Book Notification

Angus Watson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Iron Age Books

Publication Order of West of West Books

You Die When You Die (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Land You Never Leave (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Where Gods Fear to Go (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Angus Watson
During Angus Watson’s twenties, he worked jobs that ranged from investment banker to forklift driver.

Then in his thirties, he worked various assignments as a freelance writer. This includes diving on the scuppered German fleet at Scapa Flow for the Financial Times, hunting for Bigfoot in the USA for the Telegraph, and swimming with some real live seal lions off of the Galapagos Islands for the Times.

Now into his forties, he lives in London with his wife Nicola and Charlie, his son.

He was born in September of 1972 in Hexham, England and his alma mater is the University of Bristol.

As a fan of epic fantasy and historical fiction, he got the idea of writing fantasy set during the Iron Age while exploring British hillforts for the Telegraph, and developed a story as he walked Britain’s ancient paths for additional articles.

He wrote the “Age of Iron” novels all back to back, but during that time, he moved twice, had a baby, got married, and continued his obsession of photographing the landscape around Las Vegas, and went on vacation a few times. So he wasn’t nose to the keyboard the entire time.

“Age of Iron” was selected as one of Fantasy Faction’s “Best Fantasy Novels of 2014”, and it was shortlisted for the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for Best Debut Fantasy Fiction novel.

“Age of Iron” is the first novel in the “Iron Age” series and was released in the year 2014. Legends are not born, they are forged. Dug Sealskinner is a down-on-his-luck mercenary going south to join King Zadar’s army. However he continues to rescue the wrong people.

There’s Lowa, one of Zadar’s most fearsome warriors and who vowed to get revenge on the king for executing her sister, and Spring, a kid he discovers scavenging out on the battlefield.

Now Dug has found himself on the wrong side of that thousands-strong army he was hoping to join up with, and to make things worse, Zadar has got bloodthirsty Druid magic on his side. All Dug’s got is his war hammer, a rescued kid, and a highly trained and unpredictable warrior that has a lust for revenge that will get all of them killed. What a glorious day to die.

“Clash of Iron” is the second novel in the “Iron Age” series and was released in the year 2015. Leaders are forged in the fires of war. Iron Age warriors Lowa and Dug captured Maidun castle and freed all of its slaves. However now they will need to defend it.

There’s a Roman invasion heading their way from Gaul, however instead than uniting to defend their home, the British tribes just succumb to fighting each other, and see Maidun as easy pickings.

At the same time, Loa’s spies are able to infiltrate Gaul, finding that the Romans have recruited British Druids. And Maidunite Ragnall discovers his loyalties are torn when he meets Julius Caesar, Rome’s charismatic general. War’s coming, so who’s going to pay the price?

“Reign of Iron” is the third novel in the “Iron Age” series and was released in the year 2015. Warrior Queens and Roman invaders do battle in this final installment of this epic fantasy trilogy.

Caesar’s soldiers have pillaged, massacred, and murdered their way all the way through Gaul and loom on the far side of the sea, and ready to descend upon Britain. And with them are this unstoppable legion of men that are twisted by some dark magic.

Somehow Queen Lowa has to repel this invasion, even though her best general lies dead and her young Druid’s powerless. She faces some impossible odds, however when the alternative is slavery or death, a warrior queen must do whatever she must to save her people. Every empire has got its downfall.

“You Die When You Die” is the first novel in the “West of West” series and was released in the year 2017. You cannot change your fate, so you may as well throw yourself into battle, because you will either win or wake up drinking some mead in the halls of your ancestors. At least, that’s what Finn’s tribe believes, anyway.

However when their settlement gets massacred by some hostile tribe and Finn and many of his friends, rivals and companions flee across the unfamiliar and brutal landscape, Finn’s going to fight harder than he ever has before. He wants to survive, even if he’s only alive long enough to tell Thyri Treelegs how exactly he feels about her.

A mismatched group of refugees battle determined assassins, monsters and animals, depraved tribes, an unforgiving land, and one another while crossing a continent to fulfill a prophecy.

“The Land You Never Leave” is the second novel in the “West of West” series and was released in the year 2018. A mismatched band of refugees has to fight monsters and animals, an unforgiving land and one another while crossing a continent in order to fulfill a prophecy.

Welcome to the Badlands. Two tribes, uneasily and newly allied, from different worlds journey across the Ocean of Grass. Their mission is to full a prophecy and take Ottar the Moaner west of west, so they can save mankind.

In their way are the denizens from the Badlands, the most powerful and horrifying bunch of monsters and murderers the world’s ever seen.

“Where Gods Fear to Go” is the third novel in the “West of West” series and was released in the year 2019. The questers, battling their way over the Shining Moutains, find a land that is more horrifying than they ever could have possibly imagined, and they have fought against thunder lizards.

The whole time falling in love and fighting, the tentatively allied Calnians and Wootah has to survive flash flooding, monster attacks, and tornadoes to reveal The Meadows’ secret. Then there is the hard part.

To save themselves along with everyone else, they are going to travel west of west, even deeper into danger. And try taking on a goddess that has already murdered all of the gods.

The outrageously thrilling West of West trilogy comes to an action packed conclusion in this novel.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Angus Watson

Leave a Reply