Book Notification

Andy Straka Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Dragonflies Books

Shadow of Drones (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flock of Angels (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Frank Pavlicek Mysteries Books

A Witness Above (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Killing Sky (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cold Quarry (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kitty Hitter / The Night Falconer (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Flightfall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The K Street Hunting Society (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Jesus Spares Mystery Books

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Record of Wrongs (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Blue Hallelujah (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Directions For Disassembly Of An Old Set Of Swings (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

...And the Dying is Easy(2001)Description / Buy at Amazon

Andy Straka is an award winning novelist best known for his bestselling novels in the “Frank Pavlicek” series of novels.

He started out as a medical equipment salesman who decided to go back to his roots. Years earlier he had been an English major as he always wanted to become an author before he found success as a medical equipment salesman.

The first hint that he would one day become the author he is came when he was just four. It was at this tender age that he was found at a neighbor’s back door with a huge butcher’s knife. Thankfully, the neighbor decided to not call social services, preferring his mother.

The longtime husband, licensed falconer and former college basketball player, Andy Straka grew up in Upstate New York alongside his twin brother.

He went to college at William College where he was captain of the basketball team . It was at the college where he met his wife who has been with him for more than three decades. Together they have five children spaced out across sixteen years.

Straka has been featured in a “Publishers Weekly” list of rising stars in the crime fiction genre. He has over the years won many awards including an Anthony and Agatha Award.

Straka has also been called a first rate thriller author by “Mystery Scene” magazine.

Over the years, Andy Straka has worked in different roles in the publishing industry and outside it.

Among his many jobs include private investigator, book editor, assistant manager at McDonalds, consulting vice president for a physicians practice, pharmaceutical and surgical implant sales representative, manuscript acquisition and college textbook sales representative among many others.

He is also the co-founder of the “Virginia Festival of the Book,” a popular book festival.

He currently makes his home in Virginia from where he pens his bestselling titles.

Andy Straka’s novel “A Witness Above” introduces Frank Pavlicek, a former NYPD Detective that had left the force more than a dozen years ago. He had been forced to leave after the shooting of an unarmed African American teenager who lost his life.

Pavlicek is a divorced single father with a daughter, who now earns a living hunting with a trained falcon and as a private investigator.

While he is out hunting, he stumbles upon the body of an African American teen drug dealer who may be known to his daughter. Unable to ignore the link to the shooting that cost him his job, he decides to find the truth by tracking the killer.

He hopes that by doing so he can put the past to rest and save his daughter.

It is an excellent mystery with enough turns and twists to keep one flipping through the pages.

“A Killing Sky” by Andy Straka still continues to follow the life and times of Frank Pavlicek the private investigator.

He just got a newspaper article in the mail telling him of a hit and run incident. Cassidy Drummond, the woman who had sent it, is interested in finding Cartwright, her sister who has gone missing. Cartwright and Cassidy are not ordinary sisters as they are the twin children of Drummond the Congressman.
It does seem that there could be some dark secrets and scandal that could be brought to light by Pavlicek’s investigation. The Congressman’s dirty secret has been unearthed and now everyone knows he was cheating on his wife.

This turn of events would eventually result in the congressman getting divorced. But it was just the beginning of what would become an even bigger scandal after Wright went missing in mysterious circumstances.

Andy Straka’s novel “A Cold Quarry” opens to Frank Pavlicek finding Chester Carew, a fellow falconer and old friend, dead on his property. Elo his falcon is nowhere to be found.

Law enforcement is convinced the man was involved in a hunting accident but his wife would hear none of it and hence hires Pavlicek to investigate. He is not interested in taking her money but when her banker says he will fund the investigation, his curiosity could not have been more piqued.

Frank is helped by his daughter who is now at college in addition to his ex partner Jake. But the latter seems to be hiding something about the case and Frank is not so sure what it could be.

The body count rises even as Frank questions suspects and witnesses and finally concludes that what happened could not have been an accident. Still the motive for the killing remains unclear.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Andy Straka

Leave a Reply