Book Notification

Anne Brontë Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Agnes Grey (1847)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Tenant of Wildfell Hall (1848)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Collections

The Complete Poems of Anne Bronte (1971)Description / Buy at Amazon
Selected Poems (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Collected Poems (2019)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Women Who Wrote(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

About Anne Brontë

Anne Brontë was an incredibly talented writer, loved for her vivid characters and for crafting protagonists that readers could deeply connect to. Her writing style was unique and distinctive, and her stories were full of strong moral values and lessons. Her works were meant to be both entertaining and thought-provoking, and she was very successful in producing such stories.

Her gift for creating compelling stories with engaging narratives was unparalleled. Her novels were full of suspense and adventure, as she was able to create stories that kept readers on the edge of their seats. She was also able to perfectly capture the human experience, as her characters were highly relatable and had realistic struggles and emotions. Readers could easily empathise with her characters, which is why her works have remained timeless.

She’s an important figure in literary history and is remembered as the youngest member of the famous literary family, the Brontës. Her novels, written in a sharp and ironic style, are considered classics of English literature.

Despite her works not being as widely known as her sisters’, they still remain timeless and influential. Her unique writing style was a stark contrast to the romanticism of Emily and Charlotte Brontë, as she wrote in a realistic style. The re-publication of her novel ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ was obstructed by Charlotte Brontë following Anne’s death, however her legacy lives on and her works continue to bring joy and inspiration to readers.

Anne Brontë was a truly gifted author and her works are still beloved today. Her stories are full of emotion and are incredibly entertaining to read. She was able to capture the human experience perfectly through her vivid characters and engaging narratives, and she inspired readers to think about the difficult issues she wrote about. Her works are still studied and read to this day, and will remain timeless for many years to come.

Early and Personal Life

Anne Brontë was born on the outskirts of Bradford on 17 January 1820, the youngest of the Brontë children. She enjoyed a childhood of learning, as her father, Patrick, sent her, Maria, Elizabeth, Charlotte, and Emily to Crofton Hall in West Yorkshire, and later to the Clergy Daughter’s School in Lancashire. Sadly, Maria and Elizabeth passed away in 1825 due to consumption, and Charlotte and Emily returned home.

At home, Anne and her siblings studied music, drawing, and literature. Anne and her siblings had the benefit of lessons from the Keighley church organist, who taught them piano, and of art lessons from John Bradley of Keighley. All of the Brontë siblings had some skill in drawing. Their aunt also tried to teach them the skills needed to run a household, but the children had a greater inclination towards literature. From their father’s well-stocked library, they read a great deal.

On Monday 28 May 1849, Anne passed away at age 29. She had enjoyed a childhood of learning and exploration, and had left a legacy of literature that has stood the test of time.

Writing Career

Anne Brontë had a successful career as a writer. In 1847, her sister Charlotte found Emily Brontë’s poems, which had been shared only with Anne, and suggested they should be published. Upon seeing Anne’s own poems, Charlotte thought they had a sincere pathos of their own as well. With the money from Elizabeth Branwell, the sisters agreed to pay for publication of a collection of poems from Anne, Emily, and Charlotte, without anyone knowing.

Anne’s first novel, Agnes Grey, was accepted by the publisher Thomas Cautley Newby and released in December 1847 under the pseudonym of Acton Bell. Anne’s second novel, ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall,’ would be published in late June 1848. Both of these works have remained popular to this day, along with her sisters’ writing.

Agnes Grey

Anne Brontë’s debut novel, ‘Agnes Grey’, was published in December 1847 by Thomas Cautley Newby. This literary masterpiece was the first of the two novels written by Anne, and was very well-received by readers. It was the first of her works to be published, and was a great success for Anne Brontë, helping to establish her as one of the most beloved authors of her time.

Richard Grey was a man in a difficult situation, who had lost his family’s savings from poor investments. His daughter Agnes, determined to provide for her family, applied for a job as a governess to a wealthy English family. Agnes was excited to finally have control and independence, but soon discovered the cruel, harsh treatment of the Bloomfield family. Despite the challenging circumstances, Agnes kept her dignity and faith in humanity.

‘Agnes Grey’ by Anne Brontë is an ambitious and gripping piece of fiction. It’s a powerful exploration of the themes of resilience and feminism during 19th century England. The writing is beautiful and vivid, giving readers an insightful look into the life and times of Anne Brontë’s era. Overall, it’s an incredibly moving and inspiring read that will stay with the reader long after its conclusion.

The Tenant of Wildfell Hall

In 1848, Anne Brontë’s novel ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ was published by Thomas Cautley Newby. This was her second published work and the novel was met with a positive reception. It has since become one of the most notable works of the Brontë family.

Gilbert Markham is captivated by the mysterious Helen Graham when she moves to Wildfell Hall. His curiosity is piqued by her reclusive behaviour and, when she grants him access to her diary, he discovers the truth about her past. Gilbert learns of the tragic events that led to her leaving her husband and the turmoil she has endured. Despite the revelations, his friendship with Helen remains strong and he stands by her side.

This final book by Anne Brontë is one of the most captivating and timeless tales of love and redemption. The story of Helen Graham is told with great immediacy and wit, and Anne Brontë does a fantastic job of exploring the themes of domestic independence and creative freedom. ‘The Tenant of Wildfell Hall’ is a remarkable book that readers of all ages will enjoy. It is a powerful and emotive piece of literature with a legacy that will remain for a long time to come.

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anne Brontë

Leave a Reply