Book Notification

Angel’s Bay Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Angel's Bay Books

Suddenly One Summer (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
On Shadow Beach (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
In Shelter Cove (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
At Hidden Falls (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Garden of Secrets (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Angel’s Bay series is a well known series of contemporary romance, mystery, and women’s fiction novels. It is written by a popular novelist from America named Barbara Freethy. The series is comprised of a total of 5 books, which were released between the years 2009 and 2011. Author Freethy has set the name of the series on Angel’s Bay, California, where she has also set the plots of the stories. All the books of this series feature a different set of chief characters, who go on to indulge in romantic relationships and help to carry the series forward, thereby making the readers continue their interest in reading the stories. The Angel’s Bay is a small coastal town where people come to fall in love or lovers come to spend some quality time together. The atmosphere there seems to be filled with love and romance all around. It is believed by people in this town that sometimes love gets some help from unknown mystical forces. Barbara Freethy started writing the series in 2009 and published her first novel of this series in the same year. She concluded the series after publishing its fifth book. Author Freethy says that her love for writing developed because of her deep interest in reading. As she grew up in a neighborhood where the majority of the kids were boys, she had to spend her time reading books quietly in her room. She would make use of the library of her mother to get hands to different genres of novels. And to her interest, she found mostly romance books to read. Barbara went on to graduate from Santa Barbara’s California University and then started working in the Public Relations department. But soon, she discovered that her real passion lies in writing. And so, Barbara went ahead to pursue her dream of becoming a writer. For many years in her literary career, author Freethy’s books were published by other publishing houses. But later, she established her own company named Fog City Publishing and started publishing her books all by herself. Since forming her company, Barbara has sold more than 7 million copies of her books. Her tally of novels has reached 62, which range from romantic suspense to women’s fiction and contemporary romance. Her debut novel was able to become a NY Times bestseller and reached the top spot in its the bestseller list. Currently, author Freethy is working on her next book series, called The Callaways. This particular series is a family saga series. Barbara is also trying to develop a 7 novel series about seven female friends, who start as bridesmaids and go on to become brides. This sweet romance series is an outcome of the numerous requests from the fans of author Freethy. Whenever she is not busy with her publishing or writing projects, author Freethy can be seen playing tennis or spending some time with her family and friends around the scenic Lake Tahoe. Barbara also likes to spend her spare in in reading the works of other novelists.

The debut book of the Angel’s Bay series written by author Barbara Freethy is entitled ‘Suddenly One Summer’. It was released by the Pocket Star publication in the year 2009. The central characters mentioned in this book include Jenna Davies and Reid Tanner. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that in the Angel’s Bay town in California, an ancient legend is popular that tells that sometimes angels from a shipwreck come if they feel there are need and help make good triumph over the evil. Jeanna Davies arrives in Angel’s Bay to give her life another chance. She has a 7 year old child, which she has kept secret from others so far. Jenna chose this close knit community because she wanted to get rid of the pain that is filled in her heart. Her only wish is to live her life quietly. After a little while, Jenna Davies witnesses a teenage girl fall into a nearby lake and jumps after her to save her. This brave effort of hers puts her into the spotlight, which she didn’t want at all. Everyone seems to have become eager to know Jenna’s story. But, none of them realize that this could be very dangerous for Jenna. Reid Tanner used to be a hardworking reporter until his life was changed because of one shattering incident. Now, after the news of Jenna’s bravery spreads all around, he sees an opportunity to gain his job and reputation back. He seems to have developed an interest in knowing all about Jenna Davies and the little secret that she seems to be hiding. However, little does he realize that his quest for finding the truth can lead all of their lives in danger.

The next successful installment of the series written by Barbara Freethy is called ‘On Shadow Beach’. This novel was also published by Pockey Star in 2010. The lead characters of this book are shown as Lauren Jamison, Abby Jamison, and Shane Murray. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Lauren Jamison used to live in Angel’s Bay when she was in her teenage. At that time, Shane Murray was her boyfriend. But then, his sister named Abby was murdered and Shane Murray was accused of being the prime suspect in the murder case. After this life-shattering incident, Lauren Jamison left the town and did not return back since then. After several years, Lauren is forced to come back to her hometown reluctantly for assisting her ill father. She sees Shane after such a long time and the old flame between the two gets lit immediately. However, Lauren is unable to forget about the terrible days of the past and this stands as a wall between her and Shane. Also, there are some secrets that Shane has kept from Lauren and thinks that they are keeping him from getting close to her. If they want to find out the truth, then it is going to cost them heavily. Lauren wishes to take any level of risk just to know who killed her sister. But, it looks like there are certain people, who do not wish to let the old mysteries come to light. Such people seem to live with a form of fear that also makes them extremely dangerous. This book was highly praised by one and all. Author Freethy was also appreciated by the critics as well as her fans for her dedicated efforts. Her success with this novel motivated her to keep writing many more interesting stories in her future career.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Angel’s Bay

Leave a Reply