Book Notification

Anna Smith Spark Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Empires of Dust Books

The Court of Broken Knives (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tower of Living and Dying (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The House of Sacrifice (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Lost Gods (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Woman of the Sword (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Sword of Bronze and Ashes (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
In the Shadow of Their Dying (With: Michael R. Fletcher) (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Grimdark Magazine Issue #12(2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Art of War(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Knaves(2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Unfettered III: New Tales By Masters of Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Best of Three Crows: Year One: Anthology of Weird Science Fiction and Fantasy(2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The King Must Fall(2022)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anna Smith Spark is a reputed writer from the United Kingdom, who is famous for writing epic fantasy, fiction, and dark fantasy novels. She has written several widely successful standalone novels as well as a popular novel series. Author Spark resides in London. She likes to read epic and grim dark fantasy stories and historical & military fiction books. Author Anna Spark holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in the subject of Classics. She has also earned a Master of Art degree in history along with a PhD in the English Literature. Prior to the start of her writing career, author Spark was publish in the poetry website called and the Fortean Times. Taking up writing as a field of career happened late in author Spark’s life. Previously, she was involved in several other jobs for which she had to work as an English teacher, a fetish model, and a petty bureaucrat.

There are a number of prominent authors that have inspired author Spark and have influenced her works. Their impact on her writings is great as it can be clearly seen in her style of writing. In her list of favorite writers, author Spark has included Steve Erikson, Mary Stewart, M. John Harrison, R Scott Bakker, Mary Renault, Ursula LeGuin, etc. Author Spark has spent a few years as a very obsessive D & D player. Spark likes to spend most of her daytime working on the development of her stories. During her spare times, she can be seen attending writers’ conventions and other occasions related to writing and writers. Spark is very fond of shoes and has a large collection of some of the most unusual shoes. She says that whenever she visits any place outside of her hometown, her eyes spot shoes as the first exciting things to buy. Author Spark is very grateful to her followers as she believes that they have always encouraged her to come up with interesting and exciting stories. Their great reviews and responses for her published novels have boosted her confidence to a greater extent and have motivated her to keep writing. Spark thinks she is very lucky and blessed that she was able to achieve a lot in her literary career. She hopes she can continue being successful for as long as she keeps writing. Now, she wishes to get enlisted as a bestselling author, which she hopes to achieve with the release of one of her next few novels.

The Empires of Dust series written by author Anna Smith Spark is comprised of a total of 2 books, which were released between the years 2017 and 2018. Author Spark has mentioned the chief characters in this series in the form of Marith, Orha Emmereth, Thalia, etc. She has done the settings of both the books in a fictional city called Sorlost. The debut book of this series is entitled ‘The Court of Broken Knives’. It was released by HarperCollins in the year 2017. At the start of the book’s story, it is shown that the Sorlost city is regarded as the richest city in the whole empire. It has always remained eternal, stood firm, and has never been conquered. The only ill thing about this dreams’ city is that its ruler is very imposturous. Decadence seems to have taken over the ruling and has blinded the citizens to such an extent that they have become vulnerable.

A times comes when the situation of Sorlost becomes so much worse that the possibility of invasion begins to loom over it and only a single man is able to see it coming, Orhan Emmereth. Orhan gets haunted by the dreams of the demise of the great empire. So, he decides to act as fast as he can and take some steps to prevent invasion at the hands of the foreign entities. He orders a company full of soldiers to cross the big desert and enter into the city. He gives them the task of entering the Emperor’s Palace by force and kill him, along with all those who try to stop them. Orhan Emmereth believes that a new empire can be built only from the ashes of the old one. The soldiers consist of good, hardworking, and ordinary men. They take the mission with all seriousness. One among the soldiers is a young boy named Marith. He looks strange and unlike any other soldier in the company. As he marches on Sorlost, he feels he is getting farther from his haunting past. However, Marith’s destiny is about to unveil itself in a bloody, beautiful, and terrible form and no one seems to have any idea about what they are going to face in Sorlost. Marith and Orhan hope everything just goes by the plan and the foundation of the new empire gets laid down very soon.

The next installment of the epic fantasy series called ‘The Tower of Living & Dying’. This book was also published by the HarperCollins publishing company in 2018. Once again, the primary characters are shown in the roles of Orhan Emmereth, Marith, and Thalia. At the beginning of the story of the book, it is depicted that Marith keeps turning into a prince, a demon, a sellsword, a murderer, and a dead man. But, his life gets brought back every time he dies by something very strange. With his ultimate power, Marith thinks he is ready to claim his rightful throne and there is nothing that can stop him from doing so. Thalia is introduced into the storyline as an ex-high priestess. She seems to be the only grasp to the little goodness that is still left in Marith.

Thalia takes the role of Marith’s left hand & his last light source. She constantly tries to make him believe that the power inside him can be made use of to bring about better outcomes in Sorlost. But, Marith gets covered by much more negative forces around him and this makes Thalia’s influence on him slip away. She thinks it is now the time for her to come up with other solutions. Thalia must act quickly as time is running out and she doesn’t wish to lose Marith because of his mad aspiration to sit on the throne. This book found a large number of takers from all the places of its publication. It went on to become a grand success and helped author Spark to achieve more fame and popularity. Many readers reviewed the novel with encouraging comments for the characters and the overall story. Some critics also praised the work of Anna Spark and appreciated her for her dedication in developing the unique story. All this made Spark more confident about her writing and motivated her to keep working on other interesting stories.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Smith Spark

Leave a Reply