Book Notification

Ann O’Loughlin Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Secrets of Roscarbury Hall (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Judge's Wife (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Ludlow Ladies' Society (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
An Ocean Between Us (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Mother's Daughter (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Irish House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
My Only Daughter (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Her Husband's Secret (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Secrets of an Irish House (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
Escape to the Irish Village (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Ann O’Loughlin is an Irish-born author of romance, sagas, and general fiction books. Ann has provided comprehensive coverage of all major news events as a journalist over the past three decades. Most of her career was dedicated to Independent Newspapers, and she presently holds a senior journalism position at the Irish Examiner newspaper. Ann also had the experience of residing in India. Originally hailing from the western region of Ireland, she now lives on the eastern coast with her spouse and two children. Notably, her novel “The Judge’s Wife” received recognition by being shortlisted in the Epic Romantic Novel category at the 2017 RoNA awards. Moreover, “The Ballroom Cafe” and “The Judge’s Wife” achieved bestseller status in Ireland for several weeks. Impressively, Ann’s literary works have been translated into eleven different languages.

The Secrets of Roscarbury Hall is a place of history, safety, and promise. However, for bank manager Peter O’Doherty, the hall and its occupants were a silly intensification of his busy day. It was a remarkable sight, one that captured attention. Neglected for a long, it wore a desolate appearance. The windows, once clear, were now obscured by layers of grime. Once a beautiful feature, the wisteria had grown wildly out of control. The brass knocker on the front door had become nearly unrecognizable, buried under decades of accumulated dust and layers of dried-up paint. Cobwebs clung to the corners of the threshold, with dried leaves trapped within them. The front door itself hadn’t swung open in decades. Yet, for Ella and Roberta O’Callaghan, this neglected house was their lifeline.

Silence had reigned between the sisters for years, creating a profound muteness. Bitter and resentful notes between them were strewn about their dusty and dilapidated dwelling. Silence was inescapable, and their shared history remained unforgivable, unforgettable, and unspoken.
Ella held onto Weiss brooches like cherished mementos of her past. Twice a year, these precious keepsakes arrived from Weiss Jewelers in New York City, sent by John O’Callaghan as tokens of his love for his wife. Ella’s favorite brooch was adorned with nine Montana blue crystals set in a simple circle. Another featured aurora borealis stones arranged in a cluster of flowers with large, brilliant white cabochon petals and delicate, sparkling aurora borealis stones peeking through the gaps. Then there was the green brooch, shaped like a pansy flower in inky black-green, which didn’t please Ella’s mother, Bernie O’Callaghan, but held sentimental value for Ella as it reminded her of happier childhood days. Another brooch showcased a circle of smoky topaz and dull yellow stones, accented with deep orange rhinestones that sparkled like shafts of sunlight when held to the light.

These brooches were not merely colorful, sparkling accessories; they were reminders of the joy and laughter that had been overshadowed by unspeakable tragedies in the sisters’ lives. Each day, they symbolized promises of hope and happiness, preserving the memories of better times. These brooches were like dream catchers, guarding everything still worth living for and serving as gentle reminders of the possibility life held, even in the face of a dark past laden with bitterness and resentment. In their innocent and exquisite beauty, these brooches also concealed a story of painful misunderstandings and suicide.

Then, one early morning, a knock echoed on the front door of Roscarbury Hall, and Deborah Kading from New York City stood there. At that moment, history took on new dimensions, lives gained fresh perspectives, and memories were imbued with different hues and intensities.
In the tradition of renowned authors like Maeve Binchy and Kate Morton, a new novelist, Ann O’Loughlin, made her debut with “The Ballroom Café.” She introduced her historical fiction to the world with the same gentle touch as her literary predecessors. The book’s description captures its dramatic essence, so there’s little to add. Intrigue and pathos permeate the story of two sisters, Ella and Roberta O’Callaghan, who face personal demons, the cruelty of illegal adoptions orchestrated by Sister Consuelo of the Order of Divine Sisters in Rahtnew, Co. Wicklow, and the struggle to rescue their ancestral estate from decay and financial ruin.

All three main elements of the book will captivate you from the first page to the last. It’s a tale of destiny, a tribute to endurance and survival, and a celebration of forgiveness. In sum, it is a wonderfully gentle read.

First published in 2016, The Judges Wife is the story of Grace. In her youth, the radiant Grace, with her entire future ahead, experiences a profound transformation when she is wedded to an elderly judge. As time passes, she becomes increasingly isolated and neglected. It’s in this solitude that Grace encounters and falls deeply in love with Vikram, an Indian doctor who embodies all the qualities her husband lacks – charm, thoughtfulness, and kindness. However, the backdrop to their love story is the Ireland of the 1950s, where an impending scandal looms as Grace becomes pregnant.

After giving birth, Grace is forcibly placed in an asylum by the judge, who informs Vikram that Grace perished during childbirth, shattering his heart. Following the judge’s demise, three decades later, his estranged daughter Emma returns to her childhood home to organize his estate. During this process, she stumbles upon Grace’s diaries, which gradually unveil the life of the mother she never knew.

Meanwhile, Vikram plans a long-awaited journey back to Ireland with his cherished niece, Rosa, who has grown up hearing tales of her uncle’s lost love. They intend to pay their respects at Grace’s grave finally. However, unveiling the judges will change everything, revealing letters addressed to both Vikram and Emma. This discovery sets off a chain of events that unravels the web of deception spanning decades and continents, laying bare long-buried family secrets. It also raises the profound question of whether true love can endure the test of time.

The Judge’s Wife unfolds as a tale divided into two distinct parts. The author opts to narrate this story through the perspectives of three key female characters: Grace, who holds the title of the judge’s wife; Emma, the judge’s grown-up daughter; and Rosa, the daughter of Vikram, the Indian doctor who captured Grace’s heart many years ago. Grace’s journey commences in 1954 when she finds herself confined to Our Lady’s Asylum in County Wicklow. Meanwhile, the narratives of Emma and Rosa unfold thirty years later, in the year 1984.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Ann O’Loughlin

Leave a Reply