, but still has a strong heart, too. This was exemplified when he chose not to kill his friend. Fans of the novel could not read these books any faster, they already read them in under a day as it is. This was a great ride, and enjoyable the entire way through. Some wish that there were more books in this series, because they enjoyed them that much.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Quiller

Leave a Reply