Book Notification

Annabelle Archer Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Annabelle Archer Books

Better Off Wed (2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
For Better or Hearse (2006)Description / Buy at Amazon
Review To A Kill (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dead Ringer (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Death on the Aisle (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Night of the Living Wed (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Eat, Prey, Love (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Groomed for Murder (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Wed or Alive (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
To Love and To Perish (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Marry and Bright (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Truffle with Weddings (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Irish Aisles are Smiling (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Godfather of the Bride (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon
Claus for Celebration (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bride or Die (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Slay Bells Ring (2020)Description / Buy at Amazon
Jewel of the Aisle (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Day of the Wed (2023)Description / Buy at Amazon

“The Annabelle Archer” series is a set of cozy mysteries by bestselling cozy author Laura Durham.

The author was Washingtonian’s top wedding planner in D.C. for three years running before she decided to become an author. She has also featured in all manner of national wedding magazines in addition to penning a bestselling wedding planning guide.

Upon her graduation from Duke University, she got into wedding planning almost by mistake. Over the course of more than a decade, she has lost count of all the weddings she has been contracted to plan. However, she is thankful that no one has ever been killed at any of her functions.

Durham got the inspiration to pen the” Annabelle Archer” mystery series when she had a particularly strong desire to dispose of a particularly unpleasant MOB otherwise known as Mother of the Bride.

She ultimately realized that killing her would not be good for business and decided to just write about murder. What resulted from her endeavors in the “Annabelle Archer” series has been called theperfect mixture of murder and hilarity that exposes the wedding industry in Washington.

Even though she got into wedding planning, writing is something that Laura Durham has been doing for ages. She has also been planning murder ever since she got into the wedding planning industry more than two decades ago.

“Better Off Wed” the debut novel of the “Annabelle Archer” series of novels was the winner of the Best First novel Agatha Award when it was published in 2017. Laura would publish two more titles before she took a break from writing to go have children.

Laura also got very busy with a lot of weddings to plan and it was only in 2017 that she made a comeback when she penned “Dead Ringer,” a novella.

The author continues to be one of the most sought after wedding planners in D.C, even though she is very picky as she intends to work more on her novels and eventually become a full time author.

The lead in the Annabelle Archer mysteries is Annabelle, the premier wedding planner who has also made a name for herself resolving all manner of murder cases. As the leading wedding planner in Washington D.C., she is known for giving her clients some of the best themed weddings ever.

She had a spotless record for blockbuster weddings until she a series of murders sours her reputation. Annabelle has been in the wedding business for years but no disaster has ever been as bad as seeing the climbing death rate of her guest list.

She has a reputation for having an eye for detail and impeccable taste, which she combines with her determination to ensure the success of her client’s big day. From catering kitchen to socialite circles to drag queen competitions, she works hard to bring to justice the people messing with her business.
Even though she could not be any more determined, the type of enemy she often deals with is cunning. Still she has to catch them before they strike at her next wedding. Some are so brazen that they will target Annabelle too despite her reputation.

“Better Off Wed” the first novel of the Annabelle Archer series introduces the lead and the “Wedding Belles,” which is her wedding planning business.
The very troublesome mother of a bride to be suddenly collapses and dies during the wedding Annabelle has planned. The police believe it is a murder and Archer is worried that this could sully her business’s reputation.

Working with Richard the caterer and Kate her assistant, she intends to investigate. They soon find they have a long list of suspects, many of whom have motive for wanting the victim dead. A ton of suspects also have opportunity which just makes their work harder.

As they dig deeper into the case and closer to the truth, Annabelle suddenly finds herself targeted by the killer. As expected, the police tell her to back off from investigating further but she will have none of it.

It is an entertaining, fun and light read that delivers thrills that will have you thumbing through the pages to find out what comes next in the mystery.

“For Better or Hearse,” the second novel of the “Annabelle Archer” mysteries, continues to follow the life and times of Annabelle Archer.

Dealing with all manner of difficult personalities from prima donna bridesmaids, despotic mothers and neurotic brides is something she is used to. But she has never been chased from the swanky hotel kitchen by a shrieking chef.

Not long after the incident, the man is found dead after he was impaled on an ice sculpture. He was a despised man despite his talents and hence no one is surprised at his murder.

Unfortunately the police believe Georgia Rhodes who is Annabelle’s good friend and catering executive is responsible. It is now up to Annabelle and her team to try to get her off the hook.

Soon enough the body of another chef known to be bitter rivals with the dead man is found in the freezer. Several days later there are several more chef deaths. The suspect list is shrinking but Annabelle and her team are not safe as even they are targeted by the killer.

It is an interesting mystery with turns and twists that will keep its readers guessing right to the very end.

“To Love and To Perish” the third novel of the “Annabelle Archer” series opens to the lead finding an old enemy in a hotel room hanged by a bridal veil.
She is not so surprised to find her nemesis murdered given that she has been targeted before. Carolyn McCrabe was one of the best wedding planners in Washington D.C. and over the years had made a lot of enemies.

The kink in the whole affair was that Annabelle had been seen by the hotel staff engaging in a heated argument with Carolyn a few moments before she was killed. The police now have her on the hook as the lead suspect.

Kate, her flirtatious assistant, Richard, her flamboyant caterer and Fern, her fabulous hairdresser, team up to remove suspicion from their beloved friend and colleague by investigating other suspects.

Things get very interesting when another body also of a wedding planner is discovered. It does seem the killer used a curling iron cord and Annabelle believes there could be a crazed killer on the loose.

Book Series In Order » Characters » Annabelle Archer

Leave a Reply