Book Notification

Anna Solomon Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

The Little Bride (2011)Description / Buy at Amazon
Leaving Lucy Pear (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Book of V. (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Labor Day (With: Eleanor Henderson) (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Ploughshares Spring 2013(2013)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anna Solomon
Anna Solomon was born and raised in Gloucester, Massachusetts, and she lives in Brooklyn, New York with her husband and two kids.

She has degrees from both the Iowa Writers’ Workshop and from Brown University. Anna teaches the 92Y Unterberg Poetry Center and at Barnard College, Warren Wilson’s MFA Program in Creative Writing.

Previously, she worked as an award-winning journalist for National Public Radios Living On Earth.

Anna’s short fiction, reviews, and essays have appeared in such publications as MORE, The New York Times Magazine, Slate, One Story, Ploughshares, and The Boston Globe. She is also the co-editor (with Eleanor Henderson) of Labor Day: True Birth Stories by Today’s Best Women Writers.

Anna has won the Missouri Review Editor’s Prize and has won the Pushcart Prize twice. The Book of V. was a Belletrist Book Club Pick and a Good Morning America Book Club Pick.

Anna felt that one of the beautiful challenges of penning a novel that weaves three different stories together was that she had to be very precise about the scenes she included for each one of them. This is because you don’t really get too much time with the three of them, at least from the author’s perspective. She had to do a lot with every scene that’s in the novel.

She had to also be instinctual. She finds that writing novels is very much like she moves between editor and instinct self: one scene comes up in the story for her, and what does it do for the story? There is a symbiotic relationship where she tries to get a sense of whether the scene that she is instinctually moved to write actually functions in the novel that ends up justifying its presence.

As she was continuing to revise the novel, she came to realize that the whole thing was about storytelling to each of these women. All of them are coming into their own ways of telling their personal story. This is what the novel is about, what it really means to take charge of your story.

“The Little Bride” is Anna’s debut novel, and was released in the year 2011. Her work is from the literary and historical fiction genres.

“The Little Bride” is the first stand alone novel and was released in the year 2011. When Minna Losk, age sixteen, journeys from Odessa to America as a mail order bride, she dreams about a wealthy and young husband, the freedom from pogroms and physical labor and the handsome townhouse she will live in. however, her husband, named Max, winds up being twice her age, and rigidly Orthodox, and living in a one-room sod hut out in South Dakota with two teen sons.

The country’s desolate and the work is rather treacherous. Most troubling of all is that Minna finds herself getting more and more attracted to the older of Max’s two kids. While one brutal winter closes in, the limits of the family are tested, and Minna, who draws on strengths that she barely realizes she has, is forced to face her despair. As well as her own desire.

Readers found this to be a brave, beautiful, and compelling novel about complex and flawed people that felt incredibly real. Anna does a fantastic job of bringing to life this specific moment of history, as her writing is vivid to the point where it feels like you are transported off to 1889 South Dakota Territory and in Minna’s head while she’s coping with her situation and finding ways to deal with it..

“Leaving Lucy Pear” is the second stand alone novel and was released in the year 2016. Set in 1920s New England, the tale of two women that are both moms to the same unforgettable girl.

One night in the year 1917, Beatrice Haven sneaks out of her uncle’s house located on Cape Ann, Massachusetts, leaving her newborn child right at the foot of a pear tree, and watches while her kid is claimed by some other woman. The unmarried daughter of some wealthy Jewish industrialists and one gifted pianist that’s bound for Radcliffe, Bea plans on leaving her shameful secret behind her and making a fresh new start for herself.

Ten years later, Bea’s hopes for her future are still unfulfilled, Prohibition is now in full-swing, post-WWI America is gripped by rampant xenophobia. She finds much more when the rum-running manager of the local quarry inadvertently reunites her with Emma Murphy, that headstrong Irish Catholic woman that’s been raising Bea’s abandoned kid, who is now a bold, bright, cross-dressing girl called Lucy Pear, who has secrets of her own.

Fans found this to be a vivid and creative portrayal of the 1920s, and is the odd and wonderful tale of a kid who grows up without her biological mom.

“The Book of V.” is the third stand alone novel and was released in the year 2020. The story of the intertwining lives of three different women across three different centuries while their tales of power, sex, and desire all finally converge in the present tense.

Lily is a daughter and a mom. And a second wife. And possibly a writer? Or she was going to be, before she started having kids. Now, living in her rented Broolyn apartment, she battles her intellectual and sexual desires, as she tries to manage her roles as a mom and wife in 2016.

Vivian Barr appears to be the perfect political wife, dedicated to only helping her ambitious and charismatic husband find some success in Watergate-era Washington. One night, however, he demands one humiliating favor of her, and her refusal to obey changes the entire course of her life. As well as the lives of others.

Esther is one fiercely independent young lady living in ancient Persia, where she and her uncle’s tribe live out a dubious existence outside of the palace walls. One innocent mistake results in some devastating consequences for her people, and she is the one they offer up as a sacrifice to please the King, in the hopes she is going to save all of them.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Solomon

Leave a Reply