Book Notification

Anna Curtis Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Anna Curtis Books

Law of Attraction (2010)Description / Buy at Amazon
Discretion (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Speak of the Devil (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Good Killing (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Last Good Girl (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

The Anna Curtis Series by Allison Leotta are legal thriller novels that are based on sex crimes, crimes against children and domestic violence. They feature Anna Curtis, a fictional sex crimes prosecutor at the Attorney’s Office in Washington D.C, U.S.A. Anna Curtis exemplifies the real life of the author Allison Leotta throughout the series. These are the books that every person is reading, especially at these times when women emancipation programs and campaigns against domestic violence are the order of the day.

Summary of the series

Before she became a full-time legal thriller author, Allison Leotta served as a federal prosecutor for 12 years. No wonder her novels are quite realistic, according to USA Today. Indeed, Anna Curtis Series has won several Best of the Year awards from Romance Reviews Today, Suspense Magazine and the Strand Magazine. The Oprah Magazine, O also praised this series, naming the fourth book, A GOOD KILLING as one of the best summer books.

Indeed, the Anna Curtis stories both entertain readers and explain to them how the criminal justice system works. Love and hate appear to meet somewhere in these stories. The protagonist, Anna Curtis is a sex-crimes and domestic-violence prosecutor throughout the series, though her career goes through the normal ups and downs of life. Most crimes arise from a love affair that turns sour. They are mainly committed by a spouse, lover or a trusted friend or relative of the victim. Anna Curtis is very keen on how people wrong their loved ones.

Allison Leotta’s works are inspired by her the heart-breaking tragedies and acts of evil she heard and saw every day at work, and some moments of true heroism, love and healing that followed them. No wonder Anna Curtis life in the series follows this lifeline. Anna is seen to have a difficult childhood life, something that leads her to her job as a sex-crimes prosecutor. Her dark childhood is well explained right from the beginning so that her judgements on the people who wrong their loved ones is not a surprise, given her struggles to live happily in this cruel world since she was young.

Books in the Anna Curtis series by Allison Leotta.

There is a total of 6 works in this series. The Law of Attraction was her first book, and its popularity hit the ground running just after a few months after it was published. It is followed by Ten Rules for a Call Girl. Discretion, Speak of the Devil, and A Good Killing follow in that order. The last book in this series, The Last Good Girl was published this year. These books are written artistically in a way that even this last book is well placed in the developing story that begins in the first story. Indeed, in this latest book, Anna Curtis is defending her sister Jody who has been accused of murder after her high school coach dies in a car crash. We learn that she has just called off her wedding, and indeed the entire story is just a simple transition from the previous stories in the series.

A brief synopsis of The Law of Attraction.

This book has been described by many as a beautiful suspenseful debut. As the story begins, Anna Curtis is an assistant U.S. attorney based in Washington D.C. She has a large load of domestic violence cases to deal with, but one of them reminds her of her own difficult past life: Laprea Johnson is battered by her boyfriend after Valentine’s Day.

Anna begins to learn a lot about domestic violence. She is dismayed when Laprea recants her testimony and later pleads for the acquittal of her ex-boyfriend, D’marco Davis, who is the father of her four-year-old twins.

After D’marco Davis is released, Laprea is found dead in a trash heap behind his building, and he is consequently charged with her murder. Anna is the prosecutor of the murder case alongside Jack Bailey, the chief homicide prosecutor, but her former classmate and boyfriend, Nick Wagner plans to represent D’marco Davis in the case. Anna schooled with Nick Wagner at the Harvard Law School. Nick starts making romantic advances to her, diverting her attention from the case. She is indeed placed between a rock and a hard place. She wants Laprea to get justice but that will come at the expense of her personal life. At the end of the day, she loses on both ends, jeopardizing her career and personal life as she eventually learns the real truth of murder.

In this thrilling story, Allison Leotta explains the conflicting circumstances that legal officers find themselves in as they pursue justice. She wrote this book when she was thinking about both prosecuting and mummying, because she was expecting her first son when she wrote it, and she continued writing it until her son was born.

This story also introduces the real criminal justice system in Washington DC. The reader learns the practical details of the working of this system right from the attorney’s office to the men in the streets of Anacostia and by extension to all the parts of the state. The story ends in a suspense and readers cannot wait to read the next book to see what unfolds.

A brief synopsis of Discretion

This book explores the relationship between sex and power. Anna Curtis investigates the killing of one of Washington DC’s highest paid escorts, and Allison Leotta’s prowess in story telling goes a notch higher here.

A highly paid escort dies at the balcony of the Washington, D.C’s most powerful politician and Anna Curtis is called to the scene to start investigations. It is clear to her that sexual assault and murder had transpired, but the congressman denies the charges, claiming to be innocent. Things are not good for the congressman, as he risks losing the forthcoming elections. On the other hand, a case of this caliber is an opportunity for Anna to develop her career, but at the same time, a mistake at this point could end her career as well.

We learn that Anna’s romantic relationship with Jack Bailey is getting into a bad end, but she tries to keep it away from official duties. However, pressure from the public and media attention from the high-profile case she is handling finally discloses her ailing relationship with Jack.

Investigations into this case lead Anna to a high-end escort service, Discretion where D.C.’s elite take a break from their normal lives. The case becomes more mysterious with each step, and the target on Anna’s own back increases.

Anna Curtis series is yet to feature in any TV shows, but that is something that is sure to come to pass. The story in the book DISCRETION is particularly similar to the TV Series Law and Order: SVU. Just the setting is different.

All said and done, Anna Curtis epitomizes Allison Leotta’s life as a prosecutor throughout this series. The series realistically explain the courtroom machinations in black and white. It is a series you can’t afford to miss.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Anna Curtis

Leave a Reply