Book Notification

Andrew Sean Greer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Arthur Less Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Path of Minor Planets (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Confessions of Max Tivoli (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Story of a Marriage (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Impossible Lives of Greta Wells (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Calypso's Guest (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

My Mother and Other Wild Animals (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Fight of the Century(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Writer's Library(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best American Short Stories 2022(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Sean Greer is an American author of fiction as well as short stories. He was born on January 1, 1970, in Washington D.C., as was his identical twin.

Andrew Sean Greer is a best selling writer. His novel The Story of a Marriage has received major acclaim from critics and his books have been named to many best book lists and he has even won an award for his second book, a California Book Award as well as a mention from the San Francisco Chronicle.

Greer is not only a writer but the child of scientists. Greer ended up going to Brown University, where he studied writing. At his graduation, he was the commencement speaker and his spontaneous remarks about the admissions policies at the school nearly caused a riot.

Andrew lived in New York for years where he tried to make a living doing everything from theater tech operation to being a chauffeur as well as an extra on television shows and a writer (which was not successful at first). Giving up on the Big Apple for a time, he ended up moving to the unlikely city of Missoula in Montana (known as big sky country).

There he attended higher learning at the University of Montana, where he studied for and received his Master of Fine Arts. He then made a move to the west coast, choosing to go to Seattle. From there it was just a short jump as he went to San Francisco in California to check it out for a while. Greer now resides there. He has written not only novels but short stories and his work has made it to several national publications.

The Path of Minor Planets was his first book and it came out in 2001. The story is set all the way back in 1965. Cut to a South Pacific island that is quite small. A bunch of astronomers have come out to witness what will be a comet passing through the night sky.

It’s supposed to be a scientific event. However, things take a turn in tone when the meteor shower also coincides with the death of a young boy. Once this happens everyone’s lives are changed eventually in ways both large and small.

When it comes to Denise, she craves the respect from others in her profession. Her working life means a lot to her and she just wants to be seen as an equal by the men. Then again, she has no idea that the married man Eli is actually developing feelings for her. Eli is falling for Denise for all of the reasons that she might not even believe if she heard them– her mind, her intelligence, her grace.

At the same time, Lydia is trying to get out from under the long shadows that are cast by the majority of the scientists there. She’s trying to make her own mark, but can she find her way in the world or will it eat her up and spit her out?

This first book is a search through love and loss and of what taking chances can do for you– and how they can work against you as well. Set in a time period where the scientific world was taking off and all sorts of new discoveries were being made, the reader will see just how these characters struggle to adapt to change.

What will they do in the end and how will Lydia, Eli, and Denise all fare in this time period and at this stage of their lives? These extraordinary characters come to life in this intriguing debut story from talented writer Andrew Greer.

Greer’s second fictional book came out in 2004 and is titled The Confessions of Max Tivoli. The winner of awards, this book starts off with a narration and a narrator that relays a love story that is certain to make you shed a tear.

We are all someone’s deepest love at the end of the day. The main character of Max was born with a unique condition that causes him to appear physically to others in the form of an old man. Instead of looking naturally young, he instead looks very old.

Max is growing up in his mind just at the right age, but it seems that his body has not gotten the message. For whatever reason, it just started as an old man and now he is getting younger with every passing year. He is physically just going in the reverse and defying biological clocks all over the world.

Even though his form and condition may at first seem like a bad thing, the truth is that he is actually gaining a lot from that. Max’s sickness is a blessing that lets him fall in love with a woman and she does not recognize him along the way, so that he tries to earn her heart every time and she does not know it is the same person.

Max is a stranger but maybe the years will finally line up where he is the same age as this woman. Can he find another chance at love in the twentieth century as they move into the modern age? Will she ever love him or has he been chasing after someone that he can never get?

You’re going to have to read this strange and enchanting novel by Greer to find out! Pick it up from your local book store or library and find out for yourself all of the charms and the enjoyment that this writer brings to a story that covers the span of time and the very thing that makes all of us feel human underneath.

Even though the plot and characters of this book may sound very similar to the Benjamin Button movie starring Brad Pitt, that movie claims that its inspiration came from a 1922 story written by F. Scott Fitzgerald. The fact that it is very similar may just be a coincidence. Check out just how much they have in common if you have seen the movie by picking up ‘Tivoli’ from Greer today!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Sean Greer

Leave a Reply