Book Notification

Anne Lamott Books In Order

Book links take you to Amazon. As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases.

Publication Order of Standalone Novels

Publication Order of Non-Fiction Books

Operating Instructions (1993)Description / Buy at Amazon
Bird by Bird (1994)Description / Buy at Amazon
Traveling Mercies (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Word by Word (1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Plan B (2004)Description / Buy at Amazon
Grace (2007)Description / Buy at Amazon
Some Assembly Required (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Help Thanks Wow (2012)Description / Buy at Amazon
Stitches (2013)Description / Buy at Amazon
The Hope and Renewal Collection (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Small Victories (2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Hallelujah Anyway (2017)Description / Buy at Amazon
Almost Everything (2018)Description / Buy at Amazon
Dusk, Night, Dawn: On Revival and Courage (2021)Description / Buy at Amazon
Somehow: Thoughts on Love (2024)Description / Buy at Amazon

Publication Order of Anthologies

Between Mothers and Sons: Women Writers Talk about Having Sons and Raising Men(1999)Description / Buy at Amazon
Imagine: What America Could Be in the 21st Century(2000)Description / Buy at Amazon
Scoot Over, Skinny: The Fat Nonfiction Anthology(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
40 Model Essays(2005)Description / Buy at Amazon
By the Book(2014)Description / Buy at Amazon
Life Is Short – Art Is Shorter: In Praise of Brevity(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Days Like This(2015)Description / Buy at Amazon
Shattering Glass(2020)Description / Buy at Amazon

Anne Lamott is an American writer that has authored a few fictional novels as well as works of nonfiction! Her life has also been documented in a movie, a 1999 documentary about Lamott by Freida Lee Mock called ‘Bird by Bird’.

Anne Lamott was born April 10, 1954 in San Francisco, California, and lives in the area of San Francisco Bay. She attended Drew College Preparatory School located in San Francisco and graduated. She has a lot of views on politics that are left of center as well as her Christian faith, which some may find unconventional.

She has written plenty of fiction, but when it comes to her non fiction works, they are strongly autobiographical in nature. They are also full of some humor, some of which may be self deprecating. They also cover the topics of being an alcoholic and various struggles with alcoholism, Christianity, and being a single mother.

Anne Lamott finds that she often connects with her fans through her books thanks to the humor she puts in them as well as the insights that she has that are often deeply felt. Her first novel was titled Hard Laughter and it came out in 1979. A lot of the basis of that book was about her father Kenneth, who also was a writer.

Rosie is the first book in the series of the same name from author Anne Lamott. When it comes to debut novels, it’s tougher to find a better one than this one from a critically acclaimed writer. Check out the first story in the Rosie series and find out what’s in between the covers of this book for yourself that portrays the growing pains that come along with being a mother in a modern world.

Readers get to meet the main character of Elizabeth Ferguson for the first time in this novel. She’s a woman that really enjoys picking up and savoring a good book or cooking a great meal. She’s even inclined to wait around to see if her one true love might ever walk through her front door, but things are different now.

She’s waiting not for a man but for Rosie, her daughter. This girl is like her alter ego, and for someone who is young and has a bit of a smart mouth, and she is also wiser than her years would indicate. Just like her name, Rosie seems to always bring a sense of joy with her when she is around.

Even though she is much happier with her daughter around and the days pass by more quickly, Elizabeth is finding that she cannot just shut the reality of the world out. This also means that she knows that she will not be able to protect her child in full from the realities that the world has.

Still, she can’t stop Rosie from growing older. She continues to grow up and as she changes from year to year, she becomes even more curious about the world around her. Now she has to find a way to keep the connection with her daughter strong while also nurturing her and showing her how to become an independent adult.

She knows that she has to look out for Rosie, but will she have to grow up in order to do it? Find out what happens in the end by picking up this extraordinary book that is all about mothers and daughters and the changes that they have to go through together as life moves and phases of life change.

Crooked Little Heart is the second novel in the series from author Anne Lamott. Check out the engaging second novel in this Rosie series that has long been popular! Anne puts the same humorous attitude and sense of honesty from her nonfiction books into this second novel in the series that reads as an exuberant story about an everyday family.

Life is tough for a family that has to go through the sorrows and the joys of everyday living. They are thrown for a loop when everything starts to come under a magnifying glass when it comes to something totally unexpected happening.

Rosie is now on the verge of being a young woman. She is also way into tournament tennis at the moment and cannot get enough of the sport. Meanwhile, her mother is in the middle of getting over her alcoholism and that is paired with her still getting over the passing of her first husband.

Meanwhile, her stepfather is busy with his own demons. He’s a struggling writer and has a lot to work through. Rosie used to find strength in her athleticism and it was a way that she could feel good about herself as well as get away from her life.

However, the same thing that she used to enjoy has now suddenly given way to risk. A man that follows her from the bleachers seems to be vaguely obsessed with her and is way more interested than she would like. What is she going to do about this new threat and is she in more trouble than she thinks?

This book takes on a lot of the issues that are common or understandable to everybody. Anne’s book deals with the idea of a family and what ties them together. It also deals with the small hurts that take place and make up the fabric of our lives at the end of the day.

What happens to a woman that is struggling with a dependency on alcohol? What happens to our grief when we lose someone that we love? What should we do as human beings when we are not perfect but flawed?

All of this and more is covered in this richly woven novel from an author whose works, fictional or nonfictional, deserve a second look or at the very least a first!

With a variety of realistic characters and a writing style and voice that will steadily draw you in, check out this funny and suspenseful thriller novel from Anne Lamott.

Read Crooked Little Heart by going to your local library and book store and picking up a copy for yourself!

Book Series In Order » Authors » Anne Lamott

Leave a Reply