Book Notification

Anna Stuart Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of The Bletchley Park Girls Books

The Bletchley Girls (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
Code Name Elodie (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Women of War Books

The Midwife of Auschwitz (2022)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Midwife of Berlin (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon
The War Orphan (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Resistance Sisters (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Bonnie and Stan (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Berlin Zookeeper (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Four Minutes to Save a Life (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Secret Diary (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
A Letter From Pearl Harbor (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Queens of Conquest Books

as Joanna Courtney
The Chosen Queen (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Christmas Court (2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Constant Queen (2016)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Conqueror's Queen (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Shakespeare’s Queens Books

as Joanna Courtney

Anna Stuart is a historical author who also writes under the pseudonym Jo Wilde and Joanna Courtney. Her passion for writing kicked off the moment she could pick up a pen and began writing boarding school novels at the age of nine. To get a proper job, she ventured into Factory planning, a career that gave her some memorable experiences, a handsome husband, and friends but didn’t offer her a chance to improve her creativeness. She quit her job to have children, which allowed her to write, debuting with serials and short stories published in women’s magazines.

However, Anna Stuart’s ultimate goal was to write longer fiction, and with continuous efforts, she published a series of historical novels under the pen name Joanna Courtney.
The Midwife of Auschwitz

This book introduces us to a couple, Filip Pasternak and his new wife Ester, who are, along with their parents and siblings are, sent to a slum in Lotz as the German infiltrated their town more and more. Their home was assigned to soldiers with whom they had to live all together, including with other strangers.

Ester’s close friend and midwife Ana Kaminski was Polish, unlike Ester and her family’s Jewish heritage; hence Ana and her sons were living outside of the slums. But, when Ana and her children decided to do whatever they could to aid the Jews, they risked their lives.

When the germans finally caught up with the polish helping the Jews, the consequences were felt almost immediately. Soon Ana and Ester found themselves on a train, unbeknown to them, the horrors that would follow them. Upon arriving in Auschwitz, the two were immediately sent to the maternity section, and when she and her friend were in the concentration camp, Ana birther more than three thousand babies and never loosing one.

But most babies she birthed never lived long, for obvious reasons. The two women spent three months at the concentration camp, lost weight due to lack of food, and soon Ana suspected that her friend Ester was pregnant. Keeping the unborn baby from the cruel Nazis in charge of the barracks would prove them a major challenge.

With the thousands of men, women, and kids sent to the chimneys, staying alive was the only important thing for Ana and Ester and the friends they had made. Days of depression would hit them, but they would positively boost each other spirits.
The Midwife of Auschwitz is an immersive and well-layered storyline that shines through its well-structured and fluent writing. The story is intense, powerful, and highly textured, with an all-overbearing atmosphere of fear and mistrust.
Even though the events of the theater of war may be rapidly changing, for Ester and Ana, it’s as though everything has frozen in time as each day renews their strength and resilience Ester to carry her child full term in such worst times and this evokes a desire to survive even though both fate and the Nazi scientist guaranteed that your newborn child wouldn’t survive.

Despite the ravaged location of a country in peril and the terrible living conditions the prisoners are subjected to, some exquisitely subtle and descriptive narration and conversation provide a horrifying and all-pervasive feeling of time and location, lifting the sights, sounds, and smells of the page.

Anna Stuart provides sufficient attention to detail and visual inclusion through her cast of characters, regardless of the small part they play in the entire narrative. The characters are well defined, and while not all are easy to connect, the general synergy and dynamics make them genuine, investable, and authentic in each role they play. Anna gives them a strong and generous voice to tell of their resilience in overcoming adversity.

The characters represent an intricate maze of vulnerable emotions laid bare when the thin lines between love and hate, defeat and survival, trust and duplicity, life and death are drawn. However, passion and their will to survive overcome all the odds stacked against them, even though not all are destined to be reunited with the people they love.

The Midwife of Auschwitz is based on a true story, and it’s impossible to believe the courage that some of the detainees kept within themselves. The infants were killed because they were Jewish; some of them were abducted by the Nazis and transferred to German homes.

Other survivors were concealed; some had tattoos beneath their arms bearing their mother’s identification number if they were discovered after the war.

We shall never forget the atrocities of war, the Holocaust, or the savagery of the Nazis.

The Secret Diary
Anna Stuart’s The Secret Diary is a story about two women living in one house and wartime secrets spanning decades.

The year is 1945 in Norfolk; we meet Nancy Jones, who a few months ago served as a gunner girl for her country. Now she struggles to come to terms with her new responsibilities as a gamekeeper’s wife. After an instant romance, she finds herself deeply in love with Joe, but still, there’s so much they don’t know about each other. A skeleton in Nancy’s wartime closet threatens to ruin her life, but will her romantic marriage survive or shatter by this new threat?

Fast forward to 2019, Norfolk, and we meet a woman mourning her husband’s death and deciding to escape to the shattering Gamekeeper’s Cottage. she discovers a locked room, and upon entering, it literary sents her back in time. A soldier’s uniform and a dusty record player ready to play on the back of the door. She also discovers a reading diary hitten in the desk drawer.

As Lorna confronts her broken heart, she finds comfort in reading through the ink-stained words in the red diary. Through the pages, she learns of the bravery of a woman who owned the house decades before and unravels a devastating wartime secret that will forever change the course of her life.

If you’re a fan of The Alice Network, The Nightingale, or Lilac Girls, you will enjoy reading Anna Stuart’s detailed and unforgettable story of loss and love in the most brutal days of the war.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anna Stuart

Leave a Reply