Book Notification

Ann Rule’s Crime Files Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Crime Files Books

A Rose for Her Grave and Other True Cases (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
You Belong to Me and Other True Crime Cases (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Fever in the Heart and Other True Cases (1996)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Name of Love and Other True Cases (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
The End of the Dream (1998)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Rage to Kill and Other True Cases (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Empty Promises and Other True Cases (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Last Dance, Last Chance (2001)Description / Buy at Amazon
Kiss Me, Kill Me and Other True Cases (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Worth More Dead and Other True Cases (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
No Regrets and Other True Cases (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Smoke, Mirrors, and Murder and Other True Cases (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Mortal Danger and Other True Cases (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
But I Trusted You and Other True Cases (2009)Description / Buy at Amazon
Don't Look Behind You (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Fatal Friends, Deadly Neighbors and Other True Cases (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lying in Wait and Other True Cases (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Crime Files by Ann Rule
Crime Files is a series of true crime happenings by the late American author Ann Rule. These are occurrences that took place in real life concerning criminal cases from the past. Ann came from a background with a rich understanding of the law enforcement and also took a career on the same line giving her ample materials and expertise for her writing. She won two Anthony Awards from Brechen and was also nominated thrice for The Edgar Awards.

This series came to hit right from the production of the first book A Rose for her Grave in 1993. Sixteen more books followed for the series.

A Rose For Her Grave

The Crime Files Series kicks off with the book A Rose for her Grave. It is an investigative book that seeks to bring into lights the steps and actions taken by the various characters that she uses in her story. It is a journey of breaking down the hideous crimes that had bewildered the police department at that time.

Ann introduces a character Roth who has insured his wives but every time this happens, they die, and he collects the sum. This raises a lot of questions, and this triggers a look into the chronology of events by the law enforcers. An articulate detective goes through the matter chosen for her excellent skills in the function. The case is presented with t an in-depth research to point out the features that will bring justice to the slain women. Some individuals in power somehow derail the case, but the detective is out to bring justice at whatever cost it takes.

A rose for her grave also gives an insight into various procedures and legalities when it comes to matters of this nature. The journey is one filled with success and failures, but in the end, the truth prevails. More crimes come up in the book with each of them being exposed into details to figure out the truth behind the bizarre and horrible occurrences. Each story goes into detail giving the reader a satisfactory understanding of what exactly happened as these are true and past cases without exposing the victims or putting it in an insensitive way.

She brings to life the life of these victims and their killers all through the pages. It is one written with honesty pointing the happenings as they are without sugar coating any of them giving a chronology of incidents on the same in a well-told manner. Ann brings the reader into the two worlds and sensitizes them on different things in such cases.

You Belong to Me and Other True Crime Cases

The Crime Files Series continues with the second book. You Belong to Me and Other True Crime Cases. Ann takes her readers through a journey into crimes that took place and were almost hard to crack.

Tim Harris is poster perfect Florida state trooper who is connected to bizarre fantasies while under cover of his badge. Tim manages to hide a lot of his dark self and activities from many people as he chases his dream of being a highway trooper but someone gets to spot things that don’t add up in his life. The investigation reveals horrific things about him that have laid silent and away from the law for a long time. He has been abusing his wife, and since he is a police officer everyone seems to assume the matter, but it is not long before he is brought to justice.

The book progresses with the Black Christmas story in which a family is brutally murdered out of a simple misunderstanding. This is one of those stories that are really heartbreaking seeing the brutality done on innocent lives. Further, into the pages, the writer tells the One Prick Pony story, The Computer Error, and The Killer plus other more cases which demonstrate a high level of hatred in the society. These stories tell more about a society that is profoundly affected by crime and more so murders some from very trivial issues. However and also goes on the other side to prove that in the long run crime will always have its punishment by the law.

The book is terrifying from the incidences that Ann describes as she gives an almost vivid picture of happenings. For true crime books lovers, this is that book that will arrest your attention and offer you a great taste.

A Fever in the Heart and Other True Cases

A Fever in The Heart and Other True Cases is the third book in this Crime Files Series. Love makes people do crazy things and to the extent of murder which is seen in this true story given by Ann rule in this book.

A love triangle involving two young men and an alluring young wife is the leading case in this story. A simple love affair turns chaotic and leads to a series of events including murder that at first seem almost impossible to unmask. The first story involves the murder of Blankenbaker and is one of the saddest things that the residents of Yakima Washington ever had to experience.

Anna takes the reader through the case unraveling secrets that had been deeply buried and also which portray a lot of hatred by the perpetrators of these crimes. Obsessive love turns dangerous to the extents of murders and numerous cover-ups which took many twists and turns before the case was finally solved. The author, just like in other books does excellent work in taking the reader into details on this case while maintaining a high level of professionalism.
Further, into the book, the author brings to light other cases that happened during that time with some going to extremes that are profoundly disturbing — an accurate picture of moral degradation and the cruelty that some people out in the world harbor is painted in this story. The stories are well described with specific pointers to educate the reader on the true happenings on the popular cases.

The author is incredibly good at details and honestly describes characters from a personal level. It is an emotional book which will move you from the different occurrences that Ann describes. She presents researched and accurate facts about the cases every time.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Ann Rule’s Crime Files

Leave a Reply