Book Notification

Angie Amalfi Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Angie Amalfi Books

Something's Cooking (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Too Many Cooks (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cooking Up Trouble (1995)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cooking Most Deadly (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cook's Night Out (1997)Description / Buy at Amazon
Cooks Overboard (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Cook in Time (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Catch a Cook (2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bell, Cook, and Candle (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
If Cooks Could Kill (2002)Description / Buy at Amazon
Two Cooks A-Killing (2003)Description / Buy at Amazon
Courting Disaster (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Red Hot Murder (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Da Vinci Cook (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Angie Amalfi Non-Fiction Books

Cook's Dessert Cookbook (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Author Joanne Pence’s series about her character Angie Amalfi began being released in the year 1993, with the release of “Something’s Cooking”. The series combines humor, romance, and food with romance. It has both novels and novellas in it.

Angelina “Angie” Amalfi is a food columnist and reviewer of restaurants in the city of San Francisco, California. She has enough spunk and sass for more than just one person.

There is also a spin off from this series that stars a character named Rebecca Mayfield, who works as an inspector herself. This series of mysteries began in the year 2014.

“Something’s Cooking” is the first novel in the “Angie Amalfi” series and was released in the year 1993. Life is nothing but a banquet for Angelina Amalfi. Things go horrible when a guy that has been giving her odd recipes for her column is found dead, and she begins to be stalked by a murderer who wants to kill more. This is because the first time went so well for him he would like to continue it.

The homicide cop assigned to the case is Paavo Smith is quite a delectable dish. More bodies begin to be added to the pile. Angie sees that she will have to figure out some ways to survive otherwise she may have her own goose get cooked too. The stakes are high as this case could be much too much for her to handle. She is just about to take on some deadly arms smugglers and some deadly food fanatics. Angie can keep her cool better than just about anyone.

This book had two leads that were pretty likable and their romance starts to bloom in this nicely, not to mention an interesting mystery. Fans of the novel enjoyed reading this, as it provided them with a nice mystery that was hard for them to step away from for very long. Some found themselves wanting to read more in the series. Some want to know what happens with Angie and Paavo in future books from the series.

“Too Many Cooks” is the second novel in the “Angie Amalfi” series and was released in the year 1994. Angie talks her way into getting a job on a a pretentious, third rate chef’s call in show on the radio. She has visions of another career to go with her new romance with Paavo Smith (a beautiful homicide detective).

A restauranteur that is much envied and successful is poisoned, Angie finds this a lot more exciting than simply trying to make her lame boss sound better than he is. There are some cooks that might try to stay away from a case this hot, but Angie is able to take the heat and still stay in the kitchen.

This was a great follow up to the first novel in the series that some enjoyed more than the first. It is a fast paced mystery that has some romance thrown it. Fans of the novel find that they cannot get enough of Angie, as she is one of their favorites to read about. Here is something that will provide a fun read.

“Cooking Up Trouble” is the third novel in the “Angie Amalfi” series and was released in the year 1995. Angie is eager to get out of the city for one week to help put together a delectable vegetarian menu for this new Bed and Breakfast that is simply lovely and located in scenic northern California. The Hill Haven Inn (which has not yet opened for business yet) is a great place to take her new romance with Paavo to another level.

It turns out to be less than ideal what with rumors of ghosts, drafts, fighting investors, a roof that leaks, and what is worse is the owner’s idea of haute cuisine might be better for farm animals. A torrential rain traps everyone inside the place, and it becomes obvious that there is a killer with them. Not to mention that the only thing going to be prepared in the kitchen is disaster. She is going to solve the case and save this romantic getaway with Paavo or die trying.

Some were left guessing until the end of the story, and could not wait to find out how things shook out at the end of the book. Fans of the novel find that this is a well written series, especially the mystery that was in this book. It was quite a tangled web that Angie and Paavo have to unravel by the end of the story. Readers cannot help but start the next book once they have finished one, they are that hooked on them. Each of these books feels like a gift that Joanne Pence is giving them, which is what novels should be.

“Cooking Most Deadly” is the fourth novel in the “Angie Amalfi” series and was released in the year 1996. Angie may want to tie the knot and cut a wedding cake with Paavo, he has other things he is worried about. Like solving the brutal murder of two women in San Francisco. He goes around investigating and tries to find some clues, and she looks for a restaurant to write about for a review.

She finds a trio of old and grumpy men that make great marinara, but know little about running a business. Not a culinary business, anyway. She deals with great eatery while her sisters are giving her some unwelcome advice about her wedding.

Paavo’s hunt for a killer ends up pointing to Angie herself as the next intended target. She readies herself to join the investigation, but she is leaping right into the stew pot head first definitely, because there is a crazy killer out there that is quite willing to give Angie her deadly just desserts.

Here is a series where the books keep on getting better and better each time a book released. Angie is a great character that readers cannot help but root for as she goes and tries to catch another killer in one of these books. Fans of the novel found that this had some good humor in it, and a climax that left some sitting on the edge of their seats. Each and every book is entertaining and delightful, and simply tons of fun for readers.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Angie Amalfi

Leave a Reply