Book Notification

Andrew Rowe Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Arcane Ascension Books

Sufficiently Advanced Magic (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
On the Shoulders of Titans (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Torch That Ignites the Stars (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Silence of Unworthy Gods (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Lost Edge Books

Edge of the Woods (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shattered Legacy Books

with Kayleigh Nicol
Crystal Awakening (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Phantom Chamber (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The War of Broken Mirrors Books

Forging Divinity (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stealing Sorcery (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Defying Destiny (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Weapons and Wielders Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

How to Defeat a Demon King in Ten Easy Steps (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Art of War(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
When Swords Fall Silent: An Assassination Anthology(2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Rowe is a self-published author that writes fantasy novels. Rowe is best known for the Sufficiently Advanced Magic Series.


Andrew Rowe is a professional game designer. The author has had the opportunity to work with companies like Blizzard Entertainment, and his writing career has grown in tandem with his profession as a game designer.

Andrew Rowe has been writing and telling stories since he was a child. The desire to explore fantasy struck him in elementary school when he came across the ‘Dragonlance’ novels by Weis and Hickman.

It was around that time that the author was introduced to Dungeons and Dragons. And it wasn’t long after that Rowe began writing his own stories. The author’s writing habit drew him further into the RPG arena.

As a Middle School kid, Andrew Rowe helped his friends run Dungeons and Dragons Campaigns. He also participated in many a live-action RPG. These games, though seemingly childish and silly to his guardians at the time, provided a platform through which Rowe honed his storytelling abilities.

He learned to create characters and craft plots. He learned to pace stories and to manipulate conflicts in a manner that delivered character development. By the time he was in college, Rowe was heavily steeped in the world of RPGs.

He also worked with entities like White Wolf who specialize in RPG literature, making submissions for characters and monsters that eventually appeared in their books. By the time he went into the employment pool, Andrew Rowe knew where his talents lay.

He had a knack for creating and drawing interesting creatures and characters, and he knew he would thrive in the game designing arena. So he pursued the field, eventually landing a position with Blizzard.

It didn’t take long for the company to recognize his writing talents and inject him into some of their writing projects. Rowe thrived in that environment for quite a while, with his employers making effective use of his creative energies.

But it soon became clear that the author’s passion for writing novels was greater than his interest in crunching numbers for games. So he left the game designing field and became a full-time writer.

As is often the case for new writers, it didn’t take Rowe long to realize that success wouldn’t automatically fall into his lap. The author was pretty enthusiastic when he first started out, churning out stories and submitting them to agents and publishers. But that enthusiasm slowly but surely gave way to despair when he began to accumulate rejection letters.

Eventually, Rowe gave up. He went back into the gaming industry, and things proceeded well enough for him. He found writing work with companies like ‘Obsidian’. And the game design arena gave him plenty of opportunities to write.

He participated in projects that saw him produce lengthy histories for gaming characters and worlds. He also worked on manuscripts and guides for RPGs. But none of those accomplishments satisfied him.

Andrew Rowe wanted to produce his own original fantasy fiction novels. And when that realization finally struck him, he made the decision to cast traditional publishing aside. He decided that he would go the self-publishing route. That way he could tell the stories he wanted to tell without any interference from agents, editors or publishers.

By 2015, Andrew Rowe had written and published ‘Forging Divinity’, his first novel. The story for the book was initially intended for a pen-and-paper game that Rowe had been working on.

Once he decided to self-publish, Rowe simply built upon the foundations he had planted years earlier, turning what might have been an RPG campaign into a series of novels.

Andrew Rowe looks to authors like Brandon Sanderson and Joe Abercrombie for inspiration. Rowe’s goal is to create worlds where the magic systems have clearly defined rules and restrictions, which is something Sanderson does very well.

The author also enjoys creating morally gray characters who struggle to do the right thing, which is an area where Joe Abercrombie excels.

When Rowe has a novel in the works, he tries to contribute to its manuscript on a regular basis. However, that isn’t always possible. The success the author has attained in self-publishing hasn’t stopped him from pursuing his game designing work.

Rowe is also pretty active on the RPG scene. As such, Rowe will spend most days of the week writing for those areas. For that reason, the author tends to reserve the weekends for his novels. When Rowe does settle down to write for his novels on the weekends, his goal is to produce several thousand words in any given writing session.

Despite the success he has received since his indie publishing career kicked off in 2015, Rowe has not attempted to leverage his renown for an opportunity to enter the traditional publishing industry.

Andrew Rowe has found that he enjoys the control indie publishing gives him over his intellectual property. He also retains the majority of his profits. Though, the author has not ruled out the idea of becoming a traditionally published author down the line.

+Sufficiently Advanced Magic

The Serpent Spire is a target for every aspiring adventurer looking to win big overnight. A tower of considerable size, the Serpent Spire plays host to a litany of dangers. However, surviving the tower also means gaining a magical ability, and those who make it to the top are guaranteed a powerful blessing by a goddess.

Corin Cadence’s brother went into the tower and never came back. Now Corin is determined to go in after him. But he knows he will need all the training and allies he can get if he wants to make it to the top.

+Stealing Sorcery

Three immortal sorcerers toppled a great empire and became legends. Their children haven’t been quite as blessed. Lydia Hastings is a sorceress that has been called upon to investigate the son of Edrick Theas, now the victim of a murder.

Lydia’s investigation reveals that Edrick’s firstborn was killed by a creature of immense power. So she seeks out the assistance of Jonan Kestrian, a spy who, while dubious in his loyalties, has knowledge that Lydia needs.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Rowe

Leave a Reply