Book Notification

Anna North Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

America Pacifica (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Life and Death of Sophie Stark (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Outlawed (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Anna North
Anna North, who was born in 1983, is an American author. Her birthplace is Williamsburg, but she spent her childhood in Los Angeles and is currently a resident of Brooklyn. Between 2001 and 2005; North attended the Stanford University, where she pursed a Bachelor of Arts in English Language and Literature. Between 2007 and 2009; she undertook a Master of Fine Arts in Creative Writing at the University of Iowa.

In 2003, while still schooling, Anna North had stints as a book reviewer and movie reviewer for the Stanford University-related Stanford Daily newspaper. From 2009 to 2012, North worked for the extant Jezebel digital media—the then subsidiary of the defunct Gawker Media—in various positions; she was Jezebel’s staff writer between September 2009 and October 2011, and Jezebel’s news editor from October 2011 and March 2012. North had a senior editorial position at the BuzzFeed digital media from March 2012 and May 2013.

Between June 2013 and March 2014, Anna North worked as a culture editor for the Salon Media Group. From March 2014 to August 2017, she worked as a staff editor for the New York Times. North has been working as a senior reporter for the Vox website since August 2017.
Anna North specializes in the literary fiction, especially the speculative fiction, adventure and historical sub-genres. North’s representative is agent Julie Barer of The Book Group, while her film agent is Brooke Ehrich.

Book Series Written
Anna North has authored various literary works. North’s earliest book is titled America Pacifica, a standalone novel that consists of 10+ editions. The earliest edition is an ebook that Hachette Book Group—via Reagan Arthur publisher—released on January 1, 2011.

America Pacifica has other formats, including: a 294-page hardcover edition that Little, Brown and Company released on May 1, 2011; a 304-page hardcover edition and a 312-page Kindle edition from Reagan Arthur Books, and both dated May 18, 2011; a 320-page paperback edition from Back Bay Books, and dated June 12, 2012; a 304-page paperback edition from Virago Press, and dated August 1, 2011; a 224-page ebook edition from Reagan Arthur Books that is dated May 8, 2011; and a 292-page paperback edition from Virago Press, dated July 1, 2012.

Book’s plot: the novel’s title is borrowed from the name of a fictitious Californian island, the only conducive environment in the North American region that is faced with a mini ice age. The protagonist is teenager Darcy Pern whose mother’s disappearance prompts her to launch a search-and-rescue mission in a quest that connects her mother’s fate to a plot that the well-off survivalists are planning against the poor survivalists, and discover a long-time conspiracy spearheaded by the tyrannical ruler Tyson.

The second standalone novel authored by Anna North is called The Life and Death of Sophie Stark that has 18+ editions, including the following. The earliest edition is a 320-page ebook that Weidenfeld & Nicolson released on March 19, 2015.

The Life and Death of Sophie Stark has other formats and translations, including: a 288-page hardcover, dated May 19, 2015, from Blue Rider Press that also published a 288-page paperback (dated June 14, 2016) and another 288-page ebook (March 19, 2015); a 288-page Kindle edition, dated May 19, 2015, from Weidenfeld & Nicolson that also published a 304-page paperback (dated February 11, 2016); 384-page hardcover and Kindle French versions Vie et mort de Sophie Stark, dated August 19, 2015, from Autrement; a 225-page paperback Spanish version Vida y muerte de Sophie Stark, dated September 2, 2016, from Alba Editorial; a 304-page paperback Italian version Vita e mort di Sophie Stark, dated January 2020, from Astoria; and an audiobook that Tantor Audio released on June 30, 2015.

Book’s plot: the book is a biographical recounting of the fictitious late Sophie Stark’s life, as seen through the eyes of her kith and kin, some of who were exposed badly in Stark’s film projects.

Anna North is also the author of Outlawed whose earliest formats are 272-page hardcover, Kindle, and ebook—and an audiobook—editions that Bloomsbury Publishing released on January 5, 2021. Weidenfeld & Nicolson has also published 215-page Kindle, 272-page paperback and 264-page hardcover editions.
Plot: this 1890s Wild West-era book is a part fictional, part factual story of people forced into banditry by circumstances, particularly the childless teenage wife Ada; her motivation for joining the then real-life banditry group called Hole-in-the-wall Gang is her possible persecution for her inability to bear children, contrary to the people who prioritize fertility in their bid to repopulate a society decimated by disease. Ada finds a sense of belonging—and a dilemma resulting from a suicide mission—among bandits whose leader is a one-time preacher.

Anna North’s stories have appeared in several anthologies, including: the story Lullaby in Robot Uprisings (2014), the story Everybody’s Favorite Baby in the Glimmer Train Stories, and has contributed in Flashed: Sudden Stories in Comics and Prose.

Anna North’s Awards
Anna North’s book The Life and Death of Sophie Stark won the Bisexual Literature category of the 2016 Lambda Literary Awards. The said book also won the Fiction category of the 2016 Bisexual Book Awards.

Film Adaptation
Anna North’s 2021 book Outlaw has an ongoing film adaptation. A24 TV and the Bond Group Entertainment are the production companies working on the upcoming Outlawed TV series, in a project that is led by actress Amy Adams and involves executive producer Stacy O’Neil and co-producer Kate Clifford.
Other Books You May Like
Those who read Anna North’s books also sought these ones. In Angela Marsons’ January 2019 Blood Lines, which is the fifth in her DI Kim Stone series, the protagonist is sleuth Kim Stone who is investigating serial killings that have a sociopathic twist.
In Danny Tobey’s January 2020 book The God Game, there is a god-like, video game-related artificial intelligence machine that blackmails gamers into submission. In Angela Marsons’ April 2017 Dead Souls, the sixth book in the DI Kim Stone series, sleuth Kim Stone is investigating an archeological excavation that turns into a gory mass grave that involves land conflict.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna North

Leave a Reply