Book Notification

Angela Marchmont Mystery Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Angela Marchmont Mystery Books

The Murder at Sissingham Hall (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Mystery at Underwood House (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Treasure at Poldarrow Point (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Riddle at Gipsy's Mile (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Incident at Fives Castle (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Imbroglio at the Villa Pozzi (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Problem at Two Tithes (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Trouble at Wakeley Court (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Scandal at 23 Mount Street (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Angela's Christmas Adventure (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Man on the Train (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Question of Hats (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Shadow at Greystone Chase (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Body on Archangel Beach (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Angela Marchmont Mystery series by Clara Benson
Author Clara Benson writes the “Angela Marchmont” series of mystery novels. The series began publication in the year 2013, when “The Murder At Sissingham Hall” was released.

The series is set during the 1920s and are whodunit mystery murder stories. Each of the novels stars Angela Marchmont, an amateur detective who ends up working on solving murder mysteries. She is described as thirty-something, and attractive.

“The Murder At Sissingham Hall” is the first novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2013. After returning from South Africa, Charles Knox is invited to spend a weekend at the country home of Sir Neville Strickland. His beautiful wife Rosamund was Knox’s fiancee at one point. In the dead of night Sir Neville is killed. Who did it?

While suspicion falls on each one of the guests in turn, Knox finds he is being faced with deception and betrayal on all sides, and the mysterious Angela Marchmont appears to offer a solution to this mystery.

The novel does a good job of making it feel like it was written during the period, with its authentic dialogue and some Christie-esque characters. Readers were entertained and enjoyed seeing just how the case would be solved. Everybody’s backstory was brought out well, particularly Charles and Rosamund’s.

“The Mystery At Underwood House” is the second novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2013. Old Philip Haynes was happiest when members of his family were at each other’s throats. Even after his death the terms of his will made sure they would keep fighting.

Now, however, three people are dead and accusations have been flying. Can there really be a killer in the family? Torn between both duty and friendship, Angela Marchmont has to learn the truth before the killer is able to strike again.

Fans liked the complex plotting, the deeper development of Angela’s character, and the solution is hidden well. Angela proves herself to be quite the clever lady in this very well written mystery, with a plot that is thickened because of its multitude of suspects.

“The Treasure At Poldarrow Point” is the third novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2013. Angela Marchmont goes off to Cornwall on doctor’s orders she looks forward to just rest and just some sea-bathing for her excitement. Her plans for a peaceful vacation are derailed when she gets caught up in a quest for a diamond necklace which, according to local legend, has been hidden in the old smugglers’ house up at Poldarrow Point for over a hundred years.

Helped by an irrepressible twelve year old (Angela’s god-daughter), the elderly owner of the house, and one handsome Scotland Yard detective, Angela quickly finds herself getting tangled up in this most puzzling of mysteries. Why is somebody breaking into the house during the night? Who wrote the anonymous letters? Could it possibly be true that there is a notorious jewel-thief after the treasure too? Angela has to use all of her deductive powers to solve the case and locate the necklace. And all before somebody else can.

Fans found Angela is starting to shine, as she turns into a wonderful heroine, self-confident and intelligent, with quite the laid back approach to her investigations. Readers also enjoyed reading about Barbara, as she makes the book work, and makes for an excellent sidekick to Angela.

“The Riddle At Gipsy’s Mile” is the fourth novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2014. Angela, lost in the mists of the Romney Marsh, stumbles on a woman’s body whose face was disfigured, presumably to prevent recognition.

Who is this woman and what could she possibly have been doing out there in the middle of nowhere? The search to find answers is going to take Angela from one grand stately home to London’s most fashionable, as well as disreputable, nightclub and right into a murky world filled with jazz music, illegal drinking, and lost souls.

Readers found this to be an interesting mystery novel that makes for an easy and quick read. Fans find that even if they believe they know who the killer is, it is still a ton of fun to see how things will all play out in the end.

“The Incident at Fives Castle” is the fifth novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2014. It is Hogmany, and Angela is at Fives Castle, which is the seat of the Earl of Strathmerrick, in order to see the start of 1928.

However, when she learns that the Foreign Secretary, the Head of British Intelligence, and the American Ambassador are also among the guests, she starts suspecting that something momentous is afoot.

Before too long, they all get snowed in, and a body is found. Angela quickly finds suspicion is turned against her personally.

Fans of the book liked learning more about Angela’s elusive past. The novel is well written with fantastic characters, plenty of humor, and a superb plot.

“The Imbroglio at Villa Pozzi” is the sixth novel in the “Angela Marchmont” series and was released in the year 2014. Angela, while she is vacationing in Italy, gets persuaded to postpone her trip to Venice and head to Stresa instead. This is so she can investigate this pair of spiritualists that are suspected of defrauding a few of the English residents in the town out of their money.

What begins as a minor matter quickly turns into something a lot more serious once one of the residents in question is discovered dead in the beautiful gardens of his home. It appears as though they committed suicide.

Seduced by the heady scents and sights of the Italian Lakes, and also distracted by one unexpected encounter with one old foe that seems bent on provoking her, Angelea tries to figure out the truth of the affair. Then, she hopes to resume her journey off to Venice before she forgets herself and then loses herself, as well as her heart.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Angela Marchmont Mystery

Leave a Reply