Book Notification

Anna Jansson Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Maria Wern Books

Publication Order of Anthologies

A Darker Shade of Sweden(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Anna Jansson
The Swedish crime writer Anna Jansson is world renowned for her bestselling thrillers, some of which have seen her become a household name not just nationally, but internationally too. Previously working as a nurse, she’d take inspiration from her time spent working there, which in turn would lend her work a great deal of authenticity. Both visceral and real in equal measure, she’s a confident author who doesn’t shy away from some of the darker aspects of the genre.

She’s also written a number of children’s books as well, adding to her versatility as an author, allowing her to expand upon her brand. Knowing her market well, she pushes the genre to its limits, really making the most of what it has to offer, whilst also taking it in new and exciting directions. This is something that she’ll continue, as there’s a lot more to come from her still, with much more to say as an author.

Early and Personal Life:
Born on the 13th of February, 1958, Anna Jansson was raised in Visby, Gotland, in Sweden, which would come to be a place that featured heavily in her work. Developing her craft as a writer over the years, she would always be on the lookout for new and interesting ideas. She wouldn’t originally start out as a writer though, as she was initially a nurse for some time, something which would also influence her greatly later on.

It was when she started writing for herself creatively outside of school that Jansson really found herself as a writer. This would continue as a pastime of hers over the intervening years, constantly working on her writing and finding her voice. In time she’d become more adept as a novelist and writer, allowing her to turn to becoming a fully fledged author full-time.

Working as a nurse for a long period, she worked for over twenty years in the occupation, during which time she would witness a lot of blood. Spending time as a surgeon nurse before moving on to operating in a lung clinic, she took her many experiences and put them back into her work. This would evolve over time, as she’d then get a computer in 1997, leading to her taking up writing on a more permanent basis.

Not looking back since, she’s continued to write regularly, putting out stories on a continual basis, with more and more readers discovering her work every day. Working in Örebro Hospital’s lung clinic on a part-time basis too, she keeps herself constantly busy pretty much all the time. Living in Vintrosa just outside of Örebro, she has three children, and she continues to write to this present day.

Writing Career:
The first novel to come from Anna Jansson was ‘Stum sitter guden’, which was released in 2000, and would be the first of many crime novels. Her English debut would be ‘Strange Bird’ in 2013, and this would also be the seventh Maria Wern novel, although the mystery itself would be self-contained. Following this in 2010 ‘Killer’s Island’ would come out, this being the eleventh Maria Wern book, and the second English translation.

Her Maria Wern character was her main focus, as it would center around the eponymous detective inspector who solved various different mysteries. She’d also produce a number of children’s books too, all of which would clearly display and showcase her talents as a versatile author. In 2007 she gained a nomination for the Glass Key Award, received for ‘Främmande fågel’, her 2006 novel published the previous year. This was also later adapted into a television show too, with TV4 producing its adaptation in 2008, leading to her becoming the successful and prolific author she currently is today.

Strange Bird
First published back in 2006, this would later be translated into English in 2013, being released on the 17th of September. This would be the first Maria Wern novel that would be translated into English too, whilst it was also the seventh title in the Swedish series. Published through the Stockholm Text publishing imprint, it would introduce Jansson and the character of Wren to an English speaking audience for the first time.

Panic is spreading fast across Gotland Island, as Bird Flu is on its way to becoming a pandemic, sending the locals into a fear fuelled frenzy. Groups are beginning to blame immigrants as they begin to search for any scapegoat to offload their fears on to, with an extremist anti-immigrant group gaining ground. That’s when Sandra Hägg, the resident nurse, discovers something horrible at the local health clinic that she loses her life, leading Detective Inspector Maria Wern to take the the case. Who murdered Sandra and what are they trying to hide? Will the fear spread? What will become of the pandemic from the strange bird?

Killer’s Island
This was originally released in 2010, being later published in English on the 22nd of May in 2012 through Stockholm Text once more. It would also be the second book of Jansson’s to be translated into English, with it being the eleventh book in the Maria Wren series overall. Providing another case to solve for Wren, it would also be set on Gotland Island again, following in much the same vein as before.

There’s been myths surrounding the island of Gotland for thousands of years, with Tjelvar being said to have raised the island from the sea 3,000 years ago after lighting a flame. There’s also the story of the White-Sea Lady who is said to lure people to their deaths within the water after drowning on her wedding night, and it’s this ancient story that’s brought up after a nurse is discovered dead dressed as a bride in a local pavilion. With a killer on the loose Detective Inspector Maria Wren has her work cut out for her once again, this time conducting the case under the apparently ever watchful eye of the killer themself. Where will they strike next? Can Maria Wren find them before it’s too late? Who will be the next victim upon the killer’s island?

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Jansson

Leave a Reply