Book Notification

Andrew Smith Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Grasshopper Jungle Books

Grasshopper Jungle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Exile from Eden: Or, After the Hole (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Marbury Lens Books

Publication Order of Sam Abernathy Books

The Size of the Truth (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bye-bye, Blue Creek (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Winger Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Ghost Medicine (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Path of Falling Objects (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stick (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
100 Sideways Miles (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Alex Crow (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Rabbit & Robot (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Pet Therapist (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Because You Love to Hate Me(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andrew Smith is an award-winning and bestselling author of young adult fiction novels. Growing up, and particularly while serving as the editor of his high school magazine, he was convinced that he would become a professional novelist.
Following his graduation from college, he first began working for radio stations and newspapers but never loved any of that.

Andrew always had wanderlust as he was born to an immigrant father. Over the years he bounced from job to job including working as an importer of vehicles from Japan, unloading bananas as a longshoreman, working at a metals mill, as a musician, and in security before settling in California.

It was in Southern California that he found his first serious job working for an At Risk teens alternative education program as a teacher. It was also during this time that he got married and moved to the rural mountains where his job was located.
Throughout his life, he never stopped writing even though publishing was never on his mind. It was not until Kelly Milner Halls a lifelong friend challenged him that he decided to publish his first manuscript.
In 2008, he published the Best Book for Young Adults YALSA/ALA award-winning novel “Ghost Medicine.”

Growing up, Andrew Smith used to be a loner with very few close friends. He believes this was because he used to be much younger than the other learners in his class and thus had few in common with them. As such, he used to read a lot, particularly in high school which is when he also started to write.

He always knew he desired to become a writer but could not put his finger on why he loved writing so much. Unlike other people, writing was not about making money and he never believed he could make a career out of it.

Smith went to college in southern California where he was very active playing soccer among several other sports. Unlike most people, he never had the privilege of inspiring or significant adult influences during this time.

However, he still remembers when his English teacher asked the class to write a short story. The teacher gave his story an F grade since it was so good that she never believed a student his age could have penned it. She truly believed, he had copied it from somewhere else and this had a profound impact on the still-developing author.

Andrew Smith would prove his teacher and every doubter wrong as he went on to become an award-winning author of critically acclaimed young adult fiction. His best-known work has to be the 2015-published “Grasshopper Jungle,” which won several prestigious awards.
Having spent his formative years wandering all over the globe and going to college to study Literature, Journalism, and Political Science, he would establish himself as an author.

Some of the awards that he has won include the Michael Prints Honor Book, the Best Foreign Young Adults award by the Young Adult Library Services Association, and the Editor’s Choice Award by Booklist in 2010.
Andrew Smith currently makes his home in Southern California as he loves the rural settings and particularly the isolated and secluded feel. He lives with his wife their 13-year-old daughter and 16-year-old son, Leo their irritable lizard, two horses, three cats, and three dogs.

Outside of his writing, Andrew Smith still loves traveling. In fact, he uses some of his travels as part of the research for his novels.
He has asserted that he has a belief that travel and books are two of the most enriching modes through which someone can get an education. He also finds that working with kids provides endless information and inspiration for his writing career.

“The Marbury Lens” by Andrew Smith is the story of Jack, a young man that goes on a drunken binge one night. He ends up wandering into the street where he is taken by Freddie Horvath a well-known creeper. The creeper tortures and tries to rape Jack but the latter somehow manages to escape.

The following night, Jack and Conner his friend are involved in a terrible crime. Soon after, they head to England as they pretend they have not committed any crime. However, as soon as Jack lands in the United Kingdom, he meets a stranger that gives him some glasses.
These glasses transport him to Marbury, a horrifying post-apocalyptic world where he is charged with ensuring the safety of two younger boys. His friend can also go to the strange world of Marbury but in that alternate reality, they soon find themselves on opposite sides fighting a war.
This work is the finest of fantasy realism as it tells an intricate story in an interesting and intriguing way. The work forces one to question what matters, what is real, and what is not real. Still, it does make for a perplexing but exciting hell of a ride that is dangerously addictive and unputdownable.

Andrew Smith’s novel “Passenger” tells the story of Jack whose repressed feelings turned into the desolate wasteland of Marbury. In that world, Jack and Conner his best friend in addition to the two kids he is charged with protecting are different versions of themselves.
Despite the desolation and violence, Marbury turns out to be an addictive place and the four protagonists find themselves going back there over and over. However, Conner and Jack are about to join a school in England in a few months yet they are the ones who possess the lens that grants access to Marbury.

Since the two Boys Griffin and Ben do not want to lose access to the world of Marbury, they break the access lens in half and make away with one. However, they soon discover that breaking the lens in half had shattered the entire world of Marbury.

The four boys now find themselves split up at different times and places as they jump from places that are not England, not California, not Marbury, and Marbury. Everywhere they are lost, isolated, and scared and they can never know if they will get back to the real world as often everything seems like a hostile puzzle.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andrew Smith

Leave a Reply