Book Notification

Angie Smith (CXVI) Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of CXVI Trilogy Books

The Beginning of the End (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets Broken (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Desperate Measures (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Foundling Books

Sex Lies and Swimming Naked (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon

Angie Smith is an English author who is best known for writing the CXVI thriller book series. The series of thrillers began in 2015 with The Beginning of the End.

She was born in Doncaster. After primary school, she went to Huddersfield University where she earned a First Class Honours Degree in Education and Training. She then went into work in the career of adult education in the fields of training and performance management. Eventually, she made the decision to retire from this career in order to pursue other ventures.

Smith loves to travel and travels extensively. She does knowledge transfer partnerships work and was even nominated for an award for it. In this career, she presented a journal article at the International Social Work Conference in Durban.

Her life changed when she was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2013. She underwent extensive and sometimes grueling treatments which made her think about things in her life. That thinking lead to her desire to write being rekindled which ultimately led to the start of the CXVI Trilogy. She now makes her home in West Yorkshire where she lives with her husband and youngest son.

CXVI The Beginning of the End is the first book in the CXVI Trilogy. The book has earned praise as a complex thriller with fascinating characters and for its quick pace. The story begins when one of DS Greg Wood’s colleagues in the police force is murdered and a female sergeant begins acting strangely. The murder of the police officer is then linked to a number of other suspicious deaths, but everyone is watching the new colleague, Maria Barnes. She has great skill and is talented at her job, but there is a wonder if there is more than meets the eye with her.

Now, it is a race against time as the killer’s mission is not even close to over. The question of who the next victim will be looms over the case, but Woods catches a break when he discovers a set of initials that were left at the crime scene: CXVI. They don’t know what they mean, but they aim to find out. When secret services begins to show interest in Barnes and the case, her and Woods make the decision to go undercover in order to find out the meaning of CXVI. This is the start of the series and features a complex plot with multiple twists and turns, getting readers started on this exciting trilogy.

The Spy Who Chipped The China Teacup is a standalone novel from Angie Smith. Taylor Hudson is in Africa when she realizes that her life is in danger. With little time or options, she’s not sure what to do when she is thrown a lifeline out of nowhere. To get out of this situation, Taylor will put her trust in a strange who claims they can help. She’s not sure why or if they can even do what they say, but it’s worth a shot. The answer to those questions could lay 6,000 miles away inside of the British Secret Intelligence Service. There, a former officer is attempting to gain access to the organization. With illicit arms dealing, murder and corruption at the highest level, this book has an espionage plot that will keep you guessing.

The Foundling is the first book in a series of the same name. Jonathan Miller agrees to work for a new client that is claiming to be a police detective. This action sets in motion a series of events which will result in devastating consequences for him and his family. Miller will end up joining up with an old adversary. In the past, he was terrified of him, but when you’re backed in a corner they are exactly the person you need to get you out alive. The two will try and solve the brutal assassination of a young woman. Their investigation will lead to them uncovering secrets which have been hidden away for decades that involve some of the most powerful people in the world. This is a fast-paced thriller that is just as shocking as it is unpredictable, featuring abduction, torture, and murder.

The second book in the CXVI series is called CXVI Secrets Broken. The book picks up after the events of the first book and now the search for Detective Sergeant Maria Barnes is underway. She’s being linked to the murder of a former politician and wants to prove her own innocence, but she is trapped by a ruthless serial killer. Freddy Williams holds all of the cards right now and she can’t afford for him to reveal them all.

In order to possibly escape and save her own life, Barnes is forced to adopt a strategy straight out of the world of poker. She will bluff, double-bluff, and do whatever is necessary. Her former boss, Greg Woods, and the Secret Intelligence Service will end up joining together in the search for her. It’s not only a question of who will survive this ordeal, but who can anyone believe?

The third and final book in the CXVI Trilogy is CXVI Desperate Measures. The story picks up three years after the retirement of Detective Superintendent Greg Woods. Despite leaving the force, Woods’ life is still consumed by the search for the former Detective Sergeant, Maria Barnes. His search for her has been chaotic and unsuccessful thus far, and has taken a toll on his body as well as his mind. Then one day he receives a knock at the door with a promising lead. Woods will team up with a young hacker who knows their way around a computer. The hacker has their own interest in finding Barnes and an old adversary Faulkner-Brown. What the two will discover will have a major affect around the globe in a way that will threaten international security. With Woods’ health failing, this could be his last chance.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Angie Smith (CXVI)

Leave a Reply