Book Notification

Anna Kashina Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Majat Code Books

Blades of the Old Empire (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Majat Testing (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Guild of Assassins (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Assassin Queen (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
Warlord's Assassin (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of The Spirits of the Ancient Sands Books

The Princess of Dhagabad (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Goddess of Dance (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Mistress of the Solstice (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
The First Sword (2008)Description / Buy at Amazon
Solstice Maiden (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shadowblade (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Lacrimosa of Dana (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Short Stories/Novellas

Publication Order of Anthologies

Anna Kashina is a fantasy fiction novelist who was born in Russia and moved to the US after graduating with a doctorate in biology.

While she now has a very successful career in biomedical research, she has said that she has been writing for as long as she can remember.

She was still in high school when she completed writing her first novel which has now been published in Russia and the US. Anna published “The Princess of Dhagabad,” her debut novel in 2001, and now has at least a dozen works of fiction to her name.
Her historical and fantasy fiction works have appeared in original editions in the US, Russia, Australia, and Germany.

Despite achieving great success as an author, she still needs to consider herself a professional writer. This is because she believes that professionals write for money while she writes because she just has the inner drive to do it.
Kashina currently makes her home in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania where she spends her days working in biomedical research and her nights writing her blockbuster works of fiction.

As for how she started writing, Anna Kashina never made a conscious decision. When she was just six years old, she penned her first story and she has never stopped writing since.
Kashina was first introduced to genre fiction by reading J.R.R. Tolkien just like many enthusiasts of fantasy fiction.

She would fall in love with the Lord of the Rings Trilogy and The Hobbit and it was not long before she got into other fantasy works such as the magical realist works of ETA Hoffman.
It was much later that she was introduced to romance and even longer before she started weaving romantic subplots into her fantasy stories. The first story she was ever proud of showing to others came when she was 25.
While she was then already living in the States, her first work was in Russian which made her realize that she needed to write in English if she wanted to secure her future as an author.
Once she translated that first novel, it was all about clawing her way up to where she is today. Anna still looks back fondly to her beginning which taught her a lot.
While sometimes embarrassing was what made it possible for her to make a success of herself.

Anna Kashina holds a doctorate and currently works as a University of Pennsylvania professor.

Just like she always wanted to be a writer, she always wanted to pursue a career in biology, and the life sciences and become a scientist, possibly because she was brought up in a family full of biologists.
As such, she has always felt that her creativity in science and writing feed each other. Kashina has found that whenever she is working on her fiction, it makes her more productive at work.

Fiction has also taught her better phrasing and this has made her more effective at putting across her thoughts while doing her science.
Conversely, science has taught her the importance of getting her facts right and being more logical when penning her fiction.

While she is a scientist, she has never penned any science fiction but often incorporates her scientific background into some of her novels such as “Shadowblade.”

“Blades of the Old Empire” by Anna Kashina is a riveting work that introduces Prince Kyth. He is a man who has a magical ability which makes it possible for him to focus energy when taking on his enemies.
Initially, it is just the wind through his sword but it is not long before he learns how to control other energy forms. However, his abilities attract the attention of an ancient cult of deathless sorcerers named Kaddim
The Kaddim are interested in combining his powers with that of their leader. He repels the first attempted abduction working with Diamond Majat warrior Kara who is his bodyguard.
Soon enough, Kyth starts having feelings for Kara which his father does not like one bit.

On the other hand, The church which has a policy of forbidding magicians from ascending to power and killing anyone wielding magic is going after Kyth.

While his father would like to protect him this would require a full council vote and the protection of Majat warriors. But in all that they have to deal with political infighting and intrigue in addition to dealing with the Kaddim.
On her part, Kara is having problems with her guild which has taken money from the Kaddim and now wants her capture and hand over the prince.

Will she obey the commands of her guild and betray the prince or will she be cast out and hunted down for her disobedience?

Anna Kashina’s work “The Guild of Assassins” tells the story of Mai. He is a highly skilled and Diamond Level member of his order and one of the very few who can resist and withstand the enemy of the people – the Kaddim.
Just like Mai, Kara is a Diamond Level on whom Mai had mercy after he was charged with taking her out after she failed to complete the assignment she had been given by the Order.

The two come together to take on the Kaddim as they are the only two who have that power. As such, Kara and Mai soon come into the scope of the Kaddim who want them eliminated.

However, what the king does not know is that anyone involved in protecting the land including the Majat was part of a plan that had been put in place by the Kaddim a few years earlier.
If their plan is a success, they will topple the king, and the Kaddim will ultimately take his place and rule the land.
The only people standing between the Kaddim plan and the Prince Regent are the two Diamond Level Majats. But then Mai is recalled by his superiors to answer charges of sparing Kara whom he was supposed to kill.
Could this be the beginning of the end?

“Assassin Queen” by Anna Kashina is a fascinating fantasy fiction work in the Majat Code series. Following their defeat by Majat Forces, the Kaddim Brothers, and Nimos have retreated to the southern mountains where they have a secret fortress.
Nimos is well aware that the victory of the Majat is temporary and while running, they had placed a mark on an identified Diamond Level and top-ranked Majat named Kara.

Using his mind magic, he can now use the mark to transfer some of her fighting skills to the warriors of the Kaddim, while also turning her loyalties to their side.

Mai the new Majat Guildmaster is planning to march against the Kaddim but will need to have the support of Prince Kyth Dorn.

The latter’s magic can protect them against the mind-control powers of the Kaddim but Kyth and Mai have some tension between them as they are rivals over Kara’s affections.
Things get very interesting when at some point they realize that something is not quite right about Kara.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Kashina

Leave a Reply