Book Notification

Andromeda Romano-Lax Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Sea Kayaking In Baja (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Walking Southeast Alaska (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
How To Rent A Public Cabin In Southcentral Alaska (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Adventure Kayaking (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Alaska's Kenai Peninsula (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Searching for Steinbeck's Sea of Cortez (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Denali: A Living Tapestry (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kenai Fjords National Park (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Tongass National Forest (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andromeda Romano-Lax
Andromeda Romano-Lax was born in the year 1970 and is originally from Chicago, Illinois. She has worked as a travel writer and freelance journalist before she turned to writing fiction.

For her novel “Plum Rains”, she pulled inspiration from her family’s experience of living in rural Taiwan.

Outside of writing, Andromeda also enjoys classical cello, traveling, running, learning new languages, sea kayaking, and cooking.

During her teenage years, she tried writing the first pages of novels, shapeless short stories, and travel journals. She sold her first articles to Seventeen when she was around that age, which started her on the path to freelance writing for magazines, something she finds was a terrifying and thrilling experience for her.

Andromeda never studied writing during her college years because she thought that everybody writes, that everybody should and is able to write. She never believed it was a separate field, just an extension of somebody’s natural desire to think, remember, and imagine on paper. She came up with the idea to study anything and everything but writing; things like: history, economics, psychology, politics, and biology.

Urges to write were not about achieving some preconceived goal or power, they weren’t even about expressing herself. It was more about noticing more, and feeling more engaged and alive with the real world.

She got the idea for “Behave” while at a cocktail party, and heard about Rosalie Watson. She learned that Rosalie helped her more famous husband do rather alarming research on babies. It made her want to know who she was, what happened to her later, and how she felt about the work she was doing.

“The Spanish Bow” was picked as a BookSense pick, New York Times Editors Choice, and one of Library Journal’s Best Books of the Year. The novel was also a semi-finalist for the VCU Cabell First Novelist Award in the year 2008. The novel was also translated into eleven languages.

Andromeda’s debut novel, called “The Spanish Bow”, was released in the year 2007. She writes historical fiction, science fiction, and non-fiction.

“The Spanish Bow” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2007. Set between 1892 and 1940 in Spain, Germany, and France.

Feliu Delargo is born in Spain during the late-nineteenth century, in less than happy circumstances, as he is born to a Spain that slips from international power and fights with its own fractured identity, caught between the chaos of impending Civil war and post-empire. Feliu’s rough childhood and rise up to fame, including his musical apprenticeships in anarchist Barcelona as well as at the ill-fated Madrid royal court. It leads him into a rocky partnership with Justa Al-Cerraz the piano prodigy, an eccentric and even more famous figure.

These two musicians’ divergent political inclinations and artistic goals threaten to divide both of them while Spain plunges right into a Civil War. While this Civil War turns into World War, shared love for Aviva, an Italian violinist and their trio partner, forces them right into their most dangerous and last collaboration.

“The Detour” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2012. Ernest Vogler is twenty-four years old in the year 1938 when he gets sent to Rome by the Third Reich’s Sonderprojekt, his employer, which collects the great art works of Europe and takes it back for the Fuhrer in Germany. Vogler is to collect one famous Classical Roman marble statue, called The Discus Thrower, and take it to the German border. Here it will be taken into Gestapo custody. It is to be three-day and simple work.

Things start going wrong just about immediately. The Italian twin brothers hired to escort Vogler to the border apparently have other priorities than their task- wild romances, possibly even criminal side jobs- and he quickly loses all control over the assignment. The twins go off on a dangerous detour and Vogler realizes that he is going to be lucky just to escape this venture with his life, much less his job. Without anything left to lose, the young German decides to give himself up to the Italian adventure, to the inevitable losses and surprising love along the way.

“Behave” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. John B. Watson, founder of behaviorist psychology and whose parenting guide was revered as being the child-rearing bible. Rosalie Rayner, the mother of two of John B. Watson’s kids and his ambitious young wife.

In the year 1920, after graduating from Vassar College, Rosalie was ready to put her own mark on the world. Beautiful, intelligent, and unflappable, and got a coveted research position at Johns Hopkins, helping John B. Watson, the charismatic celebrity psychologist. Together, Rayner and Watson perform controversial experiments on hundreds of babies in order to prove behaviorist principles.

They also have a scandalous affair that costs them their job. It also recasts sparkling young Rosalie Rayner, thinker and scientist, as Mrs. John Watson, wife and maligned and conflicted mom. Now she is just another “woman behind a great man”.

“Plum Rains” is the fourth stand alone novel and was released in the year 2018. Angelica Navarro, who is a Filipina nurse that has been in Tokyo, Japan for the previous five years, is caretaker to Sayoko Itou, who is an intensely private woman close that is about to have her one hundredth birthday. Angelica is a dedicated nurse, works day and night in order to keep her paperwork in order, study for her ongoing proficiency tests, obey the rather strict labor laws for foreign nationals, and keep her demanding client as happy as possible.

One day, Sayoko gets a present from her son: it is a cutting edge robot caretaker capable of educating itself to anticipate any of Sayoko’s needs. Angelica wonders if she is going to be forced out of her much-needed job by this inanimate object, one with a preternatural ability to discover the most deeply hidden secrets of the humans around it.

As Angelica fights back against the AI with every one of her resources, Sayoko gets increasingly attached to the machine. The old lady hides many secrets of her own, and she might be getting to old too want to keep them any longer.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andromeda Romano-Lax

Leave a Reply